We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loch Ness”
other travellers have booked this property
Old School from Cloisters Gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old School from Cloisters Gardens
Lounge with Original high windows Indoor heated Swimming Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Old School from Cloisters Gardens
Lounge with Original high windows
Indoor heated Swimming Pool
Lounge with cosy fire
Lounge with original high sash windows
Master bedroom with King size bed
View of Abbey from Loch Ness and Boathouse Restaurant
Lounge
Hogwart's Steam train on Glenfinnan Viaduct
Deep windowsills
Fine Dining for Six
Autumn sunset over Loch Tarff
Dining Area
Crystal Chandelier in Dining Area
Fully fitted and Equipped Kitchen
Master Bedroom with dressing table
Master Ensuite
Twin single beds on mezzanine
Adventure Playground
Old School Building & Clock Tower
Glencoe
Southern end of Loch Ness from Royal Scot
Glen Garry
Club Lounge with Billiard table
Nessie Hunting
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Steve m
1 review
“Loch Ness”
Reviewed 19 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018

Nice spacious apartment loads of room for four people walking distance to everything in Fort Augustus only an hour and a half from Isle of Skye highly recommend this apartment and the area BEAUTIFUL part of the world

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca...
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing stay in a perfect accomodation ”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The first word to write is "thank you" to Roy (the owner)and Simon ( the manager in charge of our stay). We all had a wonderful holiday in a magical place .... in a beautiful apartment. The location offers many facilities for guests' leisure. The apartment is simply perfect. Nothing to complain about. I would recommend this accomodation to all people who appreciate peace and breathless views on loch ness.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at the Classrooms Fort Augustus. I am sure your whole family enjoyed all the facilities.Thank you for taking the time to write the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcocks
South Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!!”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What can I say about The Classrooms at The Highland Club that hasn't already been said by previous reviewers?? This place is absolutely first class - The Abbey is a very special place and The Classrooms is a very special apartment, I can't praise it highly enough. Our communication with the owner Roy before the rental was excellent and when we arrived it was just jaw-dropping. Walking through the cloisters of the Abbey is a surreal experience and I wouldn't have been surprised to see a couple of Benedictine Monks come round the corner. The Highland Club lounge is a wonderful place to relax in and is a very 'chilled out' space. Unfortunately the swimming pool is still out of commission after a recent fire but we were too busy being out and about to miss it.

Now on to the apartment. It really was a home from home and we felt settled straight away. The welcome pack of fresh milk, Scottish shortbread and wine was very much appreciated and the apartment comes with all the little extras like washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, soaps etc that make life easy. The furnishings and decor are beautiful and it truly is a lovely place to relax in. The kitchen is superbly fitted and equipped with everything you need for catering in, and all the equipment is of a high quality and standard. With 2 full size bathrooms there was plenty of room for everyone. When we'd been out for the day it really did feel as though we were coming home and we were very happy to spend 8 nights there. The only niggle was that the internet connection in the apartment was extremely poor and there was no mobile phone signal, only in certain areas of the grounds. However, the internet signal in the Highland Club Lounge was very reliable.

The surprise for us was that The Abbey is right in the middle of Fort Augustus with everything just a few minutes walk from the front door through the beautiful grounds, and Loch Ness is just a stride away. (I've done a separate review for Fort Augustus).

Deciding to use The Classrooms as our base for 8 nights was a great decision and although we did do a lot of travelling (which we knew we would have to) we were able to visit all the places we wanted to and here are some of them:-

Isle of Skye
Invermoriston Falls
Inverness
Dornoch
Fort George
Urquhart Castle
Chanonry Point (dolphin watching)
A trip on Loch Ness

Our son also went horse riding at The Highland Riding Centre, Borlum Farm, Drumnadrochit, and we hired bikes in Fort Augustus to cycle along the Caledonian Canal Tow Path. (I've put individual reviews on for some of the places mentioned).

Places we ate:
The Bovey in Fort Augustus (2 dinners and 1 lunch, very good)
The Fiddler's in Drumnadrochit
One Up Restaurant in Dornoch
Whitebridge Hotel Restaurant (on the B862 out of Fort Augustus)
Dornie Hotel Restaurant

(Again, I've put individual reviews for these places)

All in all we had an absolutely amazing time touring the Scottish Highlands and are so glad that we decided to drop anchor for part of the holiday at The Classrooms. I don't think I can say much more without repeating myself - just highly, highly recommended. Thank you Roy, it was a privilege to stay in your beautiful home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
I really pleased you enjoyed the Classrooms.The Abbey and the village are a wonderful place and setting on Loch Ness. glad to see you could get to all the destinations easily from the Classrooms. thanks for the nice review and it would be great to welcome you again when the pool complex is back up and running.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie S
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Scottish Highlands Stay”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for two nights with our two tweens and this apartment was perfect! Very clean and nicely appointed apartment, lovely common areas and very easy walk to restaurants, pubs and town attractions. Easy drive to many Highlands sites. Terrific communication from the owner. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2017
I am pleased your family enjoyed their stay at the Classrooms and thanks for the comment on communication as we try to ensure a great holiday experience from enquiry stage to departure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMAHol
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing and fantastic accommodation”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in October 2015

We had a wonderful long weekend staying with our 1 year old in Roy Fulton's apartment in the Classrooms. I would highly recommend his apartment for its quality, relaxing feel and luxury. His personal and helpful service from the outset also stood him apart from many other accommodation providers we have been in contact with. It is situated in a beautiful area, has a lovely area by the lochside in its grounds where you can eat & drink and take in the view, a play area, local walks in and around Fort Augustus and a wonderful swimming pool plus gym & games room in the Classrooms. There are places to eat and drink in Fort Augustus and a shop (and chemist), all a short walk away. We look forward to visiting soon again this year!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
I am pleased you had a wonderful stay and look forward to welcoming you and your family again this year. it is a great place for young children to run around and play.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrison1...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely Apartment in a beautfiul building”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The apartment is in excellent condition. The whole setting is perfect, a stones throw from the Caledonian Canal and Loch Ness.

Would highly recommend.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place and amazing accommodation,so clean and wonderful views 😀”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed as a family of 2 adults with our 3 boys aged 13, 10 and 8 and it was great! The accommodation was outstanding and the facilities were above and beyond suitable for us all! The views are out of this world and we only wished that we had more time to enjoy it all!! The grounds and snooker table were a big hit for hubby n the 2 older boys were as my youngest and I enjoyed the pool and outdoor playground! The apartment we stayed in was so clean and the extra touches ie milk, biscuits and wine on arrival were greatly appreciated! We had a great short break enjoying the Loch and going on the nessy hunt!! Also I must recommended taking a horse riders with the local stables on a trek overlooking the Loch! All in all it really is a great place 2 stay and Roy was so accommodating to our needs! Defiantly worth the 7 hours drive from Leeds and will definitely come back if they will have us!! Lol!! Wicked hols!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
Dear Marion
So pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Classrooms and were able to use many of the facilities available.Also happy to hear you got to the riding school and went on the Nessie hunter.
I would be very pleased to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Roy Fulton (Owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing