We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lann Dearg Studios
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Whitebridge Hotel(Whitebridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inch Hotel(Fort Augustus)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lovat, Loch Ness(Fort Augustus)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel(Drumnadrochit)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Drumnadrochit Hotel(Drumnadrochit)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Invergarry Hotel(Invergarry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
147
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior studioself cateringupstairs studiocomfortable bedseparate kitchenfort augustusgreat glen wayhuge bedloch nessb bwell equipped and spotlessly cleanan easy drivehill walkingexploring the areayour doorstepshort walkstaying longer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

That's our joint opinion of choosing Lann Dearg as a base for a few days walking in the hills. The studio is very spacious, beautifully furnished and comfortable. The hosts provide excellent information about walks and other attractions in the area - they really have thought of everything. The region offers plenty for the visitor- the great outdoors on your doorstep; and a real feeling of rural peace and tranquility. The weather was mixed, as you should expect in Scotland in July, but with the right gear there's no reason to be restricted to indoors.
We went on one day trip, and visited Culloden Moor near Inverness, which is well worth seeing if you are interested in the area's history. There are lots of other attractions in the area too.
We chose self catering as that suits us, and opted for the Superior studio . The kitchen is really well equipped with all essentials. We thoroughly recommend this accommodation and the place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

After a long days walk we were pleased to find this gem located right on the route.
Val the owner is friendly and welcoming.
The accomodation is spotless and furnished to a high standard.
Bed was large and comfortable.
The breakfast was lovely and warm.
You can cook in the studio or the local pub is only 5 minutes away and does food.
I would happily recommend this accomodation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank West;Mr.stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Seemed from the net search to be 2 seperate places - B+B and self catering - but its the same place. We had a lovely room with kitchen and bathroom even though we were B+B. Great breakfast and charming hosts. Sort out your booking at the hotel for supper if thats what you want before you get there as may be fully booked. Room was very quiet even though someone staying upstairs we didn't hear them at all.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neenabecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I cant say enough about this lovely studio. Its in the lovliest location of Invermoriston, with the waterfall and river aprox 3 mins walk from your front door and Loch Ness maybe 5 mins walk.
They have thought of everything you would ever need in the superior studio. We couldnt want for anything. The views from the huge window are amazing. We watched buzzards flying right in front of the window. I had the best 5 nights sleep I have had in years, such a comfortable bed.
The shower is better than the one we have at home, and better than a 5 star hotel.
The price is also superb. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Loch Ness or the Great Glen. Val and Pat were perfect hosts. There when you needed them, but left you us to our own devices. We did wonder how long we could stay before we could claim squatters rights.
Forgot to mention their lovely 2 cats.
If your looking for a relaxes holiday in a gorgeous location with lovely walks and sceneray, this is the place for you.
Thanks Val and Pat for a wonderful 5 days.

Room Tip: If you can , go for the superior top floor studio , the views are fantastic.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanndearg, Owner at Lann Dearg Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to leave this review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you managed to get to know our local area well. We often see the buzzards here wheeling around on the thermals between the hills. Craig nan Eun, the hill at the north entrance to Glenmoriston translates as the hill of the birds and often has them soaring above it. The cats are more mundane but possibly more friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stay at Lann Dearg every time we are in the area and look forward to our stay there, they have three Studio apartments two Standard and one Superior and we have stayed in them all, the Standard accomodation contains everything you will need for your stay a kitchen area with all the equipment that you will need and even have a breakfast bar area, there is a combined living/sleeping area with a very comfortable bed and a seating area with a tv & dvd player and a bathroom with a shower area. The Superior accomodation is very similar only more spacious with large windows offering good views off the hills. The thing we like most about the studios is that they have thought of every little detail, you have tea and coffee starter tray in your kitchen until you get yourself organised, in the living area you will find domino's, playing cards, board game a small selection of books and dvd's, and bathroom accesories you would expect in a hotel. The Studios offer very good value for money and we like that you are not set to mon-fri or weekly breaks but book what you want around you. The hosts Val & Pat are very welcoming and are there if you need them for help or advice. The location is great with a hotel with resturant just a short walk down road and a very friendly little shop offering all your basics to a hot pie or bacon roll. I can not reccomend this accomodation any higher do not hesitate to book, you will not regret it!

Room Tip: If avalible book the Superior for the extra space and views!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kym117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews