We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caledonian Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A lovely lady , who offers rooms in her bungalow. Our twin bedded room was opposite the front door. The phone rings often and it quite loud. Footsteps echo, doer bell buzzes and it is easy to hear people speaking. The mattresses were a bit bumpy as were the pillows. Had a dreadful nights slept. Breakfast was lovely though. The ensuite bathroom had been recently completed with a huge walk in shower. Good location to access the lock, shops and places to eat and drink. At eighty pounds per night, this was poor value for money compared with other accommodation on our trip.

Room Tip: Don't choose the room opposite the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

A small, very comfortable B & B. Room was spotless and nicely decorated. Quiet location with parking outside. Had a great sleep. A good selection at breakfast, ranging from fresh fruit salad and yogurt, cereal and a variety of choices of cooked breakfast. Check out is a bit early at 10am however, didn't ask if this could be extended, so worth a try. Thanks to Shelagh for a lovely, restful stay. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The double room has sole use of a private bathroom which is located just outside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nets U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

What can I say, extremely clean, beautiful home cooked breakfast, comfortable bed, spacious room and Sheila is a beautiful person and we were so happy to have stumbled upon Sheila's home (B&B). We loved Fort Augustus and being a small, quiet town, our B & B was across the road from the Loch and walking distance to the cafe's and pubs with parking available in a quiet street. Thank you Sheila for leaving us with lovely memories on our holidays and we would definately come back and stay again.

Room Tip: We had the front room facing the street which had a queen bed and double bunks, only the two of us s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed in family room, great view, clean room, double bed and a bunkbed for kids, very comfortable en suite, tv and kettle. Very pleasant stay ideal for visiting area, short walk into village. Sheila made us very welcome and gave us more information and tips on visiting area. Evening meal at The Boathouse, excellent food and a great evening with a table with full view down Loch Ness had to book very busy, also ate at Moorings 5minutes for a table no booking, good food and friendly staff another good evening. Lunch; bought food and drinks at butchers shop and ate on grass watching boats going through the series of lochs, very pleasant afternoon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jov818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stopped here while walking GGW. We arrived early and were given a warm welcome and shown to our room, it was cosy and clean with a lovely walk in shower. And really comfy beds. This is an old fashioned B&B in the best sense and we were made to feel most welcome. Breakfast was so good with a huge bowl of fresh fruit salad along with all the usual and a great cooked breakfast. Perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonLovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This was the first time myself and my partner had ever stayed in a B&B, We were greeted my the land lady "Sheila" who showed us to our double room which was spacious and very clean. Our private bathroom was right next door. The bed was very comfortable and we both slept well. Fort augustus is a lovely place. The breakfast in the morning was great couldn't complain. The only negative was the WiFi connection was poor we had to stand by the door to get a reception.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lah00005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

A lovely little b&b in the centre of Fort Augustus. Plenty of parking, great breakfast, immaculately clean. Our twin was relatively spacious, had a nice modern bathroom with big shower and plenty of hot water. Room had a plasma TV and a kettle and was in a good decorative order.
Friendly landlady. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCS68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,260 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Inver Coille
Inver Coille
#2 of 2 in Invermoriston
34 reviews
0 mi away
Caledonian House
Caledonian House
#14 of 26 in Fort Augustus
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highland Club Scotland
Highland Club Scotland
#2 of 10 in Fort Augustus
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Caledonian Cottage Station Road, Fort Augustus PH32 4AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Fort Augustus
Price Range: £68 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledonian Cottage Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caledonian Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Cottage Bed And Breakfast Fort Augustus, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing