We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what it used to be. what a shame.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Craigdarroch Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Foyers B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We where here some years ago. it WAS fantastic. Fine food and wine, quiet with great view of the Loch. This is what you get now.!! £ 140 superior loch view is a view of a camp site. it is a cheap pub for the camp site, cctv in place, !!, food is dreadful frozen stuff, rooms now run down, dirty, peeling wall paper. Hot breakfast not incl and fixed. a req for poached eggs turned down. " I will get to much flak from the kitchen. " so there. Food very poor and expensive.
On a positive note, it has hot water. ! Drowned a terrible evening with whisky in the corner of what was a great lounge room. , now a café..
Craigdarroch is now a camp site joint, very very over rated, very expensive, I rate it £ 50, not £140. Never again. it ruined a special get away trip.

Room Tip: front only but view of camp site. !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mort998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had a wonderful stay here.
Very comfortable environment and a lovely beer garden looking onto the loch which was amazing.
Staff was first class and really friendly and the food was also top notch.
What made the stay was our view from our room looking onto the loch, may I add is stunning at 530am
Definitely will be back for another break.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This is a family run Hotel. Difficult to find, and out of the way. The view from the front was spectacular, overlooking Loch ness. The food was typical of a Bar, and service was slow. Our room was small and basic, overlooking the back with no view. The staff were pleasant, and facilities were clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent break away in a beautiful, peaceful location offering good value for money. Great place for walking and cycling. Be prepared though if you are looking for fine dining. Food here is good but typical of the area, bar meals are predominant.

Room Tip: Woodland facing room may not have the view but silence is golden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjw1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Spent 4 nights here and enjoyed it all. Lovely room, good food and excellent service. Fantastic views over Loch Ness too!
Very handy for fort Augustus and the Caledonian canal if you like boats, and only 23 miles to Inverness.

Room Tip: All are ample and comfortable. Back rooms maybe quieter but front rooms have the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotty047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had an enjoyable stay here a few weeks back. We got a really good deal from Secret Escapes which included dinner and breakfast which made it great value for money. The view as others have said is really nice, if you don't want to see the caravan park then sit a little back form the window :)

We were expecting shabby/chic but our room leant a bit more on the shabby side. It was however large and very clean with good water pressure and daily turn downs which is all I really expect at this price. The bed was firm but comfy.

Both breakfasts and dinners were good. Not outstanding but above average pub type fare and good quality for the prices. The staff were all really friendly for our entire stay so not sure who some of the other reviewers had!

Overall I would highly recommend it at the price we paid.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Currently staying here. Excellent value with Groupon deal. Fantastic views from our room - breathtaking! Room is very comfortable but could so with a decor update. Comfortable bed. Really enjoyed the food and wine. Good standard gastropub type food. Really good small beer garden which is nice with the current good weather. Friendly staff and people! Great location! Strongly recommend if you are after a functional good value break in a beautiful location. Glad we have a day and night left!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Crogilvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foyers
10.4 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,259 reviews
5.4 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
401 reviews
7.3 mi away
Highland Bear Lodge
Highland Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balnain
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Highland Club Scotland
Highland Club Scotland
#2 of 10 in Fort Augustus
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lodges on Loch Ness
Lodges on Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Foyers
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foyers House
Foyers House
#2 of 5 in Foyers
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craigdarroch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craigdarroch Inn

Address: Foyers IV2 6XU, Scotland (Formerly Craigdarroch House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Foyers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Foyers
Price Range: £116 - £491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Craigdarroch Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful, traditional Highland lodge in a rural location overlooking Loch Ness. Friendly local inn serving real ales and food every day. Log fires and comfortable en suite rooms, some with loch view. Open all year. 15 miles from Inverness on the eastern shore of Loch Ness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Craigdarroch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigdarroch Hotel Foyers
The Craigdarroch Inn Foyers, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing