We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing, so peaceful, so quiet, so clean - so go there!”
Review of Lann Dearg Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lann Dearg Studios
Edinburgh, Scotland UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So relaxing, so peaceful, so quiet, so clean - so go there!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Everything about our stay was just perfect, except the weather but what do you expect in the Highlands in March! Well located for drives out, we visited Eilean Donan castle and Plocton one day and drove the complete circuit around Loch Ness stopping off at Inverness on another day, fantastic views of snow covered mountains. The studio was really clean and had everything you need for a self catering stay. Would stay again in an instant and have no problems in recommending to other travellers.

Room Tip: Choose the upper studio, it's worth the extra few pounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Steve_and_Margo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
97
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

so just back from a 3 night stay in the scottish highlands. What can i say about my trip to Invermoriston? More inportantly about my stay at Lann Dearg? Well I'll start with my room for the next 2 evenings.... stunning! the room itself was spotless, comfortable and had fantasic views. nice bathroom, excellent power shower, kitchen had everything was clean and very moden, the bed gave me the best nights sleep ever was so so clean and comfy. I cannot express how wonderfull this place is to stay. The owners are so friendly which made our fantastic stay even better. if there was more stars to give i would gladly give them in what i can only describe as the nicest place i have ever stayed. there was everything you needed an more in the room itself, from books on places to visit to books to read at night. any information you didn't have the owners would kindly give. I am so impressed with this place that me an my other half now want to move there. this is a hidden gem in the heart of the Loch Ness and I am sold on deffinetly going back to the Lann Dearg in the very near future. Excellent stay. Best birthday ever. (note it didn't have a fitness room or swimming pool) but walking up that slight hill was enough, and the power shower was better than a swimming pool.

Room Tip: for £5 more choose the supirior self catering studio. although i'm sure the rest of the rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank locket23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanndearg, Owner at Lann Dearg Studios, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Many thanks for this review. Such a nice way to end the season as we are closed for December, January and February. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Rudham, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had a wonderful, warm welcome to Lann Dearg, with everything clearly explained about all we needed to know about our accommodation. There was also lots of information in the studio about the location and ideas for things to do. The room itself was beautifully clean and comfortable, the best we've stayed in, with all you need for self catering and more besides! We were in the superior studio, which had a lovely view. It's a great location for walking and sightseeing, also for visiting other nearby towns/villages along Loch Ness. We only stayed for a couple of days and did lots of walking, getting a little lost (our own fault for straying from the marked pathway!) and went into Inverness, a lovely little city. It is a long drive from our home, in Norfolk, but wouldn't hesitate to stay at Lann Dearg if we decide to make the trip again, fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My sister-in-law and I had a lovely stay in the studio at the back of the cottage for 4 days. Great place!! It was quiet but with lots of attractions around whether you are looking for castles, walks , hikes, outdoor adventures or just some really good local craft shops in the surrounding villages. We did a little of it all. We took advantage of the self catering and made our own meals in the more than adequate kitchen. Everything in the studio was superb including the awesome shower.

Con ... if it is a rainy or lazy day and you choose to watch a movie I recommend you bring a DVD current selection is small. The TV screen is also small in the studio. There is lots to do though so movies aren't really a necessity. The dining area is small TV trays would be an asset.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debschat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at Lann Dearg for 3 nights from 9th to 12th September in Studio 1. After reading up on the studios on Trip Advisor we felt this would be a good place to stay and boy was it spot on!
The studio is spotlessly clean with lovely décor. As we are both fans of the " Hotel inspector" and "Hotel Impossible" we thought we would do an inspection ourselves....well, I think the owners are also fans as we couldn't find anything that wasn't sparkling clean!
The kitchen is very well stocked if you choose the self catering option, if not, you have the basics with the breakfast option that needs ordering the night before. As we were on the road every day we ate out or brought food back to the studio. We did however ask for breakfast on our last morning and this was served in the very pleasant dining room in the owners house. Breakfast was fab and we stocked up on a full breakfast with endless cups of filter coffee.
Invermoriston is a very small village with limited options for food and drink and I would recommend driving to Fort Augustus or Drumnadrochit for more variety. If however you cant be bothered driving then a short 5 minute walk to the hotel will be the only other option.
Our stay was too short, we could have happily stayed longer.

Room Tip: Studio 1 has a window out to the front of the property that has a view over the car park and trees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanilla0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Great place to stay if you are looking for something quiet.
The superior studio is very comfy with all facilities provided.
In B&B, you can ask for your breakfast (the day before) in a basket. It will be provided in the evening. What a pleasure to have your breakfast in the room.
The village is quite small, there is a pub/restaurant nearby (Glenmoriston arms) where the food is of good quality (booking advised). You can also find a little store for the basic stuffs...
The hosts are very friendly and ready to help. They gently switched on the hob/oven (we were in B&B so it was disabled) at 8.30pm without any problem when we noticed it was not enabled.
Would recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: - Superior room has its own bathroom (shower) and kitchen (with oven) - If you choose the B&B o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabDem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is would be an excellent stop if walking the Great Glen Way or if on a modest budget and exploring the area. The accommodation is on the way and a short stroll from the amenities of the small village of Invermoriston, including the very good Glenmoriston Hotel and the very picturesque old bridge. This is a great place for walkers and families no doubt and the studios are a great place to stay - a cross between self catering the advantage of a B&B (if choosing that option). The apartment I stayed in was spotless and very well appointed and equipped, especially if doing some self catering. The owners were friendly and very helpful. The other reviews say it all really, but very highly recommended as a stop when walking the Great Glen Way.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesandFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invermoriston
5.3 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,199 reviews
4.5 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Craik Na Dav B & B
Craik Na Dav B & B
#1 of 8 in Invermoriston
673 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inver Coille
Inver Coille
#2 of 2 in Invermoriston
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lann Dearg Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lann Dearg Studios

Property: Lann Dearg Studios
Address: | Dalcataig, Invermoriston IV63 7YG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Invermoriston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Invermoriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lann Dearg Studios 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lann Dearg Studio's is a purpose built detached property, rated excellent on Tripadvisor, consisting of 3 separate studio apartments, all with their own private entrance and individually controlled central heating, situated next to the proprietor's home on the Great Glen Way, within the small community of Invermoriston. The Studio's are ideally placed by Loch Ness for a 'get away from it all' break, whilst still being centrally located for touring the main Highland sights, including Fort William and Ben Nevis, Aviemore and The Cairngorms, Skye and The Cuillins, Inverness,and the Spey Valley with its many whisky distilleries beyond. The studios are designed for self-catering guests. Ideal for couples either wanting to embrace the great outdoors or whose wishing for a more romantic retreat. Minimum 3 night stays for self catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Lann Dearg Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lann Dearg Studios Invermoriston, Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing