We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wildside lodge Wildcat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitebridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wildside Highland Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Wildside lodge Wildcat”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Arrived at the Wildside Lodge complex to be told by the very friendly staff that our lodge was ready and just to go into, within 5 minutes Jackie the site manager arrived greeting us with a warm friendly smile. Although the lodge was looking quit old on the outside it had be refurbished to a high standard on the inside, It was in a very clean and tidy state which was good to see. The only down side to the lodge is that it doesn't have a bath or its own washing machine or dryer which would have been handy due to having a small child, but the site does offer a laundry service at a cost of £5 per wash and dry however when we put our clothes in for the service they came back a size smaller than when they went it!!

There is plenty of wildlife on the site and the site it self is kept to a very high standard. As we have a 2 year old we found that Wildside had very little to offer for small children however there are plenty of walks and there is a small river next to the site for a spot of fishing.

However none of these minor issues stopped us from having a great time at the Wildcat lodge.

Some of the places visited:

Inverness
Highland Wildlife Park
Foyers Falls
Fort Augustus
Fort William

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLHINVERNESS, Manager at Wildside Highland Lodges, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Wildside.

I am very sorry to read that your clothes came back smaller. I have instructed the Laundry to only dry guests clothes on a very low temperature so that this will not happen again.

If you decide to stay with us again. I will do my best to make this up to you.

Jakki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    35
    12
    0
    3
See reviews for
116
188
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daventry
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Wildside Highland Loges is a very quiet and peaceful location, i would say in my opinion that it’s a much better location for couples and people who like to walk through nature, its ok for families, but there’s really nothing here for young children, which for me is an extremely positive thing, nothing worse than screaming children.

Unlike some of the other reviews i have done, i really don’t have many negative points to raise about this site, so i think i will get the negative points out of the way first. The Wifi from nearly any end of the park was almost non-existent and regularly dropped out, the staff did try by putting a Wi-Fi extender into our Cabin but it hardly made any difference. You can’t get 3G or 4G around the site and the only way to get a phone signal is by walking out onto the main road and you will be lucky to get any more than 1 bar of signal. Your nearest shop is a 20 minute drive to Fort Augustus or 45 minutes to Inverness, you really are out in the Wild, and its mostly single track road either way until you get to the A9 but there are plenty of passing places, as far as negative points go, that’s really it.

We came in April as 3 couples, staying in 3 different lodges. Couple 1 (me and the wife) stayed in the rather large Dalwhinnie lodge. Couple 2 stayed in the Tomatin and couple three in the Glenmorangie.

The Glemorangie lodges are at the start of the park, next to reception, the windows at the front go along the whole front of the lodge from the double bedroom into the living room, so you get a lot of light, just remember at night to draw both sets of curtains especially if you are someone who tends not to wear clothes first thing in the morning. The hot tub isn’t really secluded enough in the daytime but its fine at night. The bedroom was massive, very nice bathroom with shower (no Bath) and plenty of kitchen space with all the kitchen equipment you need too. The lodge was extremely clean and of course very romantic with the log burner. This cabin is worth the money. My only negative about this lodge was the view as you have most cars from the other lodges parked next to you and your the furthest away from the river, however going back to the Wi-Fi, as you are right next to reception, you could get not too bad a signal at times.

The Tomatin in my opinion was the best lodge to stay in as the view was spectacular, you had the view of the hills and you are right on the river. The hot tub was very secluded and facing the river also and as the person in this lodge said: " i can turn the TV round and watch the football whilst sat in the hot tub and enjoy my beer whilst also enjoying the scenery". It really has the perfect setting. Inside this lodge appears smaller to the Glenmorangie, the double bedroom was smaller but the bathroom was about the same. The living room space was smaller again but cosy. The kitchen space was also not as big but it still has everything you need. All round, this was actually the best lodge of the three, mainly because of the view.

The Dalwhinnie has what my wife calls "The WOW Factor". The lodge is massive. We decided to pay the extra for this lodge as it was the only one big enough to have 6 people round the dinner table for breakfast and evening meals. The Dalwhinnie also is on the other side of the park with lovely views of the hills but no view of the river. The living space was incredible, very open with a log fire in the middle; the sofa seating was enough for each couple to "cosy up" on. The downstairs bedroom with queen size bed was where we slept, it was a modest size room with an ensuite that had an overhead shower and bath with toilet and sink, it also has plenty of drawers and wardrobe space. The Kitchen was also big enough. There was also another entrance to the lodge with a porch area with freezer and washing tumble dryer and great place to leave your cases. Then another bathroom with whirlpool bath and separate shower but we never used it. Upstairs which we never used, had 2 more rooms. Upstairs room one had a lovely view of the hills and a nice double sized bed. Upstairs room 2 had 4 single beds which were very spaced out as the room again was of a good size. We loved this cabin and wanted to trade it for our house. The only negative was No Hot Tub, but we knew this when we booked it, the sacrifice you make so everyone can eat together.

On the day we arrived, the staff were very friendly but we never seen them again after that, although they were easy to get hold of if you needed them. The pub just a short walk away did lovely food. It was a very quiet Pub but the service was fantastic and for such a quiet place, the menu was actually quite varied and they had my favourite beer on tap "San Miguel". The prices were also very reasonable.

Overall this was a great holiday, with some really lovely people. I hope you enjoy your time there too.

Room Tip: The Best View is the Tomatin lodges
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baildon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

What an amazing and relaxing place. We took our 9 wk old son on his first holiday and could not of wished for a nicer place to stay. The lodge was immaculate and the staff were so kind and friendly. The hot tub was great and the location next to the river is perfect. We look forward to re visiting next year with the whole family! The new tea rooms open near foyers fall called Cameron's tea room is well worth a visit for lunch or just to indulge in some v good cakes!!! Thanks to all the staff from Craig Emz and Luca x x

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodhallcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just spent a week staying at the Wildcat Lodge which was absolutely fantastic. The lodge itself was spotless on arrival, with a nice welcome pack including milk, butter sugar etc. Arrvied slighty early but staff on hand with Jakki taking the time to show us all the basics of the lodge. The park is so peaceful which meant we could allow the children to be a bit more independent, exploring the little park by themselves. The park is well maintained and a great place to come back to after a day of walking/ exploring sites in the highlands. Can get cold at night but plently of extra blankets provided. Overall we couldnt have asked for anything better.

Room Tip: The router for wi-fi is based within the Wildcat lodge, meaning you have grest internet access when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My partner and I have stayed at the Wildside Highland Lodges in Whitebridge 4 times now and we will continue to go back year after year.
It is the most relaxing place I've ever been to - the staff are friendly and are available if / when you need them, otherwise you are left in peace to enjoy the break.
The lodges, hot tubs and surroundings are just perfect!!
Great place if you appreciate the wildlife, excellent scenery, like to relax or walk.
Animals are welcome which is great as we were able to take our dog with us : )
Sheer bliss - Love it there!
5 star - Yes!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Enjoyable 4 night stay clean and tidy for a 1 bedroom lodge good info on attractions walks hotels eating places etc, had our dogs who are well behaved. Overall 4 star my only moan would be we practically deep cleaned before we left as partner hoovered the place twice i cleaned the toliet shower fridge cupboards and anything we used i checked and double checked or they charge you also stripped the bed folded the towels in a neat bundle - we are clean and tidy anyway but i thought all the tidying and cleaning expected a bit over the top thus no tip for the staff we did there job!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We came to whitebridges. Thirty years ago and it was an awesome time , lodges then belonged to Gerald Brandon from Hastings East Sussex. Looked on site again and lodges look even more fabulous. Would like to know prices

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitebridge
7.9 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
13.9 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
24.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Lodges on Loch Ness
Lodges on Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Foyers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ancarraig Lodges
Ancarraig Lodges
#1 of 1 in Bunloit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
4.3 mi away
Craik Na Dav B & B
Craik Na Dav B & B
#1 of 8 in Invermoriston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildside Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildside Highland Lodges

Property: Wildside Highland Lodges
Address: Whitebridge, Whitebridge IV2 6UN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Whitebridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Whitebridge
Hotel Class:4 star — Wildside Highland Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildside is a small private holiday park of 16 self catering Lodges and log cabins set along a wooded bank of the River Fechlin that flows into Loch Ness at Foyers on the quiet and beautiful South side of Loch Ness, a scenic gem in the Scottish Highlands. Graded 4 Star Excellent quality, by Visit Scotland. Located in the hamlet of Whitebridge, 9 miles from Fort Augustus and 24 miles from Inverness, the Highland capital, with excellent road, rail and air links. 200 Metres from Wildside Highland Lodges is a country pub serving delicious meals. Information packs in the lodges suggest a variety of places to eat out in the area. Wildside is a great place to escape life, it appeals to those who appreciate a haven of peace and tranquility in a wild and natural setting, rich in wildlife, which is yours to enjoy. Wildside offers a choice of seven categories of lodge accommodating from 1-6 people. The Riverside Lodges are all situated along the river and enjoy private lawns to the riverbank. The small One Bedroom Lodges are ideal for couples, situated in the centre of the grounds and are set well apart in large lawns. Guests can wander on the paths to the water's edge where there is a small beach, popular for barbecues, or a picnic on the riverbank. Our luxury Three Bedroom Log Cabins have open views to the mountains and are situated on the fringe of the holiday park in their own private grounds. All our lodges enjoy magnificent river or mountain views through large picture windows. We make pets welcome 2 per lodge in the riverside lodges and one small breed dog per lodge in the three bed and Hot Tub Lodges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildside Highland Hotel Whitebridge
Wildside Highland Lodges Whitebridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing