We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay at Loch Ness.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Invermoriston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loch Ness Highland Cottage B&B
Reviewed 16 February 2014

What an amazing holiday from start to finish. We were so sad to leave.

From the moment we booked our stay here nothing was too much trouble. Tom's communication via email was excellent. He even helped us by finding a taxi company to transfer us from the airport as we weren't planning on hiring a car during our stay.
We stayed in the king room for 3 nights and it is by far the most comfortable and luxurious room either of us have stayed in.
Lyn (and Midge) greeted us with a warm smile and a cheery hello which was just what we needed after being up so early to catch our flight. She provided us with scones which were most welcome!

We felt there was plenty to do and see. We booked a tour with Tom to see Urquhart Castle and Eilean Donan Castle. Great value for money as Tom is a brilliant tour guide too. Admission to these places was very reasonable we felt compared to prices you might find where we live.
Whilst there we also walked the Great Glen Way into Fort Augustus which is easily accessible from the back of the house. We highly recommend doing is. We had a few showers whilst on our walk but it didn't hamper the journey.

Lyn is an amazing cook and breakfast everyday was delicious. My partner tried 3 different breakfasts from the menu and recommends the kippers! I stuck with the Scottish cooked breakfast complete with haggis, superb!

Tom and Lyn couldn't have been more accommodating during our stay. They are wonderful hosts and make all their guests feel welcome.
We are looking forward to returning to Loch Ness and wouldn't hesitate to book again with Tom and Lyn.

Room Tip: King room has the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in and is very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunnypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

With an amazing room providing a beautiful view of the loch, this has to be by far the best place to stay on the banks of Loch Ness. The service was incredible and the breakfast could not be faulted. Best nights sleep I've had in a long time

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liston156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed just for one night. We came a little bit late (at 19.00) and Tom welcomed us (later when we had internet connection we found a letter from Tom, who was worried if we got lost and sent us information about their location and contacts).
Lynn welcomed us with snacks and scones, which were exactly what we needed, because we came very hungry.
Everything was perfect, we slept well. We were the only guests that night.
In the morning breakfast was served at exact time we asked before. The dining room has a nice view over LochNess.
Lynn and Tom are great hosts. It was really pity to leave their house so early. Hope to come back again some day (even if they have a B&B in another town :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Cleanliness
Thank AnnaKostina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in the King room for three nights.
It was our first time away since having our son so was the perfect place to stay.
The room is amazing! It has the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in.
The bath is massive, I could've stayed in it for hours.
Luxury throughout!!
The room has a lovely view over Loch Ness, unfortunately we didn't spot Nessie :)
Tom and Lyn were the perfect hosts.
They made sure that we were happy during our stay.
Lyn is an amazing cook. She makes the best breakfast and dinner!
The biscuits/ cakes in our room were well needed after a long day of walking & water sports.
Because we flew up we didn't have the car.
Luckily, we didn't want to do too much so managed without one.
Fort Augustus is 4 miles south and Invermoriston is 2 miles north.
The Great Glen Way is accessible through the back garden so walking wasn't a problem (during the day).
Tom was kind enough to pick us up a couple of times. There is also one taxi driver in the area.
We'll be recommending this B&B to all of our friends and will return again one day :)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank shifta84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

How can you not want to stay more nights? We arrived tired, and hungry, to find Lynn bearing delicious fresh scones, cream and jam, plus other snacks, tea even. Tom was most helpful with a dinner location nearby. And the bedroom was comfortable, modern, tidy, maybe a little cluttered in a homely and nice way. Beautiful bed. A great bathroom. Just the thing for my partner and me. The breakfast was equally wonderful. Well worth finding this haven. Thank you, Lynn and Tom.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AeB8862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The hosts were very helpful and friendly. We were greeted with some lovely treats, which was perfectly timed as we hadn't eaten in hours prior!

The room itself was one of the best bedroom decors I've ever seen. So much effort and love has gone into decorating this room. I spent ages just looking around!

Stacked with your usual Coffee/tea, however additionally, a nice change to have included hot chocolate and Ovaltine!

Views overlooking Loch Ness, although from our room it was quite blocked by the trees (Naturally).

Fort Augustus is just a short drive away, so that's a plus! Lovely secluded, romantic getaway, just absolutely ideal if you want to be as near to Loch Ness as possible.

Breakfast was lovely and the views from the breakfast room, you just can't fault this place. Thoroughly recommended to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharleneUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely place, exceptionally well decorated rooms, fantastic breakfast. The views from the bedroom are beautiful. Very friendly and welcoming and lovely little touches , like scones on arrival.
Perfect location for touring around Loch Ness.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invermoriston hotels
2 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
401 reviews
2 mi away
Craik Na Dav B & B
Craik Na Dav B & B
#1 of 8 in Invermoriston
686 reviews
2 mi away
Darroch View B&B
Darroch View B&B
#6 of 8 in Invermoriston
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Bracarina House
Bracarina House
#2 of 8 in Invermoriston
215 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tigh Na Bruach
Tigh Na Bruach
#4 of 8 in Invermoriston
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inver Coille
Inver Coille
#2 of 2 in Invermoriston
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ness Highland Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Highland Cottage B&B

Address: Loch Ness Highland Cottage Port Clair, Invermoriston IV63 7YE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Invermoriston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Invermoriston
Price Range: £85 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loch Ness Country Cottage offers deluxe self-catering accommodation for up to 6 people. It has a view of Loch Ness and sits at the edge of the forest through which the Great Glen Way runs. There is a fully equipped kitchen, one double bedroom, one twin-bedrom and one convertible sofa bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loch Ness Highland Cottage B&B Invermoriston, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing