We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“View with a hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Craigdarroch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Craigdarroch Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Foyers B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“View with a hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had a nice stay at this hotel. 10 miles down a single track road, glad it was a lovely bright dry day! As we reached the hotel we realised the drive was worth it just for the view. The hotel sits well up from the loch but has an amazing view and so quiet you relax straight away. We checked in without any fuss, were offered dinner in the bar or restaurant. We chose the bar as the restaurant had a limited menu (only 3 choices). The bar has the same view as the front of the hotel, lovely to sit with a drink enjoying the view. Our room was at the back, no view, except trees. We had a twin beds & were at opposite ends of the room, probably more suited to friends or children than a married couple but for one night was not a problem. Breakfast was fine the usual cereal & cooked items if you wanted them. We will still too full from dinner so did not sample this. The hotel was very clean & the staff all friendly & helpful. We would return....thank you for a nice stay.

Room Tip: If you can ask for a room with a view of the loch, I wish we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    89
    39
    22
    33
See reviews for
41
210
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Excellent facilities originally booked one knight but stayed for two. Good restaurant food was cooked and presented excellently minor comment not a large selection to chose from, breakfast was excellent also good choices and cooked well, Staff were professional and made us welcome, there was a bar open to the public which was good as you met other visitors to the area and compare notes, the views were to die for. would stay again if in the are.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnybridge
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

To start with the good points, dinner on our first night was lovely, soufflé and salmon were well prepared and very enjoyable. On the second night we chose to eat in the bar as we had felt self-concious being the only couple in the restaurant and having the waitress looking in every 5 minutes. Food was not as good, despite being relatively similarly priced (i.e. simpler food, slightly lower price).

The room we had really comes down to taste (silver painted carved headboard) but I could not fault the comfort of the bed. The biggest issue we had was the noise which was a constant banging from early morning through to about 8 or 9pm.

The staff and owners were friendly, but the owners attitude did not seem to tie in with the awards on the wall for a previous hotel they'd run. I say this because the noise we were subjected to turned out to be the owners children on the top floor running about and slamming doors. My title is a direct quote we had when querying source of the noise. This really affected our enjoyment of the stay and had we paid full price (a groupon or 5pm offer was used) we would have been absolutely livid rather than just disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not below owners top floor quarters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Courtyard_Hound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

My wife and I recently visited the newly established camp site in Lower Foyers and decided on visiting the Craigdarroch House Hotel for Dinner and a few drinks. I had a Butterfly Chicken which was excellent with a generous portion of veg, salad etc and my wife had a really excellent steak and we had a couple of drinks each for around £34 we thought this was excellent value for money especially with the great views over Loch Ness in the conservatory. I would recommend it highly.

The only very little downside was when it gets busy the car parking situation can be a little cramped, but this only a little thing otherwise I couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Robbo1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

My husband and I are currently traveling around Europe and have stayed at quite a few hotels over the past 5 weeks in all different countries. This hotel was without a doubt, the best. We wanted a hotel just outside of town that was relaxing as we love the peacefulness of the countryside, this hotel definitely gave us that and more! The view from our room overlooking Loch Ness was so breathtaking and it really was the first time so far on our trip that we both just sat and took it all in. We had drinks and dinner in the afternoon sunshine at the bar and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, the food was also very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room (number 10) was modern and spacious. Would definitely recommend this hotel, we loved staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnson311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel about 14 years ago and had a marvellous stay, beautiful rooms, stunning views and a first class restaurant. Memorable and beautiful conservatory with views across the Loch.

Visited last month while holidaying in Scotland for coffee and a view across the loch. What a disappointment. The conservatory has been separated from the hotel and turned into a pub, the glass roof has been covered in and the whole ambience is nasty. They clearly didn't get many callers for coffee as the coffee was so strong we reckon that the pot had been on the hot plate for a long time. Staff were pleasant but not overly friendly.

The view is being destroyed by construction of a caravan park on the loch's edge - not the hotel's fault.

Would not even consider staying here any more, despite the views.

Room Tip: Didn't stay in the hotel on this visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandyHoyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

The views are the best thing about this place. The whole place appeared to be set up for the convenience of the management not the comfort of the guests. Staff and owners were at best surly; one member of our party was made to feel most unwelcome, indeed belittled by the owner. As for value we would have been better off camping lochside than stay at craigdarroch prices. Oversold, overpriced. If you believe the 'dog friendly' claim just question them in detail about what that means ie lock dogs in car while in bar or dining room. Happily gave up full payment for weekend to stay somewhere that really was friendly, welcoming and with equally great views. We will never return and advise others to be cautious.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dawnraiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foyers
10.4 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
9.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
5.4 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
16.1 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
0.2 mi away
Foyers House
Foyers House
#1 of 4 in Foyers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craigdarroch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craigdarroch Inn

Property: The Craigdarroch Inn
Address: Foyers IV2 6XU, Scotland (Formerly Craigdarroch House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Foyers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Foyers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Craigdarroch Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful, traditional Highland lodge in a rural location overlooking Loch Ness. Friendly local inn serving real ales and food every day. Log fires and comfortable en suite rooms, some with loch view. Open all year. 15 miles from Inverness on the eastern shore of Loch Ness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your The Craigdarroch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigdarroch Hotel Foyers
The Craigdarroch Inn Foyers, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing