We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“part of the family”
Review of Caledonian Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Augustus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #7 of 27 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“part of the family”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed only one night at Hotel Caledonia and wished we could have stayed longer. We were on a tour and time was limited. The hotel was wonderful. The manager, Chris, was engaging. Our fellow patrons,especially at the bar, were delightful. The entire experience at the hotel was one of my favorite on my trip to Scotland.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlambbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
61
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norh Tyneside
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed one night at the Caledonian before heading home from our holiday. We wished we'd discovered it sooner and been able to stay longer.

The welcome and the service was fantastic, the best we have experienced at any hotel anywhere, ever.

I am not at all surprised to see the many well-deserved comments and compliments here. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Very friendly, family run hotel. Excellent breakfast accompanied by lovely fresh white linen and shiny silverware. Room was of good size and very clean and tidy. Only fault was the bed of which the mattress was quite hard but the pillows were extremely soft - personal preference but we struggled to sleep, partly because of hall door banging any time other guests went to or from their rooms. Other than this, quiet and welcoming highland hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionamcintosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2011

i have never seen such happy smiling staff in all my 46 years... the waitresses at breakfast x dinner always had a wonderful smile on their faces. johanna x chris the owners were so nice, chris does the bar at nights from 5pm, he has everyone feeling so at home, johanna does the cooking x what a wonderful cook she is, she x the girls also do the rooms, they are spotless, very clean .. would recomend the haggis starter x the steak was done to perfection, iam not too keen on veg, but i ate the lot, so tasty.. we will be back again x again... thank you all for a wonderful stay.. angela x stephen rodger..x

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angeleyes18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire Moorlands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Back for the 5th MG Club trip. Stayed from Saturday till Wednesday. Toured the West Coast to Inverewe Gardens and Nairn on the East side as well as the Road to Nowhere. (Ask Chris for directions) Caledonian was well up to standard, pleasant welcome as ever. Great value the best in Scotland. Bar prices very good, entertainment by Jim Terry and the local musicians great.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pschmgoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albans, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We initially booked “The Caley” for a single night. However because the hospitality was found to be truly wonderful and homely we ended up extending our stay for the 5 days left of our holiday!

This small family run hotel is in an ideal location just a couple of minutes walk from the Loch Ness, where we had a fast and exhilarating ride on the rigid inflatable boat (RIB) – highly recommended.

The accommodation is just what you need, nice clean and comfortable rooms with a modern shower room. The breakfast and evening meal is excellent and the service and welcome you get is one of the best we have experienced. There is a small bar area where you can relax and unwind at the end of the day to sample some of the local whiskeys and chat to some of the locals who often come in. Once a fortnight they have local musicians who come in and liven up the atmosphere with traditional Scottish music. The husband and wife who run the hotel are very friendly and very helpful, if you need anything or need advice where to visit.

The only criticism was we were made to feel so welcome we didn’t want to leave. Will we visit and stay again, that’s a definite!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

I know - it doesn't look much from the outside, but don't be fooled. The hotel is spotless, the service is personal and friendly, the position is perfect, and the food the drink tops the list of plus points in our opinion. It is honestly 5* food at 2* prices.
Maybe internet access would be the only addition I would make, to search the area for things to do, I know it would be welcomed.

Conclusion excellent all round!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunkyAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.2 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,200 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
587 reviews
15.6 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
184 reviews
5.7 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Property: Caledonian Hotel
Address: Fort William Road | by Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4BQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledonian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional Highland Hotel has been run by MacLellans of Mallaig Bheag since 1978. Over the last 30 years the Caledononian Hotel has built up a large number or visitors who stay at least once a year. The Caledonian Hotel is an ideal base to visit the rest of the Highlands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Fort Augustus, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing