We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it!”
Review of Morag's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Morag's Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This has been one of my favourite hostels so far! I stayed in an 8 bed female dorm with and ensuite. The room was clean and beds were comfy with plenty of power points.
The dinner and breakfast are great but they do cost you extra. The bar is fun and the staff are friendly. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jauhie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moragslodge, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank-you for your review - we are delighted to be one of your favourite hostels so far and hope to remain so! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hostel seems newly refurbished, it has nice, comfortable common areas where wifi signal works perfectly. My bunk bed was very comfy and there's a dryer room, very handy with scottish weather. Breakfast and dinner is delicious and and the bar is filled with local beer. Stevie is a great host and scottishly funny. I would come back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FedeRicamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moragslodge, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank-you for your kind review - we are happy that everything was to your satisfaction and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Had a great time at Morags, stayed here as a bus tour group. Smooth check-in and clean rooms. The bar is quite good and there are people like Stevie and Dan who make the place lively. The dinner and breakfast are good and reasonably priced. Located close to shopping area and definitely recommended place to stay. They also organised a cruise for us in the Loch Ness.. amazing. The only downside is - wifi doesn't work upstairs.

Room Tip: Trainspotting is the room where I stayed and my guide says it's haunted!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rohan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moragslodge, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank-you for your review Rohan. We are very happy to hear you had a great stay with us - even if you did stay in the haunted room ;0) Regarding the wifi - at the moment it is available in public areas only to encourage socialising but this is a point we are reviewing. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Enjoyed the stay in Morags, the facilities were very clean and tidy. Dinner and breakfast were great, and showers were generally behaving :) Also great cheap beer in the bar. Only negative is that WiFi doesn't work upstairs. Otherwise very good.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank lukeynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moragslodge, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

We are happy you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed your meals. At the moment we have wifi in the public areas only to encourage more socialising but this is a point we are reviewing so thank-you very much for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Absolutely wonderful place! Great staff who know how to party! The food was awesome, and great value for money. Having a bar in the hostel is a huge plus. I'll be back soon :)

Big thank you from St Chris.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moragslodge, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank-you for your review Greg - our team aim to please! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very impressed with this place, clean, friendly and close to everything - all at a very reasonable cost. Only disappointment was that it was few guests staying when we visited so their bar was closed. But, there were pubs nearby so not a problem. Fort Augustus is absolutely worth a visit !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moragslodge, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hi Marianne, Thank-you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that next time we can join you for a wee dram at our bar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The atmosphere wasn't great. Our meal was typical "pub" food but quite OK compared to most we have eaten in UK.

1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.3 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
624 reviews
15.2 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
401 reviews
3.7 mi away
Inver Coille
Inver Coille
#2 of 2 in Invermoriston
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caledonian Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morag's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morag's Lodge

Address: Bunoich Brae, Fort Augustus PH32 4DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Fort Augustus
Price Range: £25 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morag's Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morag's Lodge is a top quality 4* hostel located on the Great Glen Way in Fort Augustus, just a short walk from the banks of Loch Ness. Surrounded by stunning mountain scenery and set in wooded grounds this is the perfect budget accommodation option in the hub of the Highlands! The hostel has a variety of room types including 4-bed & 6-bed dorms, doubles, twins, triples, and family rooms, all with private bathroom facilities. The modern and super-comfy bunks have private reading lights and power points, and all linen is provided free of charge. There are excellent cheap meal options, from a buffet style budget breakfast to delicious home-cooked evening meals using local produce. There is also 24 hour access to the self-catering kitchen and free tea & coffee facilities. The rustic bothy-style bar offers a superb range of local beers and single malts, has a cosy log fire for the colder winter nights, and regular live entertainment. Other facilities include a drying room, laundry service, free wifi, toys, games, book swap and the famous red piano! The friendly and welcoming team can assist with arranging local activities, including the on-site bike hire and boat trips on Loch Ness, as well as advising on day trips and other activities available in the area. The team are on-hand to ensure you are able to make the most of your time and are proud to deliver "Highland Hospitality" at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Morag's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morag's Lodge Fort Augustus, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing