We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel with fantastic views”
Review of Inch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inch Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This hotel is a little gem at the heart of Scotland's Loch Ness area. The staff are warm and friendly, always on hand to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible. We had dinner in the restaurant on our 1st night and it really was outstanding. The hotel accepts pets, we had a dog and there are plenty of nice walks nearby to keep everyone happy. Really relaxing weekend in a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerekTGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C, Owner at Inch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Thanks so much for the lovely review. Hope the dog enjoyed the walks, too! Best wishes from everyone here, Alan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed at the hotel from the 21st and 22nd April and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a lovely view of the Loch thrown in. We ate in the hotel restaurant both nights and were pleadantly suprised by the quality and presentation of the food.The staff couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant.
The hotel is in a great location on the edge of Fort Augustus, making it an ideal base for exploring the area.
As I said, we enjoyed our stay but when I arrived home I realised I had lost my favourite necklace. Not holding out much hope I phoned the hotel, only to be told they had been calling my mobile to tell me they had found it. They sent it to me and it arrived safely the next day - very impressed by their honesty and efficiency.
There were minor improvements which could be made - a mirror in the bedroom and a towel rail near the sink would have been useful - but they didn't detract from the overall charm of the hotel. So thank you to all the staff for a really enjoyable break

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C, Owner at Inch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Katherine - it was a real pleasure to have you as our guests. And your jewellery was admired by everyone :) Best wishes from all the team. Alan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

14 room hotel with large room and large bath
Very gracious management that provides wonderful personal service to clients
Great food in hotel restuarant and nice bar and comfortable lounge

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpag007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C, Owner at Inch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our wee house and team - much appreciated and we are all delighted you enjoyed your stay. Best, Alan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This Hotel has either been taken over or sold recently and it is not yet up to standard. Scottish charm was sadly missing as there were no Scottish staff on site. Refurbishment work is underway on the doors to bedrooms but the rest of the decor is tired and worn out. It states in the Hotel information pack that it is 150 years old and we suspect that the paint and wallpaper in the bedrooms is the same age. There was no restaurant menu, only a bar menu and it was clear that the scampi, the fish and the burger were all (over)cooked straight from frozen packets. At £10.95 - £12.95 per meal they were way overpriced. The sweets at £6.50 each (from a bar menu!) were equally overpriced. The Bar was small and uninviting with a few wooden tables and chairs. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan1Bangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C, Owner at Inch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

I am so sorry to read your review and see that we did not meet your expectations. I have checked the records and yes, you are quite right, your stay coincided with the one night we could only offer a reduced menu due to staff issues. Appaling bad luck. No excuses, I can only apologise and send you our best wishes. Sincerely, Alan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I love this place. The owner was on premises and was an utterly charming host. No task or request was too much for warm and always smiling Hotel general manager Marian and his wife Mihaela. Chef Paul put on gorgeous local produce, the equal of any London restaurant. Views from the bedroom windows are absolutely world class. Sit in a lovely wing chair in the lounge, stare at the viewm and watch your cares fade into nothing with a lovely glass of wine. Towering pines surround the property. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovescleanncomfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C, Owner at Inch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to say such nice things. Marian, Paul and everyone else say 'hi' and hope to see you again soon. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I stayed at the Inch hotel with my partner as a suprise trip for his birthday,and what a suprise it was!! It was a perfect location,perfect Highland hotel and amazing staff especially Marian who always has a smile and makes you feel like nothing is too much trouble. ALL the food was fantastic and the presentation was out of this world (please ,please keep the chef as we will be back ). I would also like to say as another reviewer said that it is great to find a nice hotel where we can take our dog as she is part of our family too and Marian really made her feel welcome too. If we had to say any negative comment it would just be that we were in room 6 and you could hear the waste water from other rooms coming down through our pipework so if that could be sorted it would be perfection !! we will be back with friends as it was excellent value for money. PS complimentary rides on your new RIB would be great too !! :-)

Room Tip: I think from our experience they will all be good rooms as it is a quality hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayley h h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C, Owner at Inch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Thanks for writing such a nice review - much appreciated by all here at the Inch. Let us know when you will be back, and we will see if that RIB can be in the water :) Best wishes from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Booked this through a Groupon deal. Was dubious of such a cheap deal but my oh my what a delightful surprise! This is a small hotel set on a hill about a mile before entering Fort Augustus itself. The staff were lovely, John and his wife Florentina made us feel very welcome on arrival. Our rooms were lovely, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Marian, the manager, is also a lovely chap with a ready smile. It has a comfortable old country house feel and a lovely view of Loch Ness from our room was a bonus. The wine, part of deal, was far nicer than many an expensive bottle we have had elsewhere and the food was sublime. This is one hotel where we will definitely look to return and visit. I can only say, please don't modernise it too much...keep that old country house air about it (and keep the "Narnia" wardrobe)...and keep that chef!! Our only mistake was eating elsewhere on second night...much the same price but not nearly as good. A mistake that would not be repeated. Even at full price, i would certainly consider visiting as a special treat. Well worth the visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a Loch view as forest view is literally looking into trees directly at back of hotel and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callumsnona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C, Owner at Inch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review, and particularly for mentioning the staff. It's really nice when guests appreciate all their efforts. We are all so delighted you enjoyed your stay. We're absolutely fascinated with what you found in that wardrobe :) We're going to have a look into it today! Best wishes from all at the Inch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.8 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,235 reviews
7.0 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
745 reviews
14.7 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
430 reviews
4.8 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
397 reviews
7.3 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inch Hotel

Address: A82 Road, Fort Augustus PH32 4BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Price Range: £85 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned on the Great Glen Way and overlooking the world renowned Loch Ness, The Inch Hotel is proud of its spectacular setting. Not only does the Inch Hotel overlook the most iconic Scottish view, but the picturesque Glen Affric and impressive Caledonian Canal are also on its doorstep.The family run hotel boasts a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, 14 comfortable en-suite bedrooms and first class restaurant serving locally sourced, freshly prepared food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inch Hotel Fort Augustus, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing