We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissapointing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitebridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wildside Highland Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“dissapointing”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The lodge itself was immaculate which isn't surprising as the previous guests likely left it that way for fear of being charged the £50 housekeeping fee.we also left it spotless,as we don't want to be charged either! It seems guests are expected to clean before they leave which is disappointing as I went on holiday to have a break.I didn't cook properly in the lodge either as I didn't want to have to clean too much! We ate out mostly.I can recommend the cafe in foyers,the food was lovely,&the staff friendly..unlike the woman serving in the whitebridge hotel,she wasn't very welcoming & was busy chatting with someone she obviously knew(& swearing in front of my children) we only discovered when we tried to go for dinner after we first arrived that you can only eat there between 12-2 & 6-8.30.this was too late for the kids. Our holiday was still good as we made trips to fort Augustus & inverness which were excellent. We didn't spend too much time around wild side as it simply wasn't as advertised. We expected lovely private lawns leading onto the shore of the river which none of the lodges have. WiFi shouldn't really be advertised either as we had very little/poor access to it.even when we had a signal it doesn't work! The pictures on the website are very flattering! The staff at wild side however do seem very nice,Jakki the manager was lovely,very friendly & said we could contact her anytime only problem with that is that with no phone signal & little or no chance of WiFi working to use whattsapp we couldn't have contacted her at all. Also, I doubt the hot tub was freshly filled for us & I don't think anyone carried out daily checks on it either which as far as I know they should be as they have been everywhere else we've stayed. Overall it's overpriced considering.. it's probably the most expensive lodge we've stayed in with the poorest standards.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cranic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLHINVERNESS, Owner at Wildside Highland Lodges, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
If I can make clear how you have misunderstand the housekeeping charge..... this charge is for people who leave the lodges in a disgusting state, (which people do) meaning they spend a whole week and do not even wash up for a whole week, let alone wipe a kitchen surface. We do not ask you to clean the lodge, but leave it in a clean/tidy manner, which is just courtesy. We have the highest standard of cleanliness, which is down to our excellent housekeeping staff and which is repeated on nearly every review on trip adviisor. The grounds and setting of Wildside are exactly as advertised and people can see this on the wildside film which they can view on our website. We also state on our website homepage that due to our remote location we can not always guarantee a wifi signal, your mobile signal is not at the hands of Wildside and a payphone is available onsite and stated in the information pack left in the lodge. Your comments regarding our hot tubs I find slanderous, The hot tubs are checked, cleaned with newly cleaned filters and fresh water for all our guests and we have health and safety records completed on all hot tubs for every guest which can be seen on request. Please review the pub you visited on their site as they are not part of WIldside.. Please note as your remarks are slanderous and mostly here say that a complaint to trip advisor has been sent and a request to remove this untrue review. It is also confusing as you mark Wildside 4 out of 5 stars on a review you mark as disappointing and a lodge of the poorest standards?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    35
    12
    0
    3
See reviews for
117
188
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Having got married on the Saturday in Edinburgh, we arrived at Wildside on the Monday for what we hoped would be 5 days of pure relaxation with a splash of luxury. We were not disappointed!

On arrival we were greeted at the reception lodge with a happy and helpful welcome and shown to our lodge. Jackie, the manager of the site, then came down to tell us about the lodge, bestow some local knowledge and show us how to work the hot tub. A really lovely, friendly lady..

The lodge itself was exactly as described in the wildside website, in particular the video, we stayed in Red Deer. Highly recommend red deer - unspoilt views, not overlooked and you can watch the birds whilst in the hot tub! Lodge was clean and tidy, a nice welcome package of shortbread and whisky as well as essentials like milk, butter, oil, washing up liquid etc etc.. Log burning fire worked perfectly for the evening, nice BBQ, bed was exceptionally comfy!

Over the four days we went on a cruise on Loch Ness, walked to foyers falls, ate at the local white bridge hotel (venison pasanda was excellent!).

On the whole, 10/10, a perfect honeymoon to relax and recharge the batteries! We didn't want to leave and we will definitely be coming back for a winter experience soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MattLak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLHINVERNESS, Manager at Wildside Highland Lodges, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for you lovely review. It really gives us a boost when reading reviews on what a lovely holiday you had. It makes all the hard work worth while.

Thank you again

Jakki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a week in June to celebrate his birthday. When we arrived we got shown to the lodge and, more importantly, how to use the hot tub! The lodge was a good size for the 2 of us and really clean and tidy. The staff were really Friendly and helpful. We walked to the falls of foyers which is a nice walk to do. I only made it to the first viewing point but it was worth it. The rib boat over Loch Ness is a must. Overall a brilliant stay and would definitely recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

arrived back home yesterday after spending a week at Wildside lodges. This was our third visit , and second time at otter lodge. A fantastic lodge overlooking the river, so peaceful and private. The hot tub brilliant, the lodge spotless,everything you need for a selfcatering holiday was there in the lodge. The staff very friendly, and there if you needed them ,otherwise you were left to enjoy your holiday and the lodge. We will definately be going back to Otter Lodge next year. Thanks from the Cunninghams.

Room Tip: If you want Otter Lodge book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limerick
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

All i can say is WOW. beautiful Lodge as you see in the opening picture. We traveled far to get there by the time i returned home i had completed 2700 kms. On arrival it was such a treat for us to see the house, everything you could want to have. It is the ideal place for a quite break. it is also ideal as a base. Though it is about 15 minutes to Port Augustus for supplies.

On arrival Sarah came down to us to fill us in on everything and to check to see were we all ok.
We did have problems getting phones connected to wifi and she got us sorted. This was not to last as it was only there for a few days and was gone then for the rest of the week. there is no phone cover either. It was like been back years ago with no phones etc. Nothing wrong with that either

The only thing i had about the house is the bathroom is downstairs. My girls stayed up stairs and i was in the room with ensuite downstairs. When some one was needing to use downstairs toilet at night they would wake me up going down the stairs.

I had four girls and to be honest there is nothing on the grounds for teens and the younger girls played on the play ground. but this was not the end of the world. The teens are into photography and it was a great place to take pictures. We also knew in advance they had a wii so my girls brought their guitars for the wii and we had family bonding in the evenings and entertainment using the wii

We had no use for the stove as we had great weather. It was lovely to sit out side and have the peace around you. I have to say the birds a hungry things. They had all the bird feed gone in 24 hrs :)
This is the place to go for peace. This is not an activity site. Great place to allow the body to unwind. With the staff, the cleanliness and overall comfort i would say a big yes to the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clevercat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Arrived at the Wildside Lodge complex to be told by the very friendly staff that our lodge was ready and just to go into, within 5 minutes Jackie the site manager arrived greeting us with a warm friendly smile. Although the lodge was looking quit old on the outside it had be refurbished to a high standard on the inside, It was in a very clean and tidy state which was good to see. The only down side to the lodge is that it doesn't have a bath or its own washing machine or dryer which would have been handy due to having a small child, but the site does offer a laundry service at a cost of £5 per wash and dry however when we put our clothes in for the service they came back a size smaller than when they went it!!

There is plenty of wildlife on the site and the site it self is kept to a very high standard. As we have a 2 year old we found that Wildside had very little to offer for small children however there are plenty of walks and there is a small river next to the site for a spot of fishing.

However none of these minor issues stopped us from having a great time at the Wildcat lodge.

Some of the places visited:

Inverness
Highland Wildlife Park
Foyers Falls
Fort Augustus
Fort William

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLHINVERNESS, Manager at Wildside Highland Lodges, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Wildside.

I am very sorry to read that your clothes came back smaller. I have instructed the Laundry to only dry guests clothes on a very low temperature so that this will not happen again.

If you decide to stay with us again. I will do my best to make this up to you.

Jakki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Wildside Highland Loges is a very quiet and peaceful location, i would say in my opinion that it’s a much better location for couples and people who like to walk through nature, its ok for families, but there’s really nothing here for young children, which for me is an extremely positive thing, nothing worse than screaming children.

Unlike some of the other reviews i have done, i really don’t have many negative points to raise about this site, so i think i will get the negative points out of the way first. The Wifi from nearly any end of the park was almost non-existent and regularly dropped out, the staff did try by putting a Wi-Fi extender into our Cabin but it hardly made any difference. You can’t get 3G or 4G around the site and the only way to get a phone signal is by walking out onto the main road and you will be lucky to get any more than 1 bar of signal. Your nearest shop is a 20 minute drive to Fort Augustus or 45 minutes to Inverness, you really are out in the Wild, and its mostly single track road either way until you get to the A9 but there are plenty of passing places, as far as negative points go, that’s really it.

We came in April as 3 couples, staying in 3 different lodges. Couple 1 (me and the wife) stayed in the rather large Dalwhinnie lodge. Couple 2 stayed in the Tomatin and couple three in the Glenmorangie.

The Glemorangie lodges are at the start of the park, next to reception, the windows at the front go along the whole front of the lodge from the double bedroom into the living room, so you get a lot of light, just remember at night to draw both sets of curtains especially if you are someone who tends not to wear clothes first thing in the morning. The hot tub isn’t really secluded enough in the daytime but its fine at night. The bedroom was massive, very nice bathroom with shower (no Bath) and plenty of kitchen space with all the kitchen equipment you need too. The lodge was extremely clean and of course very romantic with the log burner. This cabin is worth the money. My only negative about this lodge was the view as you have most cars from the other lodges parked next to you and your the furthest away from the river, however going back to the Wi-Fi, as you are right next to reception, you could get not too bad a signal at times.

The Tomatin in my opinion was the best lodge to stay in as the view was spectacular, you had the view of the hills and you are right on the river. The hot tub was very secluded and facing the river also and as the person in this lodge said: " i can turn the TV round and watch the football whilst sat in the hot tub and enjoy my beer whilst also enjoying the scenery". It really has the perfect setting. Inside this lodge appears smaller to the Glenmorangie, the double bedroom was smaller but the bathroom was about the same. The living room space was smaller again but cosy. The kitchen space was also not as big but it still has everything you need. All round, this was actually the best lodge of the three, mainly because of the view.

The Dalwhinnie has what my wife calls "The WOW Factor". The lodge is massive. We decided to pay the extra for this lodge as it was the only one big enough to have 6 people round the dinner table for breakfast and evening meals. The Dalwhinnie also is on the other side of the park with lovely views of the hills but no view of the river. The living space was incredible, very open with a log fire in the middle; the sofa seating was enough for each couple to "cosy up" on. The downstairs bedroom with queen size bed was where we slept, it was a modest size room with an ensuite that had an overhead shower and bath with toilet and sink, it also has plenty of drawers and wardrobe space. The Kitchen was also big enough. There was also another entrance to the lodge with a porch area with freezer and washing tumble dryer and great place to leave your cases. Then another bathroom with whirlpool bath and separate shower but we never used it. Upstairs which we never used, had 2 more rooms. Upstairs room one had a lovely view of the hills and a nice double sized bed. Upstairs room 2 had 4 single beds which were very spaced out as the room again was of a good size. We loved this cabin and wanted to trade it for our house. The only negative was No Hot Tub, but we knew this when we booked it, the sacrifice you make so everyone can eat together.

On the day we arrived, the staff were very friendly but we never seen them again after that, although they were easy to get hold of if you needed them. The pub just a short walk away did lovely food. It was a very quiet Pub but the service was fantastic and for such a quiet place, the menu was actually quite varied and they had my favourite beer on tap "San Miguel". The prices were also very reasonable.

Overall this was a great holiday, with some really lovely people. I hope you enjoy your time there too.

Room Tip: The Best View is the Tomatin lodges
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitebridge
7.9 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
13.9 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
24.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Lodges on Loch Ness
Lodges on Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Foyers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ancarraig Lodges
Ancarraig Lodges
#1 of 1 in Bunloit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
4.3 mi away
Craik Na Dav B & B
Craik Na Dav B & B
#1 of 8 in Invermoriston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildside Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildside Highland Lodges

Property: Wildside Highland Lodges
Address: Whitebridge, Whitebridge IV2 6UN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Whitebridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Whitebridge
Hotel Class:4 star — Wildside Highland Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildside is a small private holiday park of 16 self catering Lodges and log cabins set along a wooded bank of the River Fechlin that flows into Loch Ness at Foyers on the quiet and beautiful South side of Loch Ness, a scenic gem in the Scottish Highlands. Graded 4 Star Excellent quality, by Visit Scotland. Located in the hamlet of Whitebridge, 9 miles from Fort Augustus and 24 miles from Inverness, the Highland capital, with excellent road, rail and air links. 200 Metres from Wildside Highland Lodges is a country pub serving delicious meals. Information packs in the lodges suggest a variety of places to eat out in the area. Wildside is a great place to escape life, it appeals to those who appreciate a haven of peace and tranquility in a wild and natural setting, rich in wildlife, which is yours to enjoy. Wildside offers a choice of seven categories of lodge accommodating from 1-6 people. The Riverside Lodges are all situated along the river and enjoy private lawns to the riverbank. The small One Bedroom Lodges are ideal for couples, situated in the centre of the grounds and are set well apart in large lawns. Guests can wander on the paths to the water's edge where there is a small beach, popular for barbecues, or a picnic on the riverbank. Our luxury Three Bedroom Log Cabins have open views to the mountains and are situated on the fringe of the holiday park in their own private grounds. All our lodges enjoy magnificent river or mountain views through large picture windows. We make pets welcome 2 per lodge in the riverside lodges and one small breed dog per lodge in the three bed and Hot Tub Lodges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildside Highland Hotel Whitebridge
Wildside Highland Lodges Whitebridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing