We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Invermoriston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Traditional hotel, rooms very comfortable. Food was excellent, we loved the breakfast and we also ate dinner in the restaurant four nights running. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, especially Ailsa, the proprietor.

Room Tip: We had Room 3 in the main building, overlooking the front and with a view of mountains. TV was a mus...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank discerningdiner56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
There are newer reviews for Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked this hotel after reading very positive reviews on Trip Advisor; our experience was totally different.
We had booked for 2 nights and were allocated room 10 which is in the annex. The room is spacious but is on groung floor level and unless you have the curtains permanently closed there is no privacy...net curtains or blinds are needed on both windows. We were woken at 6.00am by the shower system being used in the room next door and then further noise from the room on the opposite side aound 7.15am as they to used their bathroom. The sound insulation in the room being extremely poor. Thankfully we were able to change rooms to a Deluxe double in the main building which was much better apart from the traffic noise from the main road in front of the hotel.
The resturant in the evening was very disappointing ; we both had the 'fresh fish and chips'...the chips being oven chips and along with the fish totally tasteless. My Husband ordered the cheese board and at £8.95 way over priced, the pieces of cheese were small and again not at all apetising. Needless to say we did not eat there on our second evening.
The breakfast however was excellent; great selection, well presented and very tasty.
The staff are very helpful and friendly and take time to chat to you offering advice on local attractions etc.. definately their best asset.

Room Tip: Definately go for a room in the main hotel and if possible away from the main road.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank DeniseSouthWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel whilst attending to wedding planning in Inverness. Although quite isolated (which we wanted) the hotel offers a friendly bar for travellers, restaurant with great good and bedrooms to a clean and comfortable standard.
Highland cows in the opposite field were just so cute and added to the Scottish highland experience. Great base to visit surrounding towns too

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 217rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Had found this hotel by mistake what a great meal and friendly run hotel with free WIFI result child friendly / pet defo would recommend a nice meal here was fab thanks the surroundings was great and good for walks the locals were nice too.....

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank BigAlMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

In an effort to find the Loch Ness monster we detoured on our way up to the highlands and spent an afternoon and evening around Loch Ness. Strangely we found that there is very little to do in and around the Loch. We saw the locks and had an ok lunch in the small village at the start of the Loch, we had tried to check in to the Glenmoriston Arms only to be told that it was closed to visitors for the afternoon and we should come back after 4:00. WE had booked the room with the 4-poster bed and as other reviewers have mentioned the bed left a lot to be desired. They have obviously spent a lot of money renovating the bathroom but certainly should have spent some on a better bed, I would wager that people are more interested in a comfortable bed than a gigantic tub

Having said that we spent a delightful time talking with some locals while having a few drinks on the small patio. Dinner in the hotel was good as was the breakfast the next morning as we headed of to Dornoch in search of a comfortable bed.

Room Tip: don't bother with the 4-poster
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank visitorToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed in room 10, in the annex, and it was very comfortable and suitable. Nothing fancy, but workable, and the bathroom was very nice! Short walk to the neat sights in town and the waterfall. Dinner was fine, and breakfast was tasty and served quickly. Ask for a fan for your room to combat the lack of air conditioning and you'll be very comfortable.

Room Tip: Wifi only works in the lounge, but it's comfortable in there. Rooms are a little small but perf...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed hear four a week 13th 20 July.
Ailsa and staff give us a good welcome

We stayed in the annexed room 11' great four people with needs as it is on. the flat. Food was. Excellent . N nothing was a bother easy distance to Fort Augustus and different places .
There is lovely walks nearby .there is perfect parking spaces. THANK YOU GLENMORISTON. HoTEL M & I TURNER




















,,,

Breakfast through.to dinner at night was just out of this world. Menu. Great food to die four.










The Burns to manchestlllllllll

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Iain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invermoriston
5.5 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,221 reviews
4.8 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
608 reviews
9.9 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
425 reviews
11.8 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
729 reviews
21.6 mi away
Cluanie Inn
Cluanie Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenmoriston
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmoriston Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoriston Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Invermoriston IV63 7YA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Invermoriston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Invermoriston
Price Range: £104 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenmoriston Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel located in the Scottish Highlands by Loch Ness. On the road to the Isle of Skye, Fort William and Inverness. Perfectly placed to base yourself whilst touring the Highlands. This charming old Hotel, has 11 traditionally furnished bedrooms within the main building and 3 more contemporary styled external bedrooms. The Moriston Bar and restaurant serves quality Scottish fayre, locally sourced where possible, and an extensive range of single malt whiskies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Glenmoriston Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoriston Arms Invermoriston
Hotel Glenmoriston Arms
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel Invermoriston, Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing