We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house with warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foyers Bay Country House
Ranked #3 of 4 Foyers B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely house with warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I love this place so much. This house is very cute. Good view of lockness lake from living room. Owners are very nice. They sent a mail for us how to prepare a trip before going there. Breakfast is very delicious and variety and healthy. There is a big dog called "Molly". She is very nice. No elevator, it is not suitable for large luggage. I definitely come back to stay here again.

Room Tip: We booked connecting room. We have one bathroom but can use the toilet on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thipsusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    18
    10
    6
    9
See reviews for
9
54
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We did not stay here but went for a set 4 course dinner on New Year's Eve. We had read reviews about the male owner being rude , well I find that hard to believe. We got a very warm welcome from both the hosts, they tendered to our every need. The male host is also the chef and his food was lovely, my husband had steak and said it was cooked perfectly. I had a veggie dish and it was lovely,such a large portion I could not finish it all. The chocolate pudding was to die for. Very tasty indeed.

We love the setting of this place , if we are in area again we said we would come and stay here.

Highly recommend for some lovely very reasonably priced food.

We much prefer small cosy well run hotels like this that give you the personal touch to large chain hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irvine1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights.

The location was perfect and beautiful, we had the loch view room. There are some comments about the road condition. Some part of the road is a single track road and the last few hundreds of the road which goes to the hotel is a bit muddy. But I think you should expect this as you are going to a country house! This was not a big deal for me.

The mattress of the bed was terrible. We had back pain every morning. This is something I think the owner should consider it as I found in some other comments complaining about the bed.

The area was quiet, although you can hear people talking and laughing when they are sitting in the lobby easily! So if you want to sleep soon at night, that's a bit of a problem.

The food was very good. The steak was perfect.

You can walk to the Foyers Fall from the hotel easily which is highly recommended. It is a very beautiful and spectacular landscape when you reach to the waterfall.

If you are using Satnav, the post code doesn't guide you to the hotel exactly. The junction which goes to the hotel is about 50m North of the Foyers Medical Centre.

I would have rated the hotel very good if the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahan_ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed here for one night in August. This is a lovely hotel in a lovely spot on the quite side of loch ness. We were asked to order our food at around 5pm which we did willingly. The food is cooked alongside you in the conservatory. The food was delicious and the owners and lovely and friendly. Breakfast was also lovely and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElainefromLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

From the moment we arrived (very late 21.30) nothing was too much trouble, even kindly serving us a very generous cheese platter with excellent, very reasonably priced red wine. David was very helpful with suggestions of how to spend our time there and even lent us map books. What was an excellent surprise too was the food, best scallops I have tasted in years, just cooked to perfection, also highly recommend the chicken stuffed with haggis, just delicious. Some people have commented about having to order dinner in advance, well I hardly call an hour that much in advance! The hotel was full the night we dined there and having time to prepare everyone's orders made total sense to me, maybe some people are used to eating processed food and don't appreciate meals prepared from scratch take time! Location was also so peaceful with lovely views of the Loch and so much better than staying in Fort Augustus, which is definitely worth a visit, but just much more bustle.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My partner and I spent a night in Foyers Bay House recently, and have to say, it was a perfect stay. Wonderful host! Kate was very friendly and was always ensuring we were very comfortable and happy. David was a joy to talk to and we learnt a lot about whisky from him. The room (room 1) was lovely, comfy bed, great shower, shared balcony overlooking the loch!
We had dinner in the conservatory, where the setting was perfect and the food was great!
All in all a wonderful night away!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

This has a wonderful location with fine views of Loch Ness from the dining room and bedrooms. It is a well run hotel with all the usual small hotel amenities. Room had access to a balcony area on the first floor. Dining was a particularly good experience in a friendly atmosphere, great views and good food both in the morning and evening.
There is much to do in the surrounding area and easy access to Inverness. We would return at any time of the year and recommend this small hotel for comfort and food to all our friends.

Room Tip: Consider the superior rooms as ours was perfect in amenities and size. Ask the owners for driving t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryO09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foyers
10.3 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
9.6 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
8.7 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Craigdarroch Inn
The Craigdarroch Inn
#2 of 4 in Foyers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foyers House
Foyers House
#1 of 4 in Foyers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foyers Bay Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foyers Bay Country House

Property: Foyers Bay Country House
Address: Foyers IV2 6YB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Foyers
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Foyers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Foyers Bay Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Foyers Bay Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foyers Bay Country House Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing