We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Bed and Breakfast”
Review of Beaufort House

Beaufort House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Augustus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beaufort House
Ranked #23 of 25 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Walking the Great Glen Way - Stumbled across this Bed and Breakfast by chance whilst looking for a room for the night after a days walk along the Great Glen Way. It was in a great central location in the heart of Fort Augustus close to some great eating places (The Bothy our favourite). Tina was very welcoming and showed us to a lovely spotless en suite room. Tina and Clive have invested a lot of money in their property and it shows - the decor was beautiful. Breakfast was great and we would highly recommend Tina and Clives lovely Bed and Breakfast

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twowheelsrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    3
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Me and my sister stopped here as we was going to a wedding in fort augustus, we both had the double rooms which were both of very good size and furnished well with en-suite bathrooms, there was a kettle with choice of coffee, teas and hot chocolate and fresh milk for in your room upon arrival. The towels were clean and fresh every day, the bedding was clean and obviously fresh. The breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice either cooked breakfast, cereals, toast etc. Home made jam and marmalade for that personal touch. There was also fresh tea, coffee and orange juice ready for breakfast. Central location to everything in Fort Augustus and only a couple of minutes walk from the Loch Ness lake and stunning views where ever you look. Both Tina and Clive are brilliant people, very welcoming and will do anything to make your stay at Beaufort House as nice and relaxing as possible. Thanks to you both and when visiting Scotland again will definatly be stopping here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I stayed in Fort Augustus for a night, the accommodation was arranged by the guys running the Highlands tour I was travelling with.
The location of the Bed and Breakfast is very good - at the centre of town , a minute away from the Lock, and also 5 minutes away from Loch Ness. The location is so good , in fact, that I forgive the narrow winding staircase, and the flimsy wooden walls and ceiling , through which every sound gets transmitted. I even forgive the doors that get stuck, and the old and probably used towels. What I do not forgive is the complete nastiness of the lady who owns the Beaufort House.
The minute you enter she shows you the rules stuck on the wall. I asked her for a good takeaway restaurant and she said she doesn't permit people to eat takeaway in her house.
The next morning, I woke up early , started off for a walk, and as I opened the door, she came and started screaming at me " Keep quiet. I am trying to sleep." I couldn't believe that this old lady who I was paying for a room could behave so badly.
Later, during breakfast, a lady at the same table as me asked for a cup of milk. She said "You've already had a cup of tea!" I asked for a vegetarian sausage, she said " Sorry, it takes too long to make."
I had a beautiful time in Scotland, true highland hospitality, and this old woman's miserliness and meanness was the one sour part of the whole trip.
Don't go to Beaufort House folks!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsybloood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I had a great stay very comfortable and a friendly welcome. Rooms were excellent very clean and tidy. Great breafasts which set me up for a hard days cycling. Great location in the centre of the village with several pubs, shops, the Caladonia canal, the Great Glen foot path and Loch Ness all just a few minuites walk. Will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVEN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Good confort but not such a warm welcome. Defenetly not gay friendly. Beware of the burnt toast and Tina's dodgy humour....................................................................................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We had a great moment in Beaufort House, thanks to Tina.
The B&B is well located, close to the Canal, the Loch Ness and the City Center.

The rooms were clean and very nice.
We had a great breakfast (thank you Tina) with bacon & eggs, sausages, tomatoes, a good coffee.
We would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benoit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Found this b and b, glad i did! Excellent welcome on arrival, stayed in a single room, which was a really good size, brilliant shower, which was welcome after a hard days work. Had a great breakfast which set me up for the day. Will definately stay again when in that area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nl7scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Augustus hotels
0.0 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Inn B&b
Kings Inn B&b
#12 of 25 in Fort Augustus
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caledonian House
Caledonian House
#13 of 25 in Fort Augustus
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Richmond House Hotel
Richmond House Hotel
#11 of 25 in Fort Augustus
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#3 of 25 in Fort Augustus
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caledonian Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House

Property: Beaufort House
Address: Beaufort House Station Road, Fort Augustus PH32 4AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Beaufort House Fort Augustus, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing