We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect base for the Highlands”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ness View Cottage

Ness View Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ness View Cottage
Ness View Cottage View of Loch Ness from the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Ness View Cottage
Ness View Cottage
View of Loch Ness from the garden
Loch Ness
Living Room
Living Room
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Single Bedroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
View of Loch Ness from Kitchen window
Bathroom
Entrance Hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John W
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect base for the Highlands”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

On arriving at the cottage I called the owner to let them know i'd arrived and within 2 minutes Brian was up to greet me and show me around. He is very friendly and very happy to help out with any local information. I like to find out the history of Fort Augustus so Brian was very helpful and I also had a couple of scans of very early postcards that included his other property the Kings Inn B&B which I sent to him.

The cottage itself is very comfortable, it has a great view looking down the village towards Loch Ness from the kitchen and from the double bedroom you get a great view of the lock gates so you can watch the boats go up and down the canal.

The cottage has everything you need for a relaxing break, the double bed was very comfortable, the bathroom is very clean and modern and the kitchen though a little dated is well equipped. I spent most of my time in the living room and found it extremelly comfortable and relaxing. Brian made a point of showing how to work the TV but i found that I was so relaxed i had no need for the TV. One important thing for me though is good WiFi to help my research and sending photos to people and very often i've found WiFi in Fort Augustus to be very hit and miss and often using "Highland WiFi" which is ok but not great, but the cottage has the best WiFi i've ever had in any cottages in the area.

I often go to Fort Augustus to use it as a base to travel long distances to Kyle, Skye, Oban, Highland Wildlife Park, Pitlochry, Aviemore, Wick & Thurso and this cottage is perfect for that. This time though I used it as a base to travel more locally and to go for walks around the area and around the canal.

For a few ideas what to do, I'd recommend hiring bikes from the very friendly Girvans hardware who hire standard hardtail mountain bikes as well as electric bikes which are very handy for going down the canal towpath. And for food i'd say the Bothy is nice but if you don't mind a 5 minute little drive towards Aberchalder there is a superb cafe called the Thistle Stop which serves great food and is very friendly. If you want fish and chips you may be tempted to go to the little yellow hut just below the cottage because it's close but the staff aren't friendly and the food is nowhere near as good as it used to be with different owners so i'd recommend walking a little further down towards the car park just after the garage where you will find a brand new chip shop with friendly staff and better food. For a nice little friendly gift shop you must go in "That Cute Little Highland Shop"

Even though I like to stay in different cottages around Fort Augustus I would definitely stay here or the other part of the cottage again because I enjoyed it so much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daniel197...
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful ...................”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Lovey cottage with all our needs in one place. Very warm inside within a peaceful environment of Fort Augustus surrounded by the mystery of the Loch.

Brian and Elaine were especially helpful when we managed to lock ourselves out of the cottage.

Many thanks to them and look forward to another visit in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susiebaue...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2014

Cosy cottage in a perfect location. Peaceful but not isolated. Owner is very friendly. Will return again as soon as possible.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great people, fabulous accom”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is right in the middle of town, you require nothing as everything is there. Owner lives up the road and is happy to help in any way he can. They also have the B&B just up the road, Kings Inn which is great. They rent from Sunday to Sunday but the B&ab is available in between, they will move your stuff up for you.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan D
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Waking Up to That View!”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I stayed for a week in mid-June. Many other people have written about this cottage's glowing qualities, and they're all spot on! However, in addition, one of the things we enjoyed the most was waking up, opening the door to the warm kitchen and enjoying the sunlight pouring in while we drank coffee looking out at the view down to Loch Ness. As Americans, we were unfamiliar with the metered heat, but it works beautifully in this cottage. (There are additional heaters to turn on if needed.) Although it was chilly for us, in the 50's F, the cottage was cozy as could be especially if we kept the door to the living room closed and let the heat warm the 3 main rooms. We brought along an inflatable kayak and kept it out in the yard the whole time. No one bothered it. We were able to kayak up the Caledonian Canal, take a short portage walk over the footpath and down to the River Oich and back to Loch Ness. We also kayaked the lower end of Loch Ness. We loved strolling to the butcher's every day and buying a different hot pie to snack on while we watched what was going on at the loch. For a terrific meal, the best we had was Wild Venison Chili up at Fiddler's Cafe in Drumnadrochit. On a rainy day, it was perfect! A drive up to Glen Affric was also a highlight (turn left at Drumnadrochit). Brian was very accommodating when we needed to change the dates for our reservation; he was great to work with and responded very quickly to any emails we sent. BTW, we did find 3G service from inside the cottage -- in front of the microwave on top of the sugar canister. We hunted and found it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the coziness
Liked least: Nothing (was glad not to have wifi and 'unplug' for a while).
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKWill
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a great find in Fort Augustus”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We arrived at the start of the peak season and went looking for a B&B and found a vacancy at 'Kings Inn' where Brian mentioned that he had a vacancy at a cottage 100 yds along the road.... Were we blown away with an beautiful 2 bedroom cottage right on the canal.
We ended up staying 4 nights and fell in love with the cottage and the location.
Waking up in the morning overlooking the locks or a view from the kitchen down to lock Ness.
Beautifully clean, renovated bathroom, great kitchen which even had a washer and dryer.
Brian and Eilane just could be more friendly and helpful.

Only three words left to say.... AWESOME... BEAUTIFUL... FANTASTIC
Would love to come back and stay fiorever.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochan335...
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“cosy cottage”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My Wife and i are just home after spending 4 nights at this charming cottage. The cottage is in a spectacular position a few yards away from the canal locks, it is extremely warm and cosy, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. It was a real treat to light the log burner on a couple of nights (i will add...the cottage has full electric heating).
We met the owner Brian and his wife a couple of times and they are a delightful couple, extremely helpful.
If you are looking for a relaxing holiday with loads of lovely walks or to use as a touring base this cottage is ideal....restraunts, pubs, take-aways and other shops all within a two hundred metres.
I missed having no Wi-Fi connection in the cottage.....but i knew this before we went.
All in all....we had a great break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the position of the cottage.....and it was so lovely warm and cosy
Liked least: the lack of Wi-Fi connection
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing