We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This site is not 5 star”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Invermoriston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loch Ness Highland Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This site is not 5 star”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed one night with our children in a motorhome we had hired in Perth. We had been travelling up the east highlands coast right up to John O'Groats and back down the west highlands. The details of the loch ness holiday park looked and sounded brilliant, but on arrival we were so disappointed. The on site restaurant was closed. The toilets and showers were really smelly. I showered one of the children and then the water became freezing cold. Nobody else was in the shower block, so I couldn't understand the lack of hot water. Chemical waste disposal was a smelly old toilet that you emptied the waste down, my husband was nearly sick! Urgh. The park itself advertises a picture of a small pebbled loch side beach, but in reality this was about 2ft x 2ft! I didnt feel safe letting the children play outside the motorhome as there was no safety fence or hedge at the edge of the loch, apart from a few straggly thin shrubs! The play area was ok apart from that as it was in the middle of the road it had a fence around it , but the end of the slide butted up to the fence panel and therefore When a child Came down the slide it crashed into the fence!!! Around the site were Several old statics lying around Which felt you were on holiday with the Clampetts. Certainly will not be booking here again in a hurry!! Only positive side Was that Urqhart castle Was so close by and that is an excellent day out .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ustravlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam O, Marketing at Loch Ness Highland Lodges, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
I am really sorry that you had such an unpleasant experience at the park. Unfortunately the park this summer was left in the hands of the wardens for periods of time and the owners returned to find that conditions had been left to deteriorate drastically in their absence.
New wardens have been employed and fully trained up, and a full refurbishment with improved shower and toilet blocks are being installed over the winter period. The children's park, along with other aspects of the park, such as the new and improved static caravans are all being relocated within the parks perimeters too.
Hopefully these changes should mean that other holiday makers will not experience the unfortunate situation and conditions which you and your family did, and we are very sorry that you had such a horrid time of your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    44
    12
    5
    14
See reviews for
99
104
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed for two nights at the beginning of August with our friends staying in the adjacent hobbit. This was the second time we had stayed and our friends joined us on our recommendation and were not disappointed. I had booked the two hobbits and asked for adjacent hobbits and expected that our hobbits would also share the picnic table inbetween unfortunately this wasn't the case however I should probably have specified this when I booked. We still had plenty of room to enjoy our BBQ and a few refreshments in the evening!
Our hobbit was clean and tidy on arrival and all the equipment was in good working order (some of it too good as the fridge started to freeze things!) The toilets/shower/ and dishwashing areas were clean and well maintained.
We had fantastic weather whilst there and made the most of it enjoying some walks in the local area. The views from the site are amazing and we saw a fantastic sunset however there is quite a lot of overgrown shrubbery/trees in front of some of the hobbits blocking the view which could benefit from being cut back.
The onsite bar was closed during our visit as it was the year before this wasn't an issue for us as we had brought plenty of food/drink to sustain ourselves however it would have been nice to visit it. The website states that it is open and others might get a surprise if they aren't as organised as we were.
This is a lovely little site and we will definitely return as will our friends our issues are minor ones and I would not hesitate in recommending to anyone who wants a true glamping experience.

Room Tip: Be sure to add any specific requests when booking online
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam O, Marketing at Loch Ness Highland Lodges, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Nicholla, thank you so much for your review. We recognise that the lounge bar being advertised on the website was a mistake which was not rectified early enough, as this remained closed throughout the season due to staffing issues.
These facilities are being upgraded during the winter and will be staffed next year from March onwards. We'll also have a look at cutting back the trees and undergrowth before Spring sets in for you too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

just returned from a 3 day break in challet no 5 at the caravan park. The standard was amazing, facilities from the hot tub to the very cumfy bed were exceptional. I cannot recommend this venue highly enough. The view over the loch while feeding the ducks at the waters edge was something else. My friend and I left feeling totally chilled and wanting more..

Room Tip: challett number 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank franross2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam O, Marketing at Loch Ness Highland Lodges, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
So glad you enjoyed your August three day break with us and thanks for the positive review! We're currently making some additional upgrades to the site at the moment as well, so drop by again this year to see the new and improved, fully functional site with restaurant, bar and games room. Even more to be happy about!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the hobbits and whilst being comfortable they felt a little cramped even compared to the tent we had been in the week prior. There was a small fridge in the hobbit but no shop onsite so you needed daily trips to get food in. The views over the loch are lovely and no one can take that away, however the bar that has been refurbished according to the web site is still undergoing refurbishment and according to locals has never actually been open. The toilet facilities are dated and dirty, the showers had hair blocking the plug hole all three days we were there... it had not been cleaned in that time. The mens showers were never hot morning or night for 3 days, while the ladies were too hot! The childrens play park was good and safe but the facilities on site are not sufficient for the amount of holiday makers they are trying to squeeze into the site.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenthevn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam O, Marketing at Loch Ness Highland Lodges, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hi Karen, thank you for your review. I am sorry that the site facilities were below standard and mostly closed during your stay. This past summer was very difficult in regards to keeping the park well staffed, and as a result the standards unacceptably slipped and I apologise that this was your experience of the Park.
As a result we are taking pains to ensure that during our winter we are undergoing complete refurbishment, installing completely new shower blocks and toilets, revamping the lounge bar, restaurant and fully stocking and staffing the on-site shop for next season starting March 2014.
We're aware this year we were carried by the amazing location of the park and hope that next year the park will add to our amazing views rather than detract. Thanks for taking the time to review the site for us though, so we knew where we needed to primarily improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My Mum and I stayed in the Loch Ness Hobbits earlier this year and it was delightful. The people were really lovely, the cabins were great and of course all the scenery. " No Nessy Though!!" Although we did get a lovely display of fighter jets going across the Loch! For the price the hobbits are great value, and sooo hot the heater works amazingly well for its size. I saw there was a few complaints about no curtains but they have fixed that now with roller blinds and some people complained about size, it was fine for us two. Would deffinatley reccomend Happy Glamping Peeps! xx

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie-Anne313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam O, Marketing at Loch Ness Highland Lodges, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thanks for your raving review of our hobbits from earlier this year, so glad you enjoyed your stay. I think you're right the hobbits are great for two people, though a wee bit cosy if you want to try and fit the maximum people in - it's worth checking the pictures on the website before booking for larger groups. Please pop back and see us again later this year - lots of new additions, improvements and refurbishments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Absolutely brilliant, peaceful, far enough away from everything to be relaxing, close enough to all the amenities. Only downside was that, despite the park being full, the bar/restaurant wasn't open. We were celebrating a birthday and ended up buying in booze and a disposable BBQ with food (which was probably cheaper anyway)!

Stayed in the hobbit huts, which was ideal for me, my man and our dog. Although, VERY warm at night, unable to open doors and windows cos of the midges and potential for the dog running off - obviously that's not the fault of the park, but fans in the huts may help!

Will defo be back again!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam O, Marketing at Loch Ness Highland Lodges, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thanks so much for your great review of our Hobbit huts. As I'm sure you'll have heard the amenities in the park were unfortunately not fully operational last summer, and this wasn't communicated on the website, so apologies for this. The site is under refurbishment as I type, so all of these features will be around as of opening in March 2014.
And I think you visited us during our heatwave at Loch Ness - we usually get feedback asking for more heating and blankets - I think yours is the first asking for fans! The joys of living in the highlands of Scotland.
Glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope you can make it back again this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The Loch Ness Holiday Park is set in a beautiful location right on the edge of the Loch.

We stayed in one of their 'Hobbit Houses' - which is a simple but fantastic alternative to camping in a tent.

The facilities include a fridge, heater and electric plug sockets. There is a double bed and two singles - you must provide your own bedding though.

The park itself caters for caravans / camper vans and from the website, also has luxury lodges.

The facilities are basic and what you'd expect from a typical 'campsite' but good - there's a toilet and shower block (temperamental heat) pay as you go hair dryers (20p for a good length of time), laundry (the tumble dryer takes a lot of spins to dry your clothes but there are 2 washing lines and pegs provided)

It cost us £35 as a couple to stay night in the hobbit house and having spent 4 days in a tent it was a welcome relief to have a solid base to get ourselves sorted out.

There's a bar on site too which was closed when we stayed - this didn't affect us as we'd brought our own drink, but speaking to another resident, they had chosen the site specifically for its bar facilities and were put out that they'd had to walk around a mile and a half to the nearest town to buy some.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnniePops87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam O, Marketing at Loch Ness Highland Lodges, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hi guys, thanks so much for leaving a positive review of your stay in our Hobbits last summer. I thought I'd let you know the site is undergoing refurbishment this winter with completely new shower and toilet blocks going in, so this should solve the temperamental water heating, and as of March 2014 our bar and restaurant will be fully functional too - come and pop along in 2014 and let us know how it compares!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invermoriston
4.5 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,200 reviews
3.9 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
587 reviews
10.9 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inver Coille
Inver Coille
#2 of 2 in Invermoriston
31 reviews
1.3 mi away
Craik Na Dav B & B
Craik Na Dav B & B
#1 of 8 in Invermoriston
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ness Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Highland Lodges

Property: Loch Ness Highland Lodges
Address: Point Clair House Easter PORT | Invermoriston, Invermoriston IV63 7YE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Invermoriston
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Invermoriston
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Ness Highland Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loch Ness Holiday Park, located in an enviable and unique position on the banks of Loch Ness, promotes a sense of community comparable to any Scottish village. It boasts a location abundant with beautiful and varied land and lochscape, a rich history and flourishes amidst the range of interests within the encompassing area. We offer a choice of Leisure Homes and Luxury Lodges to rent for a short or long holiday or to buy as your forever holiday home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loch Ness Holiday Park Hotel Invermoriston
Loch Ness Highland Lodges Invermoriston, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing