We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Craigdarroch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Craigdarroch Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Foyers B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Super inn on the banks of Loch Ness with a superb view. Food and service were perfect. The owners Martin and Eleanor Donnall were a lovely couple. Great fun at the pub quiz night with Mike the barman a real gem of a guy!
Will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miranda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    89
    39
    22
    33
See reviews for
41
210
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

we stayed for 2 nights on the 25th &26th of september and had a wonderful time we ate in the bar on the first night and the food was excellent service was prompt and the staff could not do enough we woke up to brilliant sunshine and the views over the lake were wonderful so after a lovely scottish breakfast we went out touring that night we booked a table in the dinning room and had a marvelous meal, the menu selection was great and the staff very attentive. every one of the staff were very friendly and could not do enough to help us on our stay.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking loch ness are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wizard449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invergordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just back from living social deal at craigdarroch house hotel and we were not disappointed. The rooms were huge, very clean and full of character. Had a great view of two squirrels from our bedroom window. Food was ok and the staff were very friendly and attentive. would certainly recommend - was great value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyrenia District, Cyprus
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Had a simply breathtaking stay, lovely food, brilliant staff and to top it all magnificent views out over Loch Ness.
It was worth every penny to upgrade to the Loch View rooms.
The weather could not have been kinder for our stay and that just topped everything off.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Loch View Rooms the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DWL2552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo'ness
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I was very fortunate to buy a Groupon voucher for a 3 nights stay in this hotel. We had gone online to see the hotel first and as a result, decided to upgrade to a front room overlooking the loch. The view was superb, just lovely to waken up to each day. The hotel was so full of character and beautifully kept and the bed very comfortable. We ate in the restaurant on the first night, a beautiful meal with attentive service. The remaining 2 nights we ate in the bar, a new addition to the hotel, which was comfortable, friendly and very reasonable - the standard of food served was certainly no less than in the restaurant. The location of the hotel is off the beaten track but close enough to Inverness to be able to enjoy a number of attractions. We loved our stay here and will certainly be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyS49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for our wedding anniversary weekend and was wanting something a little bit special for the occasion. I paid £60 to upgrade the room but I have to say if our room was an upgrade I wouldn't have liked to have seen the normal rooms. Luckily we bought a deal from KGB so the overall price inc dinner on one night was only £189. I think I would have refused to pay if it had of been full price.
I love traditional decor but our room was shabby. Wallpaper was peeling back in places and it looked grubby. The shower was useless so we could only use the bath in the room and the four poster bed creaked like crazy!!!! Not good on a romantic weekend away! On the first night we had the sound of numerous children running around above us for at least half an hour and on the second night the hotel lost all power at 11pm for the evening so we were left using our phones as lighting with nothing else to do. Granted the power loss wasn't the hotels fault but it wasn't even mentioned when we left.
The meal was mainly good... I had twice baked cheese soufflé to start which was delicious, as was the sticky toffee pudding. The steak however was not below par taking into consideration the price (around the £18 mark) If this hadn't have been included in our stay I would have sent it back. We were the only people eating in the restaurant so it lacked atmosphere therefore we made the decision to eat elsewhere on the 2nd night.
The journey to fort Augustus is around 25-30 mins and the road isn't the best in places. If you are visiting the area to visit Loch Ness I would recommend staying in Fort Augustus as Craigdarroch is too far out of the way and doesn't really make up for that with what it has to offer. If we hadn't have had a lovely day out at lochness and a stunning meal at the Lovat the trip would have been a complete waste of time.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank iyesha21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Want through a KGB deal. Excellent value for money. It's in a lovely location. The hotel staff where friendly and helpful. The food was very nice, bar is friendly and welcoming. We will definitely go back, especially if another deal comes up, we couldn't fault it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Z900dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foyers
10.4 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
9.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
5.4 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
16.1 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
0.1 mi away
Foyers Bay Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craigdarroch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craigdarroch Inn

Property: The Craigdarroch Inn
Address: Foyers IV2 6XU, Scotland (Formerly Craigdarroch House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Foyers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Foyers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Craigdarroch Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful, traditional Highland lodge in a rural location overlooking Loch Ness. Friendly local inn serving real ales and food every day. Log fires and comfortable en suite rooms, some with loch view. Open all year. 15 miles from Inverness on the eastern shore of Loch Ness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Craigdarroch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigdarroch Hotel Foyers
The Craigdarroch Inn Foyers, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing