We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Invermoriston
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed 5 moinutes away in Craik NA Dav B & B. The food in The Glenmoriston Arms is extremely high quality and the service excellent. The local haggis dishes and Inverness scallops are delicious. Beer is kept very well and they have a wonderful selection of single malts.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russ_lister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    118
    31
    21
    15
See reviews for
55
194
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
929 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

A group of dined at the restaurant in the hotel on a Wednesday night when the restaurant was quite busy.

The service was very good and the meals were all very nicely done.

We had Pate, mushrooms, scallops and soup for starters and steak, venison, risotto, Sea Bass and chicken for mains each of the meals was very nicely done and well presented.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoTampa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here during walking the Great Glen Way which was a welcome sight at the end of a long walk. Really traditional hotel which is also reflected in the choices at the bar and food. We had an issue with the drainage in our shower which was rectified within half an hour - although no follow through with any complimentary offering which would have been appreciated. The bar staff were younger and less helpful to foreign visitors which was a shame. We found the service in the restaurant over dinner and breakfast great with good explanation of the food and any individual requests met. I had an amazing sweet n sour turkey dish - hardly a traditional choice but I enjoyed it after a day of working up an appetite. Free home made shortbread in departure was a nice touch which I ate later in the next days walk.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordonm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were stopping locally and as this is the only place to eat without using a car we ate here.
A choice of restaurant with reservation only or eating in the bar however this did get busy.
Really good choice of food including specials and locally sourced ingredients. Local beers went down well.
They clear have a deal with the local foresters and the presence of a large group of workmen filling the small bar drinking, cursing and smoking in the doorway with dirty clothes may put some people off and really doesn't do anything for the hotel image.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank michael186311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Traditional hotel, rooms very comfortable. Food was excellent, we loved the breakfast and we also ate dinner in the restaurant four nights running. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, especially Ailsa, the proprietor.

Room Tip: We had Room 3 in the main building, overlooking the front and with a view of mountains. TV was a mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank discerningdiner56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked this hotel after reading very positive reviews on Trip Advisor; our experience was totally different.
We had booked for 2 nights and were allocated room 10 which is in the annex. The room is spacious but is on groung floor level and unless you have the curtains permanently closed there is no privacy...net curtains or blinds are needed on both windows. We were woken at 6.00am by the shower system being used in the room next door and then further noise from the room on the opposite side aound 7.15am as they to used their bathroom. The sound insulation in the room being extremely poor. Thankfully we were able to change rooms to a Deluxe double in the main building which was much better apart from the traffic noise from the main road in front of the hotel.
The resturant in the evening was very disappointing ; we both had the 'fresh fish and chips'...the chips being oven chips and along with the fish totally tasteless. My Husband ordered the cheese board and at £8.95 way over priced, the pieces of cheese were small and again not at all apetising. Needless to say we did not eat there on our second evening.
The breakfast however was excellent; great selection, well presented and very tasty.
The staff are very helpful and friendly and take time to chat to you offering advice on local attractions etc.. definately their best asset.

Room Tip: Definately go for a room in the main hotel and if possible away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DeniseSouthWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel whilst attending to wedding planning in Inverness. Although quite isolated (which we wanted) the hotel offers a friendly bar for travellers, restaurant with great good and bedrooms to a clean and comfortable standard.
Highland cows in the opposite field were just so cute and added to the Scottish highland experience. Great base to visit surrounding towns too

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 217rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invermoriston
5.5 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,183 reviews
4.8 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
582 reviews
9.9 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
407 reviews
12.0 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craik Na Dav B & B
Craik Na Dav B & B
#1 of 8 in Invermoriston
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmoriston Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoriston Arms Hotel

Property: Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Invermoriston IV63 7YA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Invermoriston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Invermoriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenmoriston Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel located in the Scottish Highlands by Loch Ness. On the road to the Isle of Skye, Fort William and Inverness. Perfectly placed to base yourself whilst touring the Highlands. This charming old Hotel, has 8 traditionally furnished bedrooms within the main building and 3 more contemporary styled external bedrooms. The Moriston Bar and restaurant serves quality Scottish fayre, locally sourced where possible, and an extensive range of single malt whiskies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glenmoriston Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoriston Arms Invermoriston
Hotel Glenmoriston Arms
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel Invermoriston, Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing