We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite hotels in Scotland.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lovat, Loch Ness
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

I have been going to The Lovat for a few years now and can honestly say it is a fantastic place to stay. The Lovat has exceptional character and is set in a stunning natural beauty spot. We pass through with our boat a few times a year and we are always very well looked after by the team. They have often provided a venue for us to have a large team meal and the food and service is always spot on and very reasonably priced. I can't wait to return with my wife - I'm already looking forward to the breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagicRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

807 - 813 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

Gorgeous views, excellent service ( even our 2 year old had her high chair set with pretty cutlery, bowl and cup)! The menu was the best we'd seen in days in the highlands and the ox cheek was delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guplgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We only stayed one night at the lovat but we shall certainly be goin back soon. All the staff were so friendly and helpful we couldn't have asked for more. We stayed in a deluxe room which was perfect. Lovely and clean and some nice wee touches in the room. We ate in the brasserie and our meal was simply perfect. Well worth the prices. Honestly can't recommend this hotel enough. And our bag of cookies given to us on check out was a very cute touch. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluffybunny1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Day three of the Great Glen Way brought us to Fort Augustus and The Lovat.
Everything, from the welcome when we arrived to the settlement of our bill told us that this was the right place to stay.
They even tailored the set evening meal to my dietary requirements. (I have Diabetes).
Would we stay here again. Absolutely yes. Would we reccomend the Lovat to a friend? Without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glaswegian60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

After a days walking around Glen Nevis, it was a delight to arrive at the Lovat. I collapsed on one of the most comfortable beds I have slept on in any hotel. The room was well appointed and everything you could want was at hand. The breakfast was superb and kept us going all day. It is worth stopping at Fort Augustus just to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ford2951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Ate a late dinner here tonight. It was fantastic. We arrived at almost 9pm but they were still serving. Had our 2 year old niece with us who was hungry, tired and had had enough after a long journey.

Staff quickly got her some juice and a box of goodies to keep her entertained. We ordered from the brasserie menu, starters and main- all delicious. Husband was particularly impressed with the smoked salmon starter and I loved the venison burger. Kids menu had plenty of choice (although the addition of pizza would be welcomed by my niece!)

It was a little bit pricey for bar food when i first read menu but the food was excellent and the service was also so happy to pay in the end.

I hope to return for an overnight stay at some point as the rest of the hotel looked excellent. An after dinner drink by the fire would have been a lovely end to the meal but our little niece was needing her bed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Exceptional service at this grand hotel. The staff are attentive & extremely polite. Great quality of food and the whiskey menu is superb! You will not be disappointed! Location is extremely convenient for Loch Ness and for travelling on or up into the highlands. See you again next time I'm in Scotland!

Room Tip: I was in room 25, spacious and clean, excellent bathroom! I'm 6' and easily sunk into the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan01031978186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.8 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
624 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
401 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
622 reviews
15.4 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
435 reviews
15.4 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lovat, Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovat, Loch Ness

Address: Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Price Range: £93 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lovat, Loch Ness 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian property that delicately balances tradition & contemporary. The dedicated team has a drive & passion to deliver an outstanding visitor experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lovat, Loch Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lovat, Loch Ness Hotel Fort Augustus
The Lovat, Loch Ness Fort Augustus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing