We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly hotel with strange sign”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Lovat, Loch Ness
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We really enjoyed our night at the Lovat the staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms exactly what we wanted. Nice big clean room with modern shower. A bar with a young barman Sean who gave up his sitting of staff meat balls (we arrived early) to make sure we were all looked after well. The staff eating together before the main service was great to see as they looked like a good team.
Will certainly consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RedandRussian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,221)
There are newer reviews for The Lovat, Loch Ness
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Lovat met our expectations after booking a room online. It is a small family run hotel, with well appointed rooms and in a great location. The guest lounge area was large and comfortable and the roaring fire made it very cozy. The breakfast was excellent and we also ate dinner at the hotel which was also excellent. A comment I made on a review card at dinner was followed up the following morning. I wish we had been able to stay longer than one night!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highlystrung47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. Great for some relaxation. Bar extremely well stocked with any spirit you can imagine and a Northern Irish barman that is great at recommendations. Food is good but they seem to work to a basis of one of everything at breakfast so if u want more than one piece of toast or more than one piece of bacon, ask when you order otherwise you will wait ages. Rooms are nice although not quite as good as the website pictures but very spacious bathrooms make up for it. Sitting rooms are super relaxing and good staff make it a very pleasant stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jgilro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeeGee1, Owner at The Lovat, Loch Ness, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write on TripAdvisor, it is greatly appreciated and your comments now have pride of place on our staff notice board - it is also always great when a staff member gets a mention.

Breakfast - whoever takes the order should at this point offer double of items - I will re-emphasise this procedure, this morning. We operate like this, rather than over-face guests & to minimise wastage.

Website - we often get comments that the hotel is better than our website photos...was there a photo in particular that you felt didn't represent the bedrooms?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We travelled here for a weekend recently with friends. The hotel is nicely situated just away from the centre of Fort Augustus and Loch Ness.

The rooms we were shown were new and fresh with probably the tallest bed we have ever slept in, we had to climb on to it. The bathrooms were modern and fresh with good facilities. Perhaps a minor issue was the size of wardrobe, but very minor.

The highlight of the weekend was the food. We ate in the Brasserie on the Friday night and would recomend the Haggis Bon Bons as a starter. Deep fried haggis balls with apple sauce, amazing. We then had the venison burger and chips which was cooked to perfection and full of flavour.

On the second night we sampled the tasting menu in the main restaurant. This was five courses of heaven. We started with Venison, Liver and Beets which were amazing, the liver hidden in what looked like a mini beetroot. Highlight of the five courses was the steak and kidney course, which was perfect, one of our party was not keen on kidneys, however they thoroughy enjoyed this course as did we all. A double desert course followed again with surprises galore and absolutely perfect presentation and full of different flavours. I can safely say there was not one course that was not perfect.

On both days the breakfast was fresh local produce cooked to perfection, and we were all sad to leave. If you get the chance go and visit. Great location, nice rooms and exceptional food, we will definately be back.

Room Tip: Go for room 7 nice views and very comfortable.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardross25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in September. This was our 3rd visit so we knew to expect a great stay and we weren't disappointed. The high standard of the rooms (decor, furniture, cleanliness) gives the impression that its a 4 star hotel rather than 3. We stayed in two other 3 star hotels during our travels around Scotland and the Lovat was by far the best, and also the best value for money (because we took advantage of a special offer where we paid in full in advance)

The food in the brasserie is great (LOVE the eggy bread and maple syrup for breakfast, and the full Scottish brekkie kept us full all day) and we very much enjoyed the 'fine dining' experience in the restaurant.

The staff are efficient and friendly, making it a relaxed place to stay. The location's great, being just 1-2 mins walk from the shores of Loch Ness.

I'm sure we'll be back for a 4th visit, hopefully in the not too distant future!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollyK596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I've stayed at the Lovat a couple of times now and on each occasion I've been more than happy with the friendly service, good food and comfy clean rooms.

The hotel is ideally situated a very short walk from the centre of Fort Augustus and it's attractions including the main event - Loch Ness - and boat trips on it.

Although my stays so far have been short overnighters on business, I plan to take Mrs McC there for a break away.

The Lovat gets a thumbs up from me!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Images_of_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed here for a night away whilst visiting the loch ness area and was not dissapointed. The room was spacious, comfortable and warm to spite the weather outside being miserable, the evening meal was one of the best meals I had tasted in a long time, which was made even better by the wonderful happy waiting staff who made you feel relaxed and that nothing was to much hassel. This was our first visit to the Lovat but we will be back, hidden gem on Loch Ness.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.8 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
605 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
727 reviews
15.4 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
424 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
391 reviews
25.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lovat, Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovat, Loch Ness

Address: Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Price Range: £93 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lovat, Loch Ness 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian property that delicately balances tradition & contemporary. The dedicated team has a drive & passion to deliver an outstanding visitor experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lovat, Loch Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lovat, Loch Ness Hotel Fort Augustus
The Lovat, Loch Ness Fort Augustus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing