We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel with amazing welcome”
Review of Caledonian Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Augustus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #7 of 26 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel with amazing welcome”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a lovely, individual old fashioned sort of hotel - no chrome and plastic here. The welcome is warm and genuine and you feel more like house guests than paying customers. French is spoken at the hotel (maybe other languages too) if needed and I would recommend dinner as Johanna is a great cook. Inexpensive at £85 B&B per couple. Chris will help you the selection of malt whiskies or real ales if you need. Comfortable guest lounge if you want to relax after a busy day (or to dry off). WiFi not reliable in the bedrooms but sometimes works - works OK downstairs so maybe a booster is required. We found the double bed a little small so it wasn't so easy to sleep although mattress and linens great. Aspiring hoteliers or restaurateurs could go there for a training course on what excellent service should be like.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 482EUfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
59
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I did not stay at the hotel, but popped into the bar for the ale and whiskey on a recommendation from my B&B down the road. Chris was a fantastic host, providing descriptions and tastes of the cask ales, whiskey recommendations, and a great game of dominoes. The bar is small, but is just the right size for a great chat with whoever happens to be present. All-around great night out.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyrone, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We only stayed one night, but it was a wonderful stay. We did not have reservations and just stopped in to see if they had a room available. We were very lucky indeed! Lovely room and a wonderful breakfast. We also had a fabulous dinner at the restaurant the night we were there. If I ever get back to Scotland, I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansardccr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We did not stay at the hotel but dropped in on a recommendation from our B&B to eat and drink. Chris the owner was an excellent host, very frieldly and willing to teach an American scotch novice the intracacies of their whiskey. A great place, friendly and well priced.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tayport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was my 1st visit but my husband has been before having been on several motorcycle trips with his friends. He had assured me it was worth a visit so off we went .... I wasn't disappointed ! The hotel is very clean and comfortable. We had a great welcome , Chris appeared like magic with a pot of tea for us just as we arrived ! The rooms are clean and the bed was comfortable, breakfast was lovely , something for everyone . The bar was cosy as was the sitting room. It was just great , very relaxing and nothing was too much trouble for Chris and his staff , they were very friendly but not imposing. Ps thanks for the strawberries in my prosecco ! We will definitely come again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chellemorris66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed at the Caledonian hotel for two nights in early June. Lovely, well equipped rooms, and delightful hosts and staff. The location was great, with lots of options for dinner in addition to dining in the hotel. Breakfasts were delicious, with choices, not just the standard cooked Scottish breakfast, which was a good change. The location was also good for exploring Loch Ness, and the surrounds. But don't neglect checking out Fort Augustus. It's compact, but has some really interesting shops including a glassblower and stores selling Scottish crafts which aren't overly commercial. All in all, highly recommended. Oh, and they provided really good shortbread in the rooms :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megsyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

10 of us used this Hotel for a walking base and stayed two nights. Chris looked after us very well indeed and his real ales were excellent for our thirsty team. Breakfasts were great and the Dinner on both nights was very good.

Straightforward clean well run friendly Hotel

We will return for sure

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huntsman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.2 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,179 reviews
1.0 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
580 reviews
6.1 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#3 of 26 in Fort Augustus
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caledonian House
Caledonian House
#12 of 26 in Fort Augustus
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Property: Caledonian Hotel
Address: Fort William Road | by Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4BQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledonian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional Highland Hotel has been run by MacLellans of Mallaig Bheag since 1978. Over the last 30 years the Caledononian Hotel has built up a large number or visitors who stay at least once a year. The Caledonian Hotel is an ideal base to visit the rest of the Highlands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Fort Augustus, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing