We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really cheap!!! GREAT area, CLEAN” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stravaigers Lodge

Stravaigers Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stravaigers Lodge
Highlands, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“really cheap!!! GREAT area, CLEAN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Went over in August. Really clean campsite (spotless actually), great area surrounded by fields with 2 horses and a little river; nice and airy space, CHEAP, friendly staff, decent service. All facilitaties available (you can even sleep in one of the 2 bunkhouses of it rains too much). Will go back next year !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziggy16162013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    17
    15
    11
    6
See reviews for
10
31
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

The lodge is OK, good-looking from the outside, pretty well located, and very clean. The twin room that I booked was finally a... bunk room, which was way less practical.
The room itself was tiny, and the beds were not comfy AT ALL (we could feel the springs in the mattress)! The door just outside our room creaked a lot, which did not allow us to fall asleep before 11 pm.
Staff was very cold, and we could not even obtain one smile.
Apart from that, the lodge has everything you need for one night, with clean showers and rooms.
Though, one night there is enough in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed on the camping grounds, very clean, neat & tidy. Very helpful, happy & informative staff. Toilets & showers are in excellent condition, very clean & well kept at no extra charge.
Excellent location, 3-5min stroll from Loch Ness & shops.
Would highly recommend & will definitely return again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank islaasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

The beds are terrible. Mattress dreadful The paper thin walls and creaking floorbeds and banging doors makes it impossible to sleep until everyone has gone to bed. This means that you get to sleep late and then you are awake when the first person gets up. However, it is very clean and tidy.Very expensive room rates for August, but appreciate it is peak time so they are getting away with it. Seems a shame to take advantage of people though

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main door and toilets
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fdaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the hostel whilst walking the Great Glen Way.

THE GOOD

* A warm welcome from the helpful staff (family run business)
* Great kitchen facilities
* Good bathrooms and shower facilities.
* Very close to Fort Augustus (approximately 150 metres)
* Complimentary tea & coffee.

THE BAD

* The family cat lives in the kitchen/dining area. I do not expect to see cat bowls or cat hairs on the settees in a room where food is prepared by members of the public.
* The rooms have twin beds and that is it. No mirror, chair, coat hangers or waste bin. I understand that this is a hostel, but a small investment could make a big difference.
* The plaster board walls are paper thin and wooden floors creak, so expect to wake up with the first person in the morning.

AND THE UGLY

* The mattresses are very uncomfortable ; very thin and the internal springs create lumps which are easily felt when you lie on them. NOT the best nights sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lejogwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed in a twin room at Stravaigers for one night.

We did not expect a whole lot from the place, but the service we received, and the very small and conjested rooms with absolutely terrible beds surprised us nonetheless. We paid 46 pounds for one night, and for these money we got two sore backs, The staff at the place did not provide any help. They did not seem to care whether we were there or not.

The place may very well work well as a camp site, but we would definitly not recommend it as a hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mads K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Augustus hotels

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Stravaigers. Easily found from Fort Augustus town centre and only a few minutes walk from lots of pubs and cafes. The rooms were clean, functional, with electricity sockets. The walls are a bit thin but nowhere near as bad as many other hostels! Big functional kitchen and lounge area. Warm and dry. Drying room was full before we got there, but in the twin rooms we had, we had lots of space to dry and the rooms did get warm. At night they got too hot, but better than cold! Only downfall were the pathetic excuses for showers. Having to pump the button every 15 seconds to get a luke warm dribble was upsetting. the toilets were ridiculously noisy and I was very glad I didn't have a room opposite the loos.

Room Tip: We had twins, which were massive compared to twins in other hostels. Really warm. Try not to get a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather_May_Stanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.1 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.4 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#2 of 10 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caledonian Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stravaigers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stravaigers Lodge

Property: Stravaigers Lodge
Address: Glendoe Road, Fort Augustus, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Stravaigers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stravaigers Lodge Fort Augustus, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing