We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit excellent food and friendly staff”
Review of Whitebridge Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitebridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whitebridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitebridge
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit excellent food and friendly staff”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Staff could not have been more accommodating, having been turned away from the Dores Inn (too busy what a laugh restaurant was empty) found this great pub, had to wait for a table for about 20mins but staff could not have been more helpful. Food was fantastic, went back later in the week and again same excellent service and food.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derekscaife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    39
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
52
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Staff couldn't have been more welcoming or friendly. Food was excellent and a warming atmosphere awaits you, children are made to feel welcome.This serves good heart warming pub food you couldn't ask for anything better with excellent value for money was worth the drive out of Fort Augustus.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Beautiful location in the wilderness. Friendly staff welcomes you in a dusty entrance. Long-dead deers' heads stare at you from the walls. Rooms are in bad need of refurbishing. Our bathroom was a narrow cell with unusable shower, the sink was in the bedroom. Cheap bar food in the restaurant (for your own sake, keep off their "risotto”!). Average microwave breakfast. Perfect set for a thriller.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blasius H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitebridgeHotel, Owner at Whitebridge Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
A harsh review from a friendly family who stayed with us for two nights and gave us no indication at all that they were unhappy. I appreciate the positive comments about our beautiful location, friendly staff, traditional highland deer trophies, and being a perfect set for a thriller!
Our popular full Scottish breakfast is freshly cooked to order and the only part that goes near a microwave is the baked beans. Our toaster makes a bell noise when it is finished and this is probably what you heard when your freshly made toast, i.e. the only breakfast you ever ordered, was ready.
I dispute the fact that the shower was unusable and being here for two nights you could easily have asked us how it works.
With regard to "cheap bar food" , please look at all the previous reviews.
Whitebridge Hotel is a characterful Victorian building but I respect the fact that some prefer a more bland experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This is a fab little pub. We discovered it because we were staying at the nearby wildside lodges (brilliant value and location). We had a great meal there and a fab drink of beer> Loved that in middle of nowhere is a pub full of all nationalities being well looked after with great highland hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dobehave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

stayed for a week to tour the area,food was excellent and freshly prepared with local produce. room was comfortable and large enough for our german shepherd. staff were very friendly and well trained. very good hotel if you want peace and quiet.have used for many years without complaint and can strongly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highlander210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We dropped into the Whitebridge Hotel unannounced for two nights. I remember the bar from 25 years ago and it hasn't changed at all, thankfully; it's simple and real and full of locals. This is a lovely old place, a bit of faded grandeur in the middle of nowhere off General Wade's old road. David and Sarah are absolutely delightful, kind, warm and friendly. Our room was very large (all the rooms I imagine would have wonderful views) with a big bathroom.The full breakfast was lovely and served in the restaurant. We ate in the bar in the evening; the food is home cooked and sourced locally and the venison pie and baked trout were excellent. Another local treasure is the Waterfall Cafe at Foyers (and the falls of course); you can walk there though the Dell Estate (ask for directions). The area is perfect for walking and as a base to see the Highlands. If you want slate plates, a black bathroom, 10 cushions on your bed and a bowl of pebbles to contend with, pay twice as much and stay elsewhere. Long may the Whitebridge stay the same. We love it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conyngham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

we called in for a meal,food very nice.very warm helpful staff.the pub is very cosy and informal.also very dog friendly!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitebridge
7.8 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,183 reviews
7.3 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
582 reviews
9.3 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
376 reviews
9.4 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
400 reviews
12.0 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitebridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitebridge Hotel

Property: Whitebridge Hotel
Address: Whitebridge | Stratherrick, Near Inverness, Whitebridge IV2 6UN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Whitebridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitebridge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Whitebridge Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing