We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely wooden lodge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Invermoriston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loch Ness Highland Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely wooden lodge”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed here at number 1 Lodge with the wife and in-laws for a week in June. Daughter and her fella had number 8 Hobbit. It was simply somewhere for them to get their head down as they stayed in the lodge most of the day.

First impression was booking in was smooth and simple. Was taken to the lodge by site man and upon entering I was gob smacked on just how clean, modern and well appointed it was and a week there did not disappoint.

Daughter was ok with the Hobbit but no privacy. No blinds on little window or French doors. Site man said not to worry as people don’t pass others Hobbits. Just as he said that a fella was passing the Loch taking photos. Point to note site man, people need privacy at night when light is on and your getting undressed.

Jacuzzi was pe-heated and was bloody lovely. Found ourselves in there at the most strangest of hours and even in the rain. Really nice touch.

Lodge had 2 bedrooms. One with a shower on suite and there was a bath with bubble jets and built in TV.

Lounge / Kitchen / dining room was very well appointed. TV came up on hydraulics from behind the fire place. Nice touch. Decking on the lock side was lovely and it had space for BBQ. We took our own but we found out there was one under the decking assessed from a little door near the Jacuzzi.

Arrived on a Sat so the man said that the bar will be open at 7 but we were to tired so stayed in.

Next night we thought lets go the bar. Got ready and strolled over only to find it shut.
Enquired the next day and would you believe mid June is not peak season. So no bar till the following Friday. When we did go it was over £11 for 4 drinks and the atmosphere would have been better on the moon. Did not stay. Had plenty in the lodge to drink.

A walk into InverMorrison is nice. Takes about 40 mins. Fort Augustus is lovely. Try the Boat House for eating. You wont find it unless you knew it was there. Its accessed along the loch canal from the swing bridge in Fort Augustus. The south side of the loch heading towards Loch Ness not towards the lochs of the canal. Really nice food.

Would I go again ? Yes. Those lodges are state of the art and I loved it there

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigmarkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    43
    12
    5
    14
See reviews for
92
102
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The welcome at reception was not great, due to the staff member being on a personal phone call. It seemed a hassle to ask for linen and when asking if towels could be hired, we were asked "do you not have your own?", which we thought was a bit cheeky, as our previous accommodations provided towels for hire, which we didn't mind paying for. When we were leaving the reception to go to our Hobbit, we heard the receptionist say she was "sorry about keeping her friend/relative waiting!!". All was not bad about this place though, our Hobbit was very nice indeed. High level of craftsmanship, a very nice view and good amenities (fridge, kettle and heater). For customers that don't or can't take their own cutlery, cups, tea/coffee, it might useful to provide these - for a cost of course. We would also suggest roller blinds for the windows, as in the summer it is very bright at night and in the morning, blinds would also improve on privacy. Showers and toilets were clean. On site restaurant staff were welcoming, menu was a bit short on choices and a bit pricy. Departure receptionist was a lot more accommodating. We realise that chalets and caravan spaces are probably the priority for this park but for the Hobbits a little more work needs to be done to make the experience amazing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank forbsy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiveliscombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed in a hobbit,saying it was pet friendly. What a joke as soon as we got out of our car after a very long journey, our dog got out of the car and we were shouted at by the warden to put our dog on a lead. Your not allowed to exercise your dog on site. The shower blocks was not opened the whole week we were there. We had one shower in the toliet block, which had bird crap on the shower curtain and on the floor everyday. The water kept stopping. The water leaked through to the toliets so you were walking in water all the time. The bar and restaurant was never opened, they said there was not enough people. There were over 24 camper vans, people in hobbits and lodges! It was raining and very windy and they wouldn't open it. They locked the gates at 10:30pm so you couldn't have a relaxing night out anywhere as you have to be back.The site was full of gravel no grass. Our friends who had a camper van wanted to put up an awning. They had trouble putting the pegs in. And spoke to the warden who was not helpful at all and told them to buy some updated gear!It was not a relaxed place at all. Five star rating is a joke it was the worst holiday we have ever had.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank weather01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Have to admit to being a bit concerned about booking one of the lodges as there are no reviews as yet on Trip Advisor. I feel quite honoured to be among the first to review these stunning lodges in what must be one of the most beautiful locations in the world.

To begin with, the booking process. As I couldn't find any reviews (having seen the lodges advertised in the press), I telephoned the park. The staff member (Julie) could not have been more helpful and took great pride in telling me about their lodges. She just sounded so enthusiastic and honest that we decided to book.

Our journey up was obviously through some of the most beautiful parts of Scotland, so we were feeling really relaxed before we even reached the lodges. However, on arrival - reality was even better than the dream. The lodges are absolutely stunning. Beautifully thought out where most of the windows i.e. lounge and both bedrooms face the loch with a HUGE private decking area leading to your own jacuzzi which is pre-heated ready for your arrival.

The lodge was immacutely clean and nicely furnished with a huge flat screen TV in the main lounge and smaller versions in both bedroom and in the main bathroom (which also housed a jacuzzi bath). The bedroom has a very modern en-suite and the kitchen is well fitted with all the utensils you could ever need on holiday, including tea-towels, wash-up liquid and sponges etc.

This site is particularly suitable for people looking for rest and relaxation. It is not a big park, very much family run and extremely friendly. There are only about ten lodges and space for tourers. They have also sited some wooden Hobbits on site which are aimed at campers who want to sleep camping style but not in tents. These are heated and have a fridge and ketter and our sons had a great time and slept well when they visited for a night.

We were at the holiday park out of season but I do understand that in season there is a bar for guests and entertainment.

I could not recommend this park highly enough - I dont even think my photos do it justice. I also have to admit that I am concerned my review means I will find it difficult to return as it will be fully booked - although I do intend to return again at Easter and can't wait.

Hope this is helpful and look forward to reading some more fantastic review in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maeboyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invermoriston
4.5 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,172 reviews
3.9 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
577 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
688 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inver Coille
Inver Coille
#2 of 2 in Invermoriston
25 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tigh Na Bruach
Tigh Na Bruach
#4 of 8 in Invermoriston
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ness Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Highland Lodges

Property: Loch Ness Highland Lodges
Address: Point Clair House Easter PORT | Invermoriston, Invermoriston IV63 7YE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Invermoriston
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Invermoriston
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Ness Highland Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loch Ness Holiday Park, located in an enviable and unique position on the banks of Loch Ness, promotes a sense of community comparable to any Scottish village. It boasts a location abundant with beautiful and varied land and lochscape, a rich history and flourishes amidst the range of interests within the encompassing area. We offer a choice of Leisure Homes and Luxury Lodges to rent for a short or long holiday or to buy as your forever holiday home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loch Ness Holiday Park Hotel Invermoriston
Loch Ness Highland Lodges Invermoriston, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing