We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly welcome in The Highlands”
Review of Darroch View B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Darroch View B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A friendly welcome in The Highlands”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I stayed at Darroch View for 4 nights (15th-18th August) whilst i explored the area around Loch Ness and also achieved an ambition of cycling the majority of the Caledonian Canal. The B and B is ideally situated to visit all the local attarctions.
After a friendly welcome from the owner Hayley, i was shown to a lovely twin room with en-suite (great power shower in there by the way). I was able to store my bike in a sheltered area and also told that if clothes etc got wet whilst i was out and about, there was a place to get them dry.
Breakfasts were good and filling and there was good coffee - i do like good coffee in the mornings. The packed lunches that Hayley makes up are to be recommended - cheese and ham sandwich in particular was very tasty.
The local hotel - Glen Moriston Hotel - serves good food but it is recommneded that you book a table - Hayley will do this for you if you are likely to be late back.
I will certainly be recommending Darroch View to any friends and family who may be visiting the area and will stay again when i am next up here.
The only complaint that i have - and it's nothing to do with Darroch View - are the pesky midges !! Take Avon's ' Skin So Soft' and you should be ok . They don't like the smell but you will smell lovely !
Thanks for making my holiday.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms, 2 twins and a double. They all appear to be similarly appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz02661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    25
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
14
60
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brno
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Warm welcome, beautiful clean cozy rooms, wonderfull breakfasts. Hayley was a gift on our trip.Once coming back - for sure we´ll visit this homelike place.
Vera

Room Tip: All are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VittyBrno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We make an annual pilgrimage to Loch Ness and we always stay with Hayley and Neil at Darrock View, because it really feels like a home from home.
The rooms, even the smaller twin, are immaculate, well equipped and very, very comfortable. Hayley cooks a fabulous breakfast and is always welcoming and entertaining. I think its fair to say that she is a bit of a perfectionist and it shows in the product she presents to her guests.
Darrock View has lots of great assets but its biggest two are its views, and its hosts.
We'll be back next year for yr 5 !
Gail & Brian

Room Tip: Ask for the double with SKY+.....BUT they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Myself and my Uncle did a bit of touring on our motorbikes last month and one of the places we stayed was Darroch View. The owner, Haley was very friendly and helpful.

The restaurant was only a 5 minute walk away and the food was pretty good.

The breakfast was good and set us up for the trip home to Falkirk.

We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FatblokeXJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Hayley gave us a great welcome - nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotlessly clean and we had a good breakfast - endless supply of decent coffee much appreciated!

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shirley57540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2011

hayley provided her guests with a warm and friendly greeting
always smiling, which makes you feel welcome and at home

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arras1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipsburg, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Haley is the "Hostess with the Mostest!" This B & B was pre booked for me through an adventure travel company, and I couldn't have done better myself. Of all of the places I stayed while walking the Great Glen Way, this was by far my favorite.

The town is breathtakingly beautiful, with good pub grub at the hotel.

Some of my hosts did not seem pleased to have a solo, American, female traveler. Not so with Haley. I felt genuinly welcome. As news of this gem spreads, I expect that they will be booked far into the future!

Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Anne_Fillmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invermoriston
5.5 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
376 reviews
4.8 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craik Na Dav B & B
Craik Na Dav B & B
#1 of 8 in Invermoriston
670 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inver Coille
Inver Coille
#2 of 2 in Invermoriston
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darroch View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darroch View B&B

Property: Darroch View B&B
Address: Invermoriston IV63 7YA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Invermoriston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Invermoriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Darroch View B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Darroch View B&B is situated in a lovely location within easy walking distance of the Great Glen Way. We offer a warm and friendly welcome. All rooms are en-suite. Each room has Satellite TV, tea/coffee making facilities, free WIFI and hairdryers. The dining room is situated downstairs, where guests can enjoy great mountain views of whilst enjoying their breakfast. Guests will be welcomed anytime after 3pm or earlier by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Darroch View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darroch View B&B Invermoriston, Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing