We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay!”

Fort Augustus Chalet Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Augustus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fort Augustus Chalet Park
Ranked #24 of 25 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This was our first visit to Scotland and we couldn't have been happier with our accomodation. The Chalet Park is situated within walking distance to local shops, pubs and restaurants. The facilities were great, the chalet was clean and comfortable and in a lovely quiet area. It's a great place to stay if you want to explore Loch Ness and the surrounding areas. Clive and Julie were very friendly and helpful and gave us some great suggestions of places to go during our stay. Great experience, couldn't recommend this highly enough!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    10
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Initially my partner and I where going to be staying at a hotel just down the road but unfortunatley that fell through however they put us in contact with Julie and Clive who had a spare chalet for the two days we were planning on staying and gave us free breakfast in the morning as compensation. Julie and Clive were lovely and very attentive, the chalet itself inside is lovely, it was quite small but as there was just the two of us it was perfect for us with a very comfy king sized bed.

On the outside however I feel the chalet could have done with a fresh paint but had beautiful views and a 5 minute walk into Fort Augustus, we would go back :) .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

this was our first visit based on friends who had visited last year loved every minute of our trip chalet was clean and comfortable and had all that was needed. proprietors clive and julie were lovely to meet and helpful when anything was asked of them, fantastic views and great location , a good value for money trip , although very cold temps outside the chalet soon warmed thru .if you like walking there will be no where better in the world, we will be back in the summer to sit down by the lock hopefully in sunny weather .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withheld
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The proprietors (Julie and Clive) were helpful to begin with but that did not last. They were upset with a smell in our chalet. The solution was simple (I opened a window) but they lost their temper - threats of surcharges, character assassinations and poisonous insults. I was calm and polite, so no excuses there. They also entered our chalet without permission and without telling us either before or after. Our possessions were re-arranged but nothing was stolen.

mouldy bathroom due to flooding
dribbly shower (even after the leaky hose was replaced)
coin-operated electricity got jammed and was a nuisance even when not jammed - it ran out in the middle of the day so that the fridge got warm
TV stopped working
shabby carpets with cigarette burns
front door jammed solid - had to use back door instead
no padding in mattresses so you can feel the metal springs
rust on oven
bedroom door not painted or varnished and covered in glue

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We rented a 3 bed room chalet for 3 nights.The site seems to be a work in progress with many of the chalets undergoing renovation at the moment. Ours had not yet been refurbished , and though it was adequate and reasonably clean, it was very shabby . Having said that I was told at the time of booking that it still had to be done so our expectations were not particularly high.other members of our group were in a renovated 1 bed chalet which was much much nicer . It served it's purpose and it's beautiful location more than made up for the shortcomings of the chalet..the site is only a few minutes nice walk to the centre and the lock gates. It was fascinating to watch boats of all shapes and sizes coming down the canal and through the locks. We really enjoyed our visit and would go back to the park when hopefully the work will all be complete.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirl2037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We stayed in the Fort Augustus Chalet Park with a group of family and friends. Julie and Clive were helpful and welcoming. The chalets are clean and comfortable and have everything you need for self catering. Ideal if you children and pets. Good location with the centre of the village is just five minute walk away.
Word of warning "Take a torch" there are no lights in the park and its pitch black when walking back at night. The road into the park is not great either with big potholes so watch your step!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josieB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2009

always wanted to visit loch ness what a great area for walking our hosts clive and julie were always available but not intrusive they gave a good welcome explained when asked about local attractions .we enjoyed the chalet and piece and quiet and we found it good value. will definately be back next year .

steve/hazel midlands area

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramstarmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.1 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
15.3 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#2 of 25 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Inn B&b
Kings Inn B&b
#18 of 25 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Augustus Chalet Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Augustus Chalet Park

Property: Fort Augustus Chalet Park
Address: Canalside, Fort Augustus PH32 4BA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Augustus Chalet Park offers four acres of peace and tranquillity in an idyllic setting, sandwiched between Telfords famous Caledonian Canal and the river Oich. The historic village of Fort Augustus and Loch Ness are just a few minutes walk from the park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fort Augustus Chalet Park Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing