We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MG Club Trip May 2010”
Review of Caledonian Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Augustus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #8 of 27 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2010

This is our 7th annual trip to Scotland with our MG car club. The 4th trip to this hotel. We took over the whole of the hotel as well as 2 rooms in the Cedar Gates B and B 200yards up the road. We stayed on a Bed Breakfast and evening meal tariff. Once again service was excellent, the bar ideal and the food well up to standard. For me the Caledonian is still the best value hotel in Scotland. The rest of my party must agree as i am being asked already to book again in 2011

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pschmgoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Caledonian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2009

For comfort. hospitality and food and a real highland welcome you just can't beat "The Caley". We love it and have no hesitation in recommending it. It appears to be the favourite of the locals.We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Spent three nights DBB here. Wonderful friendly staff who looked after every need. Accommodation is a good size and very comfortable. Hearty breakfast and dinner cooked to order with a varied menu. Wonderful home cooked food and attentive friendly waiting staff. Friendly bar and lounge area downstairs extends the welcome. (even a putting green out the back!). An excellent base at the south of Loch Ness

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust78202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Mine host, the food, the staff, the cleanliness was of a very high standard. Nothing was too much trouble, effortlessly, everyone went out of their way to ensure we all had a marvellous time. The food is all freashly cooked using local produce of a very high standard. The pavlova is the best we had ever tasted..... Go on, spoil yourself with a few days at The Caledonian Hotel - it's worth it...p.s. remember to take your bikes, some lovely easy cycling,, for the over 50's.!! in and around the most beautiful scenery....ThistleDoo.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThistleDoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

A wonderful family run hotel excellent service . Friendly and efficeient staff. Food was superb everthing freshly cooked to order Spotlessly clean and warm. Pavlova and sticky toffee pudding was the best ever. Would certainly recommend to any body adn hope to return again

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We were on our way back from a wedding on the west coast to Edinburgh and had booked in advance. We weren't expecting much as we had booked at late notice but were pleasantly surprised the service was great, rooms clean and food was excellent. If I am ever back in Fort Augustus I know where to go.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparcosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2008

A wonderful welcome, lovely room , fantastic food and memorable for all the right reasons. It's the kind of hotel you don't see enough of anymore and I feel so lucky that I found it.

A one night stop-over changed into a week long stay because of the lovely welcome I received!

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mlk_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.2 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
606 reviews
6.1 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#3 of 27 in Fort Augustus
154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caledonian House
Caledonian House
#14 of 27 in Fort Augustus
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Address: Fort William Road | by Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4BQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Price Range: £42 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledonian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional Highland Hotel has been run by MacLellans of Mallaig Bheag since 1978. Over the last 30 years the Caledononian Hotel has built up a large number or visitors who stay at least once a year. The Caledonian Hotel is an ideal base to visit the rest of the Highlands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Fort Augustus, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing