We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite place so far!! Everything was wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lovat, Loch Ness
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Favorite place so far!! Everything was wonderful!”
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Everything was great! Very clean and beautifully decorated rooms. We stayed in one of the studio apartment rooms, and loved it. The bed was plush, and the open concept bathroom was great. The service was amazing. You can tell the owner takes pride in her place! We highly enjoyed our dinner with live music from an accordion player. Lively, entertaining evening with dancing and Delicious food and wine. The location is perfect! 2 minutes walk to the quaint village of Fort Augustus which is right at the southern tip of Loch Ness. We took an evening walk to the lake and it was Lovely! The staff went out of their way to find us a mini fridge to keep our medication cold. They did our laundry and even packed us a picnic lunch (for a small fee) for our boat trip on Loch Ness the next day. I would Highly recommend this place, and can not wait until we can return!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneMonthInEurope11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    216
    62
    22
    8
See reviews for
203
696
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed here last week on my first visit to the Highlands. It was a fabulous place to chill out.

The staff here work incredibly hard to provide the guests with a good experience. It was as if we were guests in their own home. Caroline must have a flair for appointing and motivating a great team.

The room was spotlessly clean with a bed that was big enough for a whole family. The bathroom was lovely too with locally sourced, high quality toiletries.

We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was to die for - as were the breakfasts. We were a bit nervous as some other reports had said portions were small. We are both able to do justice to a meal and I have to say we were both very full! We took advantage of paying an additional £50 for both of us for dinner on two nights (£12.50 each per night) as this meant we could have a delicious 3 course meal at the end of each of our busy days there.

The hotel is central for the village while being in an elevated and peaceful position, overlooking the hills. With this being my first trip to the highlands, I was not prepared for the beautiful surroundings. With Loch Ness within 5 minutes walk and the flight of locks on the Caledonian canal, it was a pretty village with the added bonus of having a petrol station (which are few and far between).

I would definitely visit this hotel again and perhaps stay longer next time as there is so much I would have wanted to do. Do use this hotel if you want to enjoy a nightcap relaxing in front a log fire on an enormous sofa. I can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libraryhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Superb location for a relaxing weekend away.
Hotel staff were welcoming and very attentive to our needs, nothing was too much of a problem.
Ate in hotel both night. Although a limited menu the food was superb. Breakfast was plentyful and scrumtious set us up for the day.
Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view amazing to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeeGee1, Owner at The Lovat, Loch Ness, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
What a lovely comment! I have passed your comments to all staff who are thrilled you enjoyed your stay.

Menu - I notice that you mention it is limited. I am wondering what month you came to the hotel because at the moment, we have:

6 starters
8 mains &
7 desserts on the Brasserie menu with at least 3 - 4 Special starters & mains each evening. We now also have the Restaurant open, Tuesday - Saturday. We feel that this offers enough variety but any further comments would be helpful.

Best wishes,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

My partner booked this hotel online, then exchanged emails to arrange flowers and champagne for our arrival. From the moment we stepped into the hotel, we were made to feel so welcome, and the room (an upgrade) was wonderful, with views across the rooftops to Loch Ness and the mountains, and a huge bathroom. We drank the champagne in comfy chairs by the open fire in the lounge, then had an excellent meal in the brasserie. My 60th birthday was the following day and the staff went out of their way to make the day special - even bringing in a cake and singing happy birthday during our dinner in the classy restaurant. The hotel is very central for day trips (eg to Urquhart Castle, and a Loch Ness cruise boat is just a stroll away) or for just wandering around the town and watching the boats go up and down the locks in the canal. The attention to detail in the hotel is amazing - nothing is too much trouble, although they have usually already exceeded ones expectations (eg beautiful hand lotion in the bathroom, the home made biscuits provided on departure).

I will always remember a wonderful birthday at Loch Ness. Thank you to everyone at the Lovat, and I hope that I can return some day. I recommend the hotel to anyone who wants more than just a bed and breakfast when travelling.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pam2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We were lucky to get a room here. We had been terribly dissapointed by a hotel we had booked locally and Caroline at The Lovat was able to accomodate us at the 11th hour. Everything here was done well and the room was sumptuous. We had a lovely dinner in the brasserie and a very good breakfast the next morning. Do not be put off by the rather pink website and the strong 'green' ethos - don't worry - The Lovat will allow you to relax and enjoy yourself! The staff were friendly and helpful and we found that the little touches go a long way - like the freshly baked cookies 'for the journey' handed to us when we left! From first impressions to driving away we loved it at The Lovat!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0llyGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

I really can't fault this hotel. Staff friendly and extremely helpful despite reviews I have since read on this website. Rooms comfy and clean. Liked the eco friendly touch too! Highly recommended. Thank you Lovat.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forwardroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2011

The hotel has great views and a good location. Quality of food and the service in the restaurant were excellent, the enthusiasm and support of the staff particularly to two young children and my wife who is partially disabled was second to none. I would have no hesitation in recommending a stay at this hotel and will be going back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John5505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.8 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
576 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
687 reviews
15.4 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
372 reviews
25.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
559 reviews
13.7 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lovat, Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovat, Loch Ness

Property: The Lovat, Loch Ness
Address: Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lovat, Loch Ness 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian property that delicately balances tradition & contemporary. The dedicated team has a drive & passion to deliver an outstanding visitor experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Lovat, Loch Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lovat, Loch Ness Hotel Fort Augustus
The Lovat, Loch Ness Fort Augustus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing