We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“genuine find - memorable stay”
Review of Whitebridge Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitebridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whitebridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitebridge
Certificate of Excellence
Benbecula Island, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“genuine find - memorable stay”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel has no shiny leather sofas and the beds are covered with very practical (and stylish) plaid fleece fitted bedspreads without any scatter cushions. It has patterned carpets and flocked wallpaper in the hall.If you saw a photograph of any of the rooms you would instantly recognise the Whitebridge Hotel, not some chain or newly refurbished establishment. If this puts you off don't go. It has its own calm retro style and integrity and a lovely wee bar that serves good food. Nice people too, and what a location! Lots of walks and when we were there (early June) not a midge in sight. (The previous night in Balmacara and we were in danger of being eaten alive). I bet it gets a lot of regulars, and I hope that that is what we will become.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cateun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    39
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
52
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

we stopped here en route home from Orkney a couple of years ago, and just liked the look of it. We found a very warm welcome, a loch good for fishing a couple of miles away, and great food and beer. We now try and plan journeys to allow us to stay here because we like it so much!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ModernPeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steeton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Adjacent to our stay at Wildside Lodges.
Super friendly staff ,great drinks and inexpensive ,but the best is the good food on offer. It is hot, good ,served quickly ,with variety and great value.
We ate there twice in four nights.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank bizzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Had a great time in here last weekend.

We also stayed at the Wildside lodges nearby, easily within walking distance. The bar staff were great fun and very friendly and the food was excellent.

We've been here a few times over the years and my only complaint can be the lack of any investment/improvement. The gents toilets are possibly THE worst I have ever had the unfortunate experience to enter. Had I seen them before I ordered the food, they probably would have put me off!

I've rated this 4 star purely on the food and the excellent bar staff - both are a credit to the place! However I were a little more sensitive, the gents could have cost them more than 1 star!

Come on Whitebridge Hotel, just wipe away the cobwebs and dead flies and splash a bit of paint around at least. And a heater, rather than two open windows forming a wind tunnel might be nice!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at the wildside lodges a 2 minute walk from the hotel/pub after a 7 hour drive we arrived on Monday 28th oct around 5.45 .. we had read in the lodge guest book about the pub so left our bags and walked up hoping for a warm scotish welcome and that's what we found ! .. log fire blazing and a mix of locals and other tourists .. food served 6 - 8.30 we had starters - calamari & pate and mains steak and chicken strog - couple of glasses of wine / larger / vodka all for £50 - the pub although dated was a classic scotish place anyone moaning about the décor ignore them ! it was clean good bar - cheap and the food was gorgeous ! we stayed at the lodge all week for my birthday and ended up eating and drinking at the pub 4 times ! the owner dave waited tables with a smile and sarah cooked the meals and made the effort to come and say hello and check we are ok .. its an oldy world type place if you want a wetherspoons or Hilton type your not going to find it in a seclueded part of Scotland ! .. I hope the pub stays as it is as its a gem and the true heart of whitebridge !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisytot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stopped off for lunch when passing by.
Great service and fine food. My son had "child pie" which he thought was hilarious. Was actually small home made stake pie. Great to see place catering well for children. My other son had beans on toast which is a favourite and you don't see very often. So 2 adults plus 2 kids and drinks was £25.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butchloggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Booked hotel after reading good reviews. Arrived in the afternoon, thought straight away, even from the outside, this hotel needs some TLC. Check in was quick and very friendly. The bedroom was a throw back in time,it had a large bed but a very dated bathroom that required a lot of work, although sheets were clean and if you ignored a few cobwebs it was generally Ok. Went down to the bar on the evening, a good mix of tourists and Locals, had a very good meal but the state of the furnishings wad dire. We enjoyed the evening but you have to be pretty open minded. Breakfast was very good and in a very pleasant room. Overall staff were lovely as were the owners.The food was very good but the place does need to be refurbished. Cannot understand why people were rating this so high, it must be the food and the welcome by staff and owners.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippers64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitebridge
7.8 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,183 reviews
7.3 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
582 reviews
9.3 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
376 reviews
9.4 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
400 reviews
12.0 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitebridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitebridge Hotel

Property: Whitebridge Hotel
Address: Whitebridge | Stratherrick, Near Inverness, Whitebridge IV2 6UN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Whitebridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitebridge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Whitebridge Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing