We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Inch Hotel(Fort Augustus)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lovat, Loch Ness(Fort Augustus)
US$326
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drumnadrochit Hotel(Drumnadrochit)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Invergarry Hotel(Invergarry)
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel(Drumnadrochit)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
209
136
31
21
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
136
31
21
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvenisonate hereloch nessgreat mealpuddinggreat glen wayexcellent restaurantfish and chipsovernight stopthe pubshort breaktwin roomfeel very welcomemade us feelafter a long daycooked breakfastwarm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here for one night over the recent Easter weekend. The location is a little remote - but was a good base for us, we were heading to Port Augustus the following morning.

The hotel is set in a quiet area. On arrival we had a warm welcome from our host.

We were in room 1. Our room was clean, large and with very comfortable beds. The bathroom was excellent and the shower was amazing.

We ate dinner in the dining room, our meals were good and good value. The table service was excellent.

Breakfast was also excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Positives:
- Good location (that is not hard given all of Scotland is beautiful), quiet, very polite owner and staff, nice whiskey collection.

Negatives:
- Slow dinner service. Took one hour from the time we sat till the time we got served. We could overhear the people on the table next to us complaining about the same thing. The waitress told us that the slow service was due to the fact another table had ordered too much food. I think it boils down to ineffective management of the restaurant part of the business.
- Our beds were not comfortable. Perhaps the mattresses were old or of poor quality or both.
- Spider web at the ceiling. On the positive side, we never saw the spider.

Overall:
Taking everything into account, it is not a hotel i would visit again.
The owners are very friendly but as a business this hotel is not currently managed very effectively.
All partly was my fault as I booked at the last minute and it was one of the very few places with free rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank London T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lachie1, Owner at Glenmoriston Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Ailsa, Managing Partner: Thank you for your feed back. Apologies for the slow service the evening you had dinner. We did have a couple of issues that night and we are well aware that towards the end of the evening our service was not as polished as it usually is so we're really sorry you had to wait a long time for your meal but I can assure you it was nothing to do with another table ordering too much food! and with all due respect that is not what the waitress told you:) Perhaps you just misunderstood what she did say? Apologies also for the spiders web in your room. This has been addressed. We appreciate your comments and are disappointed that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Great host with warm welcome; good food; location is lovely albeit remote. Although we travelled 4 hours to get there (and that seemed to be a nightmare journey initially - probably due to weather conditions at the time), it was definitely worth the wait. Ailsa was a superb host - really made us feel welcome and a part of the community! I suggest this is a great strength. Ailsa made us feel that we could turn up ten days or ten years later and she would still be as receptive. Loved the fact that our dog was allowed into the bar area - that's important to us!

Good food for dinner and breakfast! Exceptionally organised and remarkably clean offerings.

Well done Ailsa! We will be back no doubt!

L n J

Room Tip: Aim for a front facing room if you prefer facing the hills (lovely). Regardless - lovely venue!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEGCIND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We did not stay at the hotel, we were staying at the Invermoriston chalets just down the road, and decided to eat out for our last evening in this beautiful area. We were not disappointed. The service was excellent and the food was fantastic, would definitely recommend. Two courses for 4 people plus a couple of drinks and coffee came to £80 which I thought was money well spent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank indianaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

It is difficult to be anything other than subjective when visiting a restaurant once; so going twice in two days should be telling.
Sunday evening. Early reservation ( necessary, or I am no judge.) Place initially empty but even so, strangely and effectively welcoming. Just a smile on the waitress's face is often enough.So far so good. Directly to table, wine ordered, small but selective list and choice made was good.
I began with the Farmhouse pate. Strong, smooth and meaty with a fat rim indicating that the generous portion came from a mother of a pate nicely set in the refrigerator rather than a bought-in tub sealed in plastic. Very acceptable friable oatcakes and rocket-rich green-leaf salad all bound deliciously with a bright and astringent chutney made this a very enticing strarter and a hard act to follow: but this chef knows a thing or two.
Wife opted for fillet of Sea Bass with enormous pink, succulent, black-shell Tiger prawns in a binding marriage with, I believe ( I tasted it), tarragon hinted hollandaise sauce. Vegetables, I am assured, were perfectly cooked, crisp sugar-snaps in the starring role, and generously but evenly (artistically, no less) distributed on the plate so that the whole thing wanted to be eaten.
I did not lose out with a truly wonderful chunk of explosively succulent salmon, complete with caramelised extremities and knobbly blanket of firm, round crayfish. The glaze of buttery, gingery sauce hit the spot and was not overdone; it clung lovingly to each hand-carved piece of carrot, potato and cucumber, combining harmoniously with the mange-toutes scattered around the perfect plateful. Superb. Really.
We shared an incredibly clever pineapple and ginger crumble, fighting over large, fructose-sweet blueberries and mounting forays in to the smooth yet firm pistachio ice-cream. The pistachios added another layer to this dessert which initially seemed doomed by the complete lack crumble but which was found to be stylishly and very unusually part of the saucy whole, whilst still retaining a satisfying crunch.The pineapple pieces were just meltingly succulent and contrasted cunningly with well...everything else. A top score here.
Monday evening.
The chef's night off. We both had smoked salmon and a halved hard-boiled egg with hollandaise, over-dressed salad leaves and as an afterthought, croutons.It was minimalist cooking and well chosen.
Main course was a hangover from the night before but Cassoulet of Pork can improve overnight. It had beans and pork pieces in it, served in a bowl reflecting the subterranean profile of nearby Loch Ness...steep sided and deep. Sinking into the over-sweet depths were three boiled potatoes and a jetsom of...wait for it...carrots, cucumber and mange-toutes. Hmmm. Needless to say, the service was excellent. Well done.

No complaints...but what a difference a day makes.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank tectak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews