We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Nessie, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Invermoriston
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“No Nessie, but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We found this hotel to be very friendly, clean & the food was divine! We had a fabulous room too!
Set in a beautiful part of the world, excellent for walking or exploring by car. We went to Fort Augustus and spent a pleasant morning there before finding the Falls of Foyers - spectacular. Definitely worth a second visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    111
    29
    19
    15
See reviews for
52
183
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel during the summer and enjoyed it very much especially the food,so thought nothing of booking it again last Saturday for dinner with two friends from Derby,after raving about it all day.
When we arrived the restaurant was encouragingly very busy but this came at a cost.
When finally seated at 8.30 we were told two of the specials were off and the sirlion steak was also off the mains menu, all of which we had already made our choice on when reading the menu in the bar.
Our second choice was the venison/pork stew which frankly was rather tough on the chew.
Running out of a basic such as steak is a bit much and certaily spoiled our night I'm afraid.
If you decide to dine here dine early or be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LlarooScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

I was walking the Great Glen way and stayed in a B n B nearby. Went to this hotel for a drink and was very surprised by the quality of the food and drink. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the food was really good. Also had a lovely bottle of house red. Great value too. Will make a point of stopping off in future

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoggyGla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We visited the Glenmoriston Arms Hotel 8th September for 3 nights. We enjoyed a lovely welcome, very helpful staff, a lovely room and 3 mornings of the most gorgeous breakfast which filled you up till you returned to the hotel for you evening meal. Our room was simple but comfortable with the most brilliant walk in wet room with a shower to die for! We visited channory point which is excellent for viewing the dolphins and also took a leisurely tour on loch ness by boat. On to our evening meals which after reading some other reviews we were worried about but worry not - the portion sizes were brilliant, excellent meals and desserts. It is an excellent hotel to stay in for touring the highlands, a nice quiet hotel with a lovely restaurant and staff. My hubbie has signed this highland tour of his bucket list and we would happily return if time allows.

Room Tip: Room number two has a great view and an amazing shower, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Visited the hotel for an evening meal. The staff were friendly and although we hadn't booked a table we were shown to a table in the main restaurant with no fuss. The meal I opted for was chicken breast in a sauce, very nice except there wasn't enough sauce, none of the stafff visited us during the meal to ask if all was OK, had they done so I would have asked for more sauce, otherwise a good meal reasonablly priced. The bar is stocked with numerous whiskys, although suprisngly very few whisky liquers. The restaurant needs decorating as it looks dated, all in all I enjoyed the meal and would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed here on a Groupon deal, and was worth every penny. Was made very welcome when we checked in, the owner showed us to our room which had a fantastic view. She pointed out that the toilet seat had been broken by a previous occupant, but that it was working ok this didn't put us off the room. Had an amazing meal in the hotel restaurant on the Saturday night, value for money. Will most definitely stay here again.

Sylvia and Sam

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leuchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed on the 11th and 12th September on a Groupon deal. I have read some of the other reviews and I am surprised that with some of the comments. We did not feel that we were treated any differently from any of the other guests. We were not bothered about the old TV as we don't go on holiday to watch TV. Ailsa did tell us that the TV was on her to do list along with a number of other things. We ate in the hotel both nights as we enjoyed the meal so much the first night and we cannot complain about the portion sizes. However on the second night my wife's steak was a little dry but was far from being inedible. My sea bass was lovely. First morning the cooked breakfast arrived before we had finished cereal and the second morning breakfast could have been a little warmer but was Ok. Perhaps timings could be revisited here. There was pleasant lounge to sit in with a drink and it was not overly noisy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invermoriston
5.5 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
4.8 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
9.9 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
13.3 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
21.6 mi away
Cluanie Inn
Cluanie Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenmoriston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmoriston Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoriston Arms Hotel

Property: Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Invermoriston IV63 7YA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Invermoriston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Invermoriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenmoriston Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel located in the Scottish Highlands by Loch Ness. On the road to the Isle of Skye, Fort William and Inverness. Perfectly placed to base yourself whilst touring the Highlands. This charming old Hotel, has 8 traditionally furnished bedrooms within the main building and 3 more contemporary styled external bedrooms. The Moriston Bar and restaurant serves quality Scottish fayre, locally sourced where possible, and an extensive range of single malt whiskies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glenmoriston Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoriston Arms Invermoriston
Hotel Glenmoriston Arms
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel Invermoriston, Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing