We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beginning of a Legend”
Review of Inch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inch Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Certificate of Excellence
Markinch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The beginning of a Legend”
Reviewed 25 June 2010

The place to come if you want to be inspired !
Twenty of us came together at the Inch Hotel over three days in June for an intensive programme of study and brainstorming to develop creative approaches to communications for a range of good causes. The venue, ambiance and amenities couldn't have been better suited to our task. Nick and his team are charming and attentive hosts, the location is extraordinary, the menus inspired, the cooking and service faultless and the combination unforgettable. Thanks to all the team at the Inch Hotel for an inspirational donor acquisition laboratory. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markinch003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    166
    64
    26
    19
See reviews for
95
322
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2010

This week, I went north of the border for the very first time and visited Inverness. I was on a business trip with other fundraisers - from both charity and agency side. I never believed that such a magical place existed, but it does. Not only is the scenery exquisite and the building itself beautiful, but the staff are superb and the food is second to none.

If you just want to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, then this hotel and location is definitely the place to go.

Thank you to all the staff and other guests, who made my first trip to Scotland so wonderful.

Claire Ellis

P.S. And if you go, which you should, try the Haggis with Goats Cheese - very strange sounding combination - yet so yummy!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireEllis_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2010

An amazing place to stay - fantastic view across Loch Ness, a big friendly warm inviting house with very attentive and professional staff who look after your every whim, nothing was too much trouble. The food is stunning, and filling! Nick and his staff will look after you very well. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Just back from two nights here - lovely Victorian Granite hotel which was SO comfortable, clean, and dead comfy beds, and a team of staff led by Nick who go out of their way to welcome and make you feel at home! The best bit though has to be the food - fabulous bistro style dinner, with locally sourced produce which looked and more importantly all tasted fantastic. Traditional Highland breakfast was really good too, just hope like heck that the venison sausages are on the morning you have your breakfast there!! As for dinner? If the 6 hour braised lamb shank is on the menu you would be foolish not to have it!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

I stayed at the Inch Hotel for 3 nights, On arrival I was greeted by the staff who were friendly and helpful, the building is a large old Scottish house and the rooms as you would expect are individual and have character, I had room 5 which was at the front of the house and had fantastic views over Loch Ness.

As stated by the previous contributor there is work to be done, the bathrooms are in need of updating but are still functional and hey how much time do you spend in the bathroom? Also my room needed a desk and I understand the televisions are being upgraded when the area gets Freeview, none of these items made my stay unpleasant or bad in any way.

Now we move to the food the breakfasts were superb with a good choice of fruit juice, cereals, and full cooked of all sorts if you wanted it, the evening meals were second to none in fact it would not be out of place in top London establishment.

There is free Wi Fi in all of the downstairs areas and a super large comfortable lounge to sit in with large TV and well stocked bar.

In conclusion yes work needs to be done but you can not do everything at once and you should not miss out on what is a super hotel at sensible prices.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejb2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2010

My wife and I spent four nights here during while travelling the UK on our honeymoon. We loved this hotel, it has a thoroughly Scottish feel and the staff made us feel very comfortable. The location of the hotel is perfect - within walking distance of all the amenities of Fort Augustus (groceries, gas, shops) as well as Loch Ness cruises, pubs, etc. It is also a perfect home base for day trips around the highlands to places like the Glenelg ruins, Isle of Skye, Inverness, distilleries, etc. The staff were also really really nice. Service in the restaurant is not formal and uptight, which we enjoyed because we were able to relax as well. The food was great - the homemade venison sausages were the best meal I had during our entire trip. The breakfast was also delicious each morning, and served basically whenever you are ready, instead of between designated hours.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoBrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Wonderful family who runs it, but quality of the place and food is not good.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eliquick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickGM, Owner at Inch Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2010
A real shame you felt this way, we get so many compliments on our food as you can see below! It was great having you here, All the family wish you well and hope that you might return so we can improve on this time. Thanks for your comments! Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.8 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,200 reviews
14.7 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
416 reviews
14.7 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
385 reviews
14.4 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
936 reviews
18.9 mi away
Cluanie Inn
Cluanie Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenmoriston
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inch Hotel

Property: Inch Hotel
Address: A82 Road, Fort Augustus PH32 4BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned on the Great Glen Way and overlooking the world renowned Loch Ness, The Inch Hotel is proud of its spectacular setting. Not only does the Inch Hotel overlook the most iconic Scottish view, but the picturesque Glen Affric and impressive Caledonian Canal are also on its doorstep.The family run hotel boasts a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, 14 comfortable en-suite bedrooms and first class restaurant serving locally sourced, freshly prepared food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inch Hotel Fort Augustus, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing