We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,330)
Filter reviews
1,330 results
Traveller rating
981
250
66
23
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
981
250
66
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswet roomcookiesloch nessthe main hotellovely hotelstation roadunderfloor heatingfine diningopen firelarge bathroomlovely touchfood was amazingboth nightslittle toucheslovely roomcaledonian canala lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 1,330 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

We used this hotel as our home base during our hiking trip in the Loch Ness area and it was perfect! The room we had was cozy and homey. The staff were friendly and accommodating. They also have a restaurant that serves very good food.
Since we were hiking, we had a lot of muddy clothes and their laundry service’s cost was reasonable. We certainly enjoyed our stay here and would use it again if we are ever back in this part of the world.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dahlia219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Stayed for one night while passing through Fort Augustus and can highly recommend this hotel. The staff were very welcoming and the room cosy and good value for money. An added bonus for us was that our dog could stay too. We stayed in one of the garden rooms which had its own wee outdoor space.- ideal for the dog. We also had dinner in the Bistro restaurant at the hotel and the food was delicious.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We were very lucky to have won a weekend break at The Lovat through a local charity auction (we live in the Highlands ourselves, an hour from Fort Augustus). We booked in March 2017 for October to celebrate our wedding anniversary and were thrilled when we arrived. It is wonderful to come to a Highland hotel in Autumn, with two large drawing rooms with open fires: very cosy and such a delight. We had a lovely welcome and were shown to our room - very large, on the top floor, with a wonderful view over the locks, over to Loch Ness and the mountains. We had a very large bathroom too with shower and bath. We were very lucky indeed to have the taster menu in the Station Road Restaurant for our second night's dinner - fish based for my husband, and a vegan alternative for me. The staff pulled out all the stops for us. We will definitely be back. Probably the best place to stay in Fort Augustus.

Room Tip: Top floor room overlooking the locks, Loch Ness and to the mountains beyond (room 21)
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JSquaredEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

My wife and I stayed for a couple of nights. You might think a building of this age would be run down and damp but not this one. Inside is very fresh and decorated to a high standard. The lady who booked us in even carried our case to the room and showed us around. All the staff in the hotel are very helpful and friendly. The menu and food is of a very high standard. We will definitely come here again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank daytripper066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We stayed two nights in this historical hotel with wonderful relaxed setting. Very comfortable room with view to the Loch and hills. Wide variety of choices for breakfast and extensive cold buffet as part of the included breakfast made it a good value. Ate early in the Brasserie for both nights and enjoyed the main courses and desserts. Some menu items were not available for later eaters. While the food was good, the service was often slower than expected and appeared disorganized. This would not change our minds about staying here again. We look forward to return.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Notnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews