We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10/10 Would stay again!”
Review of Morag's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Morag's Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“10/10 Would stay again!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Absolutely wonderful place! Great staff who know how to party! The food was awesome, and great value for money. Having a bar in the hostel is a huge plus. I'll be back soon :)

Big thank you from St Chris.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moragslodge, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank-you for your review Greg - our team aim to please! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    111
    36
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
72
64
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Angelholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very impressed with this place, clean, friendly and close to everything - all at a very reasonable cost. Only disappointment was that it was few guests staying when we visited so their bar was closed. But, there were pubs nearby so not a problem. Fort Augustus is absolutely worth a visit !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moragslodge, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi Marianne, Thank-you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that next time we can join you for a wee dram at our bar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowen, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The atmosphere wasn't great. Our meal was typical "pub" food but quite OK compared to most we have eaten in UK.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Recently stayed in Morag's Lodge with a few friends and had an amazing time. The location is two minute's from the town centre and the rooms and en-suite were very clean. The staff were wonderful and made the stay memorable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moragslodge, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank-you Belinda - having your group of friends enjoying the services, food, drinks and banter we provide was a pleasure. We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The perfect location in the highlands! 2 minute walk from loch Ness where you can go for a boat cruise over the Loch. The hostel itself is beautiful, really nice clean rooms, comfy beds, and ours had a really nice ensuite bathroom.
The staff are great, they seem like a wee family who really want to be there, took good care of us and cooked us up a storm!
They have wifi but i barely used it (im usually not off my phone) because there is so much other stuff to do!
The bar downstairs is sick! So many haggis bombs to be had!
All round really great hostel :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AstridWaitzRainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moragslodge, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank-you for your awesome review Astrid! Our team enjoyed hosting you and your colleagues and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We booked our accommodation at Morags Lodge online, and as tourists in the UK we didn't realise that a lodge is another name for a youth hostel. So we were somewhat taken aback (as a mature couple) to find ourselves sharing a communal kitchen with a busload of "Wild and Sexy" Haggis Adventurers, none of whom looked older than 22. That said, we had an enjoyable stay. Our room, although basic, was spacious and comfortable and the en suite very clean. Needless to say there was a great atmosphere in the pub and lounge (along with free wifi) and we were pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was when we came to sleep. The staff were very helpful and friendly in a laid-back sort of a way. All in all, a fun experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in a castle room which had an en suite bathroom. Definitely the quiet side of the hostel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moragslodge, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us - we welcome guests of all ages, from grandkids to grannies! Your feedback will be passed onto the team who will be happy your stay was enjoyable. We hope to see you again on your next trip to the Highlands!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Really cool hostel! We were there a week ago and we had a great time.
There is a bar really fun! great spot if you are going to skye or just around loch ness.
There is a comfy living room with couches. PS I loved the bathroom!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moragslodge, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank-you for your great review - we aim to please! We hope that you had a great onward journey and really enjoyed hosting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.5 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
576 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,171 reviews
6.5 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
927 reviews
0.3 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#3 of 25 in Fort Augustus
132 reviews
3.7 mi away
Inver Coille
Inver Coille
#2 of 2 in Invermoriston
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morag's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morag's Lodge

Property: Morag's Lodge
Address: Bunoich Brae, Fort Augustus PH32 4DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morag's Lodge is a top quality 4* hostel located on the Great Glen Way in Fort Augustus, just a short walk from the banks of Loch Ness. Surrounded by stunning mountain scenery and set in wooded grounds this is the perfect budget accommodation option in the hub of the Highlands! The hostel has a variety of room types including 4-bed & 6-bed dorms, doubles, twins, triples, and family rooms, all with private bathroom facilities. The modern and super-comfy bunks have private reading lights and power points, and all linen is provided free of charge. There are excellent cheap meal options, from a buffet style budget breakfast to delicious home-cooked evening meals using local produce. There is also 24 hour access to the self-catering kitchen and free tea & coffee facilities. The rustic bothy-style bar offers a superb range of local beers and single malts, has a cosy log fire for the colder winter nights, and regular live entertainment. Other facilities include a drying room, laundry service, free wifi, toys, games, book swap and the famous red piano! The friendly and welcoming team can assist with arranging local activities, including the on-site bike hire and boat trips on Loch Ness, as well as advising on day trips and other activities available in the area. The team are on-hand to ensure you are able to make the most of your time and are proud to deliver "Highland Hospitality" at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Morag's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morag's Lodge Fort Augustus, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing