We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food briliant but the staff made it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lovat, Loch Ness

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lovat, Loch Ness
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food briliant but the staff made it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

What a wonderful visit we had at The Lovat. Spent three nights at this fabulous hotel and had such a lovely time. We ate two nights in the Brasserie and the food, while a little bit expensive, was worth every single penny. Unusual combinations and beautifully presented. But it was the staff who really make the place. Without exception the staff were brilliant. Generally same staff who served us at breakfast and dinner and nothing was ever too much trouble. They all treated us like they were our hosts.

As well as the Brasserie there are two very comfortable seating areas for pre and after dinner drinks and day time relaxing. Although we would have loved to, we didn't try the restaurant. Felt that perhaps the tasting menu might have been wasted on our 14 year old son but it absolutely gives us a reason to return.

Room Tip: We had Room 22. High up and although windows were small we could see over to the Canal and beyond. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suziedaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    201
    57
    21
    8
See reviews for
187
669
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stopped here on our way up north to Harris. We had a nice big room with a good en suite bathroom on the top floor.
The restaurant staff were obliging when we asked for a children's fish when this wasn't on the menu and also at breakfast in providing more freshly baked croissants.
The locality is great with Loch Ness in view and with a series of canal locks behind the hotel it is very picturesque.
It isn't cheap but not overpriced and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed at the Lovat Hotel for a weekend break and I must say that I was very impressed.
First of all the staff went out of their way to make the guests feel welcome. The room was extremely cosy and clean and finally the meal at the restaurant was one of the best meals I ever had.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have been to the Lovat before and this was our 2nd visit. Beautifull food, friendly people and the rooms are amazing. We had a room with a very very cold bathroom, as it was Feb i was dreading to go in the shower or to the bathroom because of it. Lots of workmen where staying in the hotel at the same time and where noisy, and took the romantic part from the hotel with them all wondering about in work gear. Apart from that this hotel is amazing and would defo go back.

Room Tip: We upgraded this time and got a very cold bathroom. The studio we had before was sufficient enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madamxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I attended a small wedding at the Lovat, and though my husband and I stayed somewhere else, I highly recommend this as a wedding venue. The ceremony took place on the lawn, followed by dinner in a room with large windows overlooking the picturesque village. I was especially impressed by the staff who truly went above and beyond to make sure that every individual guest was comfortable and satisfied. Thank you for such a special weekend!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very expensive for what is on offer, the food is good but both the food and wine are expensive. The deluxe bedroom was not serviced on one of the days we stayed there and we were left without milk / sugar / toilet paper / clean towels. Considering the cost of this short break then the service was not acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for uninterrupted views of the mountains, do not ask for views of the Caledonian Canal because a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clansman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I and two other couples stayed overnight at the Lovat as part of our Great Glen Way walk adventure. The Lovat is a stately old hotel set in picturesque grounds with an impressive entry area and common rooms. It is situated in the pretty town of Fort Augustus on the southern end of Loch Ness - well worth an over night visit. We chose the basic level of room which while not spacious had every amenity and was perfectly suited to our one night stay when we would only be sleeping in the room. It proved good value for money. If you were staying longer or spending more time in your room upgrading to a higher level of room would add more to the ambiance of your stay.
We ate in the Brasserie for dinner in the evening and for breakfast. The meals were fantastic and deserving of the good reviews.
Having enjoyed dining in many countries over a number of years I feel that the food at the Lovat (along with our diners and breakfasts at the Rockpool Reserve, Inverness and Monochyle Mhor, Balquhidder, and our breakfasts and afternoon teas at Loch Ness Lodge out of Drumnadrochit) was as good as I have experienced anywhere.
All the staff that we came across at the Lovat were friendly and helpful.
The picturesque setting, the ambiance, the food and the service at the Lovat added greatly to our overall enjoyment of our Great Glen Way experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HMORGS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.8 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
6.6 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
15.4 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lovat, Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovat, Loch Ness

Property: The Lovat, Loch Ness
Address: Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lovat, Loch Ness 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian property that delicately balances tradition & contemporary. The dedicated team has a drive & passion to deliver an outstanding visitor experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Lovat, Loch Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lovat, Loch Ness Hotel Fort Augustus
The Lovat, Loch Ness Fort Augustus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing