We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and relaxed”
Review of Caledonian Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Augustus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #7 of 25 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tayport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Friendly and relaxed”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was my 1st visit but my husband has been before having been on several motorcycle trips with his friends. He had assured me it was worth a visit so off we went .... I wasn't disappointed ! The hotel is very clean and comfortable. We had a great welcome , Chris appeared like magic with a pot of tea for us just as we arrived ! The rooms are clean and the bed was comfortable, breakfast was lovely , something for everyone . The bar was cosy as was the sitting room. It was just great , very relaxing and nothing was too much trouble for Chris and his staff , they were very friendly but not imposing. Ps thanks for the strawberries in my prosecco ! We will definitely come again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chellemorris66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
59
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed at the Caledonian hotel for two nights in early June. Lovely, well equipped rooms, and delightful hosts and staff. The location was great, with lots of options for dinner in addition to dining in the hotel. Breakfasts were delicious, with choices, not just the standard cooked Scottish breakfast, which was a good change. The location was also good for exploring Loch Ness, and the surrounds. But don't neglect checking out Fort Augustus. It's compact, but has some really interesting shops including a glassblower and stores selling Scottish crafts which aren't overly commercial. All in all, highly recommended. Oh, and they provided really good shortbread in the rooms :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megsyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

10 of us used this Hotel for a walking base and stayed two nights. Chris looked after us very well indeed and his real ales were excellent for our thirsty team. Breakfasts were great and the Dinner on both nights was very good.

Straightforward clean well run friendly Hotel

We will return for sure

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huntsman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is a small hotel run by an extremly friendly family. The hotel is nicely located in the compact village centre of Fort Augustus. The old building has its own charm, and the premises were tidy and clean. The breakfast was fantastic. We did not have dinner, nor did we use the services of the small bar which seemed to be very nice. The hotel can be warmly recommended as long as you are not looking for services of a big hotel or brand new facilities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKTHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stopped here for a night on our way past on the Great Glen Way. It was in a good location in the village. Very comfortable and bright rooms and breakfast was very good. Dinner in the hotel is an option. Lovely bar.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela99X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel quiet and unpretentious , beautifully clean and the family owners gave us a silver service tea tray upon arrival
We will most definately return for a week next year and use the hotel as our base for walking
Fort Augustus so much nicer than fort William

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eljay56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a family run hotel. Johanna and her husband presently manage the property. We found them to be very warm and friendly. The room was nice (room # 4). The en-suite bathroom is worth mentioning. Wonderful view from the bedroom window. The hotel is a short walk away from the village and the loch. enjoyed the breakfast as well.
Overall, this is a good hotel to stay.
I would have appreciated if the room rate had been a tad lower. I would have loved to see this to be GBP 75 for 2 in place of GBP 85.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdsmumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.2 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,172 reviews
1.0 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
577 reviews
6.1 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#3 of 25 in Fort Augustus
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caledonian House
Caledonian House
#13 of 25 in Fort Augustus
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Property: Caledonian Hotel
Address: Fort William Road | by Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4BQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledonian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional Highland Hotel has been run by MacLellans of Mallaig Bheag since 1978. Over the last 30 years the Caledononian Hotel has built up a large number or visitors who stay at least once a year. The Caledonian Hotel is an ideal base to visit the rest of the Highlands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Fort Augustus, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing