We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tip Top”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bracarina House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bracarina House
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tip Top”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Good welcome when we arrived,the room was very clean and comfortable although we had a bit of a problem with the shower which was fixed by the owner. Great situation for the only place in the village to eat which was right next door. As a veggie I was offered ' beans on toast ' for breakfast. but did get a good selection of cereal, fresh fruit and hot food, more than adequate.
If you want a sauna be aware that it takes 50minutes to heat up and owner should be phoned in advance if you want one on arrival. In all good stay

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elizabeth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
70
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Landgraaf, Limburg, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We had a great time with Sheila and her bananabread. Absolutely wonderfull place to stay. A very warm welcome. We would stay there a second time if we're in the neighbourhood again. Perfect !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marjon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
193 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

While my room was not quite ready when I arrived, the owner was very gracious and allowed me to keep my pack there while I sought out a picnic spot. Once in my room, I relaxed in a warm and comforting setting leaving only to have dinner at the very close by Invermoriston Hotel. Breakfast the next morning was around one large table which allowed fellow hikers (Great Glen Way) to compare stories and tips before we set off again. A solid stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank timjstark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

We arrived a bit early and wet but did not get the warm reception we expected ! Plus the owner Sheilagh was having a row with a neighbour over a barking dog. Breakfast was OK and cothes dried when we were eventually allowed in - not the friendly scottish welcome we expected.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cidercarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Lovely B&B which offered a fantastic welcome. Clean and functional. The only thing I missed was a TV in my room, although there is a guest lounge.

There is a limited number of restaurants and pubs to get a meal in the evening (and they stop serving food early!) but I can recommend The Boathouse at Fort Augustus. Lovely food in a fab lochside location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelodge-phobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENOCH
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

It was such a treat to turn up after a day of walking and have a cup of tea and a wonderful piece of Sheila's homemade cake - afterwards the room was restful and the foot bath was such a great addition to soak the tired feet. Breakfast was wonderful - set up for the coming day - Sheila had lots of information about the area and the place to get something for the road ahead - would highly recommend to anyone traveling in the area to stop for the night and have a great rest.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Our room was spacious and we also had a good sized shower room. Bonus to have a guest sitting room with wifi so that can enjoy a cup of tea (and Sheila's delicious cake) on a proper seat rather than perched on the edge of a bed! Invermoriston Arms next door provides excellent food and drink at reasonable prices. There is also a small shop across the road. Breakfast was excellent. Sheila was very friendly and we very much enjoyed our stay with her.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneinInverurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invermoriston
0.2 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
11.6 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Craik Na Dav B & B
Craik Na Dav B & B
#1 of 8 in Invermoriston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
8.9 mi away
Highland Bear Lodge
Highland Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balnain
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tigh Na Bruach
Tigh Na Bruach
#5 of 8 in Invermoriston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bracarina House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bracarina House

Property: Bracarina House
Address: Invermoriston, Invermoriston IV63 7YA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Invermoriston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Invermoriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bracarina House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bracarina House Invermoriston, Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing