We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning scenery, wonderful staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitebridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wildside Highland Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed in Argus lodge. It was fabulously clean and really beautiful. Staff on site were great too. I've given it only four stars though because of the following: We found the bed to be highly uncomfortable - the mattress seemed very tired with little support and much "roll together-ness"! Insufficient outdoor furniture for 3 (only one two-seater bench) and this had seen much better days. Other furniture was great. Hot-tub was fabulous although we found it to be covered in yellow scum on our final night, so got out sooner than we had wanted to.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Wildside Highland Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here for a week and absolutely loved it. Lodge was stunning and exceptionally clean with everything you would need. Absolutely loved watching the wildlife through the large window or even better from the hot tub! Staff very friendly and helpful. Would love to come back. Thanks a million.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Frances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just arrived back from a weeks stay. Very quiet, peaceful and relaxing. Hot tub amazing as you took in the stunning scenery. Only reason I am not providing a 5 star is that the sofas were very uncomfortable, strange design as very low down and the BBQ although functional was part broken. All easily doable. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank traveller_NWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLHINVERNESS, Manager at Wildside Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your review.
I am sorry that the sofa didn't suit you. If you wish to book again give me a call and I will make sure you get a lodge with a higher sofa.

The BBQ was fixed as soon as the loose wheel was reported.

Thanks again

Jakki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just back from 7 days at 'Wildside' and cannot fault it for anything. We went for a quiet, peaceful holiday and that was EXACTLY what we got. Hot tub every day watching the birds, bats and the hare that 'visited'. The staff couldn't do enough to make us welcome. Jakki, Gareth & Lisa were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. As the lodges are out in the country in a 'hilly' setting we knew we wouldn't have a cellphone signal so it wasn't a problem and although the wi-fi was intermittent we weren't bothered. (Who goes for a quiet holiday to text or browse the internet????) if needed there is a public telephone in the laundry or you can call from the Whitebridge hotel just 200 yards away. Regarding other reviews about a £50 housekeeping charge, your lodge is clean and tidy when you arrive so why not charge someone "if" they leave it like a tip. We loved our time so much that 2 days later we booked up again for the same lodge next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Russell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLHINVERNESS, Manager at Wildside Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay with us here at Wildside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 3 night stay (too short!). Lodges immaculate, beautiful setting and super friendly staff who all loved our dog Niko as much as he loved the stay:-) We explored Foyer falls, Fort Augustus, Loch Ness boat trip and Drumnadrochit. Went to Urquhart Castle but unfortunately no dogs allowed so admired from afar. Will definitely be back to Wildside!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank SRN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLHINVERNESS, Manager at Wildside Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you so much for your Lovely review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Just give me a call if you wish to book again and I will make sure you get a lodge that suits your requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from this lodge I've paid less for more as the cabin was on the small side but ok. We had cold showers as the lodge we were in hasn't had it's boiler replaced yet so had to wait for someone to fix it each day before we showered also we had unwanted company in the hot tub flys surrounding my son's face then they started landing in the hot tub. We choose this lodge as I enjoy relaxing in the hot tub and didn't mind spending more on a lodge with a hot tub but was let down. The location of the lodge was beautiful and it was sunny while we were there most of our time wasn't spent in the lodge would stay somewhere else next time though.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
10  Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLHINVERNESS, Manager at Wildside Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

I am very surprised to read your review.The boiler was fixed the morning you told us it wasn't working.

If the weather is humid we do get a few fly's in the Highlands of Scotland. I can only apologize for the fly's around your hot tub.

We do give a very accurate description of each type of lodge on our web site and on the video. You can see what you are paying for before you book.

I am extremely disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The lodge itself was immaculate which isn't surprising as the previous guests likely left it that way for fear of being charged the £50 housekeeping fee.we also left it spotless,as we don't want to be charged either! It seems guests are expected to clean before they leave which is disappointing as I went on holiday to have a break.I didn't cook properly in the lodge either as I didn't want to have to clean too much! We ate out mostly.I can recommend the cafe in foyers,the food was lovely,&the staff friendly..unlike the woman serving in the whitebridge hotel,she wasn't very welcoming & was busy chatting with someone she obviously knew(& swearing in front of my children) we only discovered when we tried to go for dinner after we first arrived that you can only eat there between 12-2 & 6-8.30.this was too late for the kids. Our holiday was still good as we made trips to fort Augustus & inverness which were excellent. We didn't spend too much time around wild side as it simply wasn't as advertised. We expected lovely private lawns leading onto the shore of the river which none of the lodges have. WiFi shouldn't really be advertised either as we had very little/poor access to it.even when we had a signal it doesn't work! The pictures on the website are very flattering! The staff at wild side however do seem very nice,Jakki the manager was lovely,very friendly & said we could contact her anytime only problem with that is that with no phone signal & little or no chance of WiFi working to use whattsapp we couldn't have contacted her at all. Also, I doubt the hot tub was freshly filled for us & I don't think anyone carried out daily checks on it either which as far as I know they should be as they have been everywhere else we've stayed. Overall it's overpriced considering.. it's probably the most expensive lodge we've stayed in with the poorest standards.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank cranic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLHINVERNESS, Owner at Wildside Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

If I can make clear how you have misunderstand the housekeeping charge..... this charge is for people who leave the lodges in a disgusting state, (which people do) meaning they spend a whole week and do not even wash up for a whole week, let alone wipe a kitchen surface. We do not ask you to clean the lodge, but leave it in a clean/tidy manner, which is just courtesy. We have the highest standard of cleanliness, which is down to our excellent housekeeping staff and which is repeated on nearly every review on trip adviisor. The grounds and setting of Wildside are exactly as advertised and people can see this on the wildside film which they can view on our website. We also state on our website homepage that due to our remote location we can not always guarantee a wifi signal, your mobile signal is not at the hands of Wildside and a payphone is available onsite and stated in the information pack left in the lodge. Your comments regarding our hot tubs I find slanderous, The hot tubs are checked, cleaned with newly cleaned filters and fresh water for all our guests and we have health and safety records completed on all hot tubs for every guest which can be seen on request. Please review the pub you visited on their site as they are not part of WIldside.. Please note as your remarks are slanderous and mostly here say that a complaint to trip advisor has been sent and a request to remove this untrue review. It is also confusing as you mark Wildside 4 out of 5 stars on a review you mark as disappointing and a lodge of the poorest standards?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitebridge
7.9 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,221 reviews
13.9 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
727 reviews
9.3 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Ancarraig Lodges
Ancarraig Lodges
#1 of 1 in Bunloit
185 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Craigdarroch Inn
The Craigdarroch Inn
#1 of 5 in Foyers
365 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lodges on Loch Ness
Lodges on Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Foyers
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildside Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildside Highland Lodges

Address: Whitebridge, Whitebridge IV2 6UN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Whitebridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Whitebridge
Hotel Class:4 star — Wildside Highland Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildside is a small private holiday park of 16 self catering Lodges and log cabins set along a wooded bank of the River Fechlin that flows into Loch Ness at Foyers on the quiet and beautiful South side of Loch Ness, a scenic gem in the Scottish Highlands. Graded 4 Star Excellent quality, by Visit Scotland. Located in the hamlet of Whitebridge, 9 miles from Fort Augustus and 24 miles from Inverness, the Highland capital, with excellent road, rail and air links. 200 Metres from Wildside Highland Lodges is a country pub serving delicious meals. Information packs in the lodges suggest a variety of places to eat out in the area. Wildside is a great place to escape life, it appeals to those who appreciate a haven of peace and tranquility in a wild and natural setting, rich in wildlife, which is yours to enjoy. Wildside offers a choice of seven categories of lodge accommodating from 1-6 people. The Riverside Lodges are all situated along the river and enjoy private lawns to the riverbank. The small One Bedroom Lodges are ideal for couples, situated in the centre of the grounds and are set well apart in large lawns. Guests can wander on the paths to the water's edge where there is a small beach, popular for barbecues, or a picnic on the riverbank. Our luxury Three Bedroom Log Cabins have open views to the mountains and are situated on the fringe of the holiday park in their own private grounds. All our lodges enjoy magnificent river or mountain views through large picture windows. We make pets welcome 2 per lodge in the riverside lodges and one small breed dog per lodge in the three bed and Hot Tub Lodges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildside Highland Hotel Whitebridge
Wildside Highland Lodges Whitebridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing