We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lovat, Loch Ness
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dog friendly”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This was our second visit with our dog and stayed in the pet suite, which is perfect for dogs and immaculately clean and modern. Ate in the brasserie which was very good and breakfasts are excellent. Staff all so friendly and helpful.Great location and very well situated as base for touring area.Hope to return again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abigail531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    216
    62
    22
    8
See reviews for
203
696
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The stay at Lovat was lovely, and the view was amazing. The food was very good, the telly in the bathroom is quality, especially when you can watch master chef during your bubble bath. We loved everything about it! The big fire place in the lounge, and the view on Lochness is brilliant!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catalina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

For us, this hotel experience has to really be about the hotel restaurant which is of extraordinary quality and deserves at least one Michelin Star for the creativity and quality of the food. Chef Sean Kelly trained under Albert Roux is is obviously trying to prove himself and being given the space and resources to do so. We have recently eaten in The Fat Duck, Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons and Andrew Fairlie in Gleneagles and this restaurant is right up there with these guys - with the added bonus that the menu changes every day! Fixed price only £45 per head.
I can't recommend it strongly enough and you should get booking before this place hits the guide books and you will simply have to join the queue.
Oh, and (apart from hard pillows!) the hotel is pretty decent too!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremySalvesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on our travels in Scotland. Lovely room and bathroom, big comfy bed and delicious breakfast. Cannot comment on evening meal which we thought was a bit pricey and ate at the Boathouse Restaurant overlooking the Loch which was great.
Lovely sitting rooms with open fireplace and sweets in bowl at Reception.
When we checked out we were given 2 cookies for our journey - nice touch

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennyh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heverlee, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We booked 1 of the studio's for 1 night. We had a warm welcome, and discovered a nice decorated room with a large bathroom (with excellent heating!). The room is quiet and the bed excellent!
We made a reservation in the restaurant for the 5 course set dining at £45.00 per person. What a wonderful experience, and a good choice of wines.
The breakfast in the Brasserie was good, but the service that morning poor (20' waiting for 2 scrambled eggs...). Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delhev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeeGee1, Owner at The Lovat, Loch Ness, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
What a great comment! Many thanks for taking the time to write on TripAdvisor, it is greatly appreciated and your comments now have pride of place on our staff notice board!

Breakfast - I am sorry to learn that your departing meal was slow in arriving. If you can indicate the date you stayed so we can pin point the issue you may have encountered on that morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The Lovat is situated just off the main road into Fort Augustus, there is eample parking, with very well kept gardens, and open views over Loch Ness.
The centre of Fort Augustus with its pubs, shops, and the famous Canal Locks into Loch Ness are approximately 400 yards from the Hotel entrance.
We stayed at the Lovat for three nights in one of the courtyard rooms which were exceptionally well equipped, with a very comfortable bed, an LCD t.v., tea/coffee/kettle, an ironing board and iron, and best of all, a full sized wet room with power shower.
A very classy little 'something' was the inclusion of a kingsize Lovat Hotel umbrella in each room for use when walking across to the Hotel, or shopping around Fort Augustus.
The Lovat is extremely eco-friendly, recycling all it can (even the beer mats are recycled), and the hotel insists on buying in from local suppliers to minimize the Lovats eco footprint.
The food is exceptional, with the Scottish Breakfast being second to none, and the brasserie itself is well worth a visit for a meal even if you are staying elsewhere in Fort Augustus.
The staff are both professional and courteous, providing just the right amount of unobtrusive service to make your meal something to look forward to.
All of the staff are extremely helpful, and go out of the way to make your stay with them special.
This was our first stay at the Lovat, and I have to say there is no need to ever stay elsewhere in the area now we know how good this hotel is.
As you can tell from the tone of the review, the Lovat is everything you need for a classy stay close to Loch Ness and the ideal base for touring this area of the Highlands, which has glorious views, and empty roads.
The area is crisscrossed with great walking and cycling trails, and if you go everywhere with your pet, the Lovat is dog friendly also.
The Lovat is everything we need in a hotel - great location, great food, superb staff who actually care about the quality of your stay, plus we can bring our dog to enjoy the Highlands also!
And have you ever stayed at a hotel who sent you off on your journey with some handmade cookies for you to enjoy on the way?
That's classy.
Stay at the Lovat and you'll soon be as hooked on their style and service as we are. Don't risk the lottery of booking a hotel and finding it not reaching your expectations once you arrive. It's a long way to travel to find you've got a bad hotel.
This is the finest three star hotel we have ever stayed in, bar none. Book with confidence, it's that good.
Hope this helped.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a pet, the pet rooms are in the courtyard, but if you are 'petless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffandlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We were a party of six looking for a hotel close to the River Oich and salmon fishing for a week. We booked the Master Double Bedrooms, which were very comfortable with huge bathrooms. The location of the hotel and views over Loch Ness were perfect. Lovely sitting rooms with open fireplaces, comfortable seating and plenty of room. But the most outstanding aspects of this very comfortable hotel were the attentiveness and friendliness of the staff (they could not do enough for you) and the excellent food - both in the brasserie and the main restaurant. If we lived close to this hotel we would use these facilities in preference over many others. We will definitely come back next year.

Room Tip: This is a quiet hotel - set well back from the road with a large car park, so little road noise on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lunglung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.8 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
577 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
688 reviews
15.4 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
372 reviews
15.4 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
390 reviews
25.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lovat, Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovat, Loch Ness

Property: The Lovat, Loch Ness
Address: Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lovat, Loch Ness 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian property that delicately balances tradition & contemporary. The dedicated team has a drive & passion to deliver an outstanding visitor experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Lovat, Loch Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lovat, Loch Ness Hotel Fort Augustus
The Lovat, Loch Ness Fort Augustus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing