We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Loch Ness Highland Lodges
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Invermoriston
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Inch Hotel(Fort Augustus)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whitebridge Hotel(Whitebridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lovat, Loch Ness(Fort Augustus)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel(Drumnadrochit)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Drumnadrochit Hotel(Drumnadrochit)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Invergarry Hotel(Invergarry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
187
47
12
5
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
187
47
12
5
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubfort augustusstunning viewsholiday parkluxury lodgeloch nessplay parkfantastic holidaynight breakholiday homegreat weatherwashing up liquidhighland lodgesclear nighton arrivalout of seasoncentral heating
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed in one of the hobbits for 3 x nights (Thursday to Sunday - June 2014) and was pleasantly surprised with the level of comfort from the Hobbit.

Facilities on site are good (lacking WiFi at the moment but was promised it will be a feature soon)

All site staff were helpful and friendly

Would certainly consider this site again if the decision is made to visit Loch Ness again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loch_Ness_Park, Owner at Loch Ness Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Many thanks for your feedback - it is very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

When we arrived, the hobbit had no electricity, although it was back on two and a half hours later when we left the bar. We spent a comfortable night and were looking forward to a relaxing day in the sun admiring the lochside view. However, things quickly took a change for the worse when I went for a shower. After 20 minutes the water was still freezing cold, not impressive. The lock on the cubicle door was partly broken and there was nowhere to hang clothes so they got soaked. The toilets were filthy, with more than a week's worth of dead flies on the windowsills inside, it doesn't take a huge amount of time to wipe or dust a window sill. Later in the morning when I went to boil the kettle in the hobbit, we discovered that we had no electricity again. The owner came to deal with this and immediately started being nasty towards us, going on about the fact that we had a laptop plugged in, which it was but was not switched on at the plug and saying that it is only a tent. The hobbits are not tents, they are permanent wooden structures, which have lights, a heater, a fridge, kettle and power sockets. If there is a restriction on what electrical items should be used, this should be made clear. He again started being nasty to us, saying he never gets complaints, and seemed to suggest that we can't expect much from clamping. I appreciate that this type of accommodation is basic, but for £35 per night in the 21st century, I would at least expect a hot shower and to be able to use the kettle provided to make a cup of tea. I understand that things do go wrong occasionally but there was no need for him to be horrible to us when we had valid complaints. We were meant to be staying for two nights but we were so disgusted with his disgraceful behaviour towards us that when he offered us our money back and we could leave, we took him up on the offer. Had he apologized for the problems and been more respectful to his paying guests we would have stayed but i was really disappointed that our break was ruined by his arrogant and ignorant attitude so we didn't want to stay any longer and we will certainly not go back. I had also commented on the lack of storage space compared to similar structures and this was greater with raised hackles, it wasn't even a complaint, just a suggestion for improvement. If he put the profits back into making small improvements rather than buying his big fancy cars and personalized number plates the place could be really good but I won't be there to find out. After our initial conversation, I had to leave my parter to negotiate with our host who said tried to say he was "cool", not as cool as my shower. I felt sorry for a couple there on their honeymoon who must have had the flames of passion extinguished by his cold shower.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loch_Ness_Park, Owner at Loch Ness Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review - I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and I would like to offer a response as follows:

Upon your arrival, the Park was without electricity for a short period due to a storm the previous night which had cut power not only to the Park but the entire surrounding area. This was an unavoidable problem, of which, we were aware and our staff were working to rectify any issues caused by the power cut. Authorities were aware and supplies were returned at the same time as Invermoriston was re-connected.

As regards our toilets / shower facilities: this area, as with the rest of the Park is treated with great care and attention, with an hourly inspection sheet completed by allocated staff members. I personally was on duty that day and had no reports from staff to match the above descriptions outlined by yourself and absolutely no build-up of flies.

I once again, apologise for the lack of hot water for a period of your stay. During the power cut, a hot tap had been left jammed on and had drained the supply, which was rectified once the power returned and water re-heated. The tap has since been replaced to avoid this happening again. We did take measures to compensate you for your inconvenience with regards the hot water and offered that you dine, free of charge, in the Park's restaurant that evening - something which you declined.

It is our aim, with all Park guests, to ensure a comfortable, happy and relaxing stay, as you shall notice from all other reviews. It certainly was not our attention to mar your break by these unavoidable occurrences and we would certainly not treat any of our guests with disrespect or arrogance. Our offer of a full refund has been accepted and once again, we apologise for the unavoidable inconveniences on that one day of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Lovely location right on the loch, greeted by really friendly staff and the 'Hobbit' (ours was named 'Shelob' after Tolkien's giant spider) was nice and warm without having to turn on the heater provided. Comfortable night's sleep (bearing in mind it only cost £35 between the two of us). Toilets were clean.

Fridge and kettle provided (though no cups provided for tea or coffee, might be a good addition for non-seasoned glampers like ourselves who wouldn't think to bring these things). Had a problem with the electricity not coming in the Hobbit when we first arrived but this was sorted by staff within minutes. A few older reviews mention that there was no curtain to draw over the door at night, but this has now been remedied and we had no questions about our privacy whilst staying there.

My only criticism would be that the Holiday Park's website shows images of the Hobbits lined up right on the loch, but they must have been moved since the photos were taken so now that side of the site is reserved for RVs with the Hobbits moved a little further away from the loch. This means that your view of the loch from your Hobbit might include a couple of RVs (see my photo for how this looks – we didn't think it was a big deal at all).

I probably wouldn't have questioned this had it not been for the out of date photos on the website which suggested the Hobbit was positioned right next to the loch. I was a little disappointed when we first arrived, but my girlfriend (who hadn't seen the photos on the website) didn't question the set up at all, and I forgot about it after about 5 minutes of being there. I would probably just suggest that the owners update the photos to avoid disappointing anyone who might care about this sort of thing more than we did.

Unfortunately we were only able to stay one night here due to time constraints, but could easily have stayed longer. The site is about 1 minute's drive from the small village of Invermoriston, and a short 10 minute drive from Fort Augustus. There is a bar/restaurant on site which we didn't use but seemed nice, serving meals from 6pm–8pm and open until 11pm.

If you stay here, be sure to go down to the little pier just past the entrance to the site, the view of the loch from there is absolutely stunning. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhys W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The kids loved the hobbit huts and the playground. Everything was nice and clean, better than the average camping facilities. We had forgotten to request the bedding beforehand, but the staff helped with a smile and managed to get it sorted (thanks!). A great choice for an affordable base to explore the highlands.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diego P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We loved our hobbit house, it was warm and cosy, a nice picnic table outside. Great value for money ! camp site was clean, nice hot showers, clean toilets with friendly staff. Fantastic views overlooking the loch and great weather.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews