We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love the Whitebridge”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Whitebridge Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitebridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whitebridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitebridge
Certificate of Excellence
Highlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We love the Whitebridge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2009

We are fairly local and sometimes just go to the Whitebridge for a night away. The owners are very friendly and always give us a great welcome. The bar is one of the main attractions for us - real ale that is always in good condition and great food -especially the curries. Locals mix with tourists and give a very "Highland" atmosphere to the Whitebridge that you don't get at more upmarket hotels. We have always found the hotel clean and the beds are very comfortable. The hotel is very good value for money.

  • Liked — friendliness, food and real ale
  • Disliked — having to go back to work
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hallberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    37
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
49
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
manchester
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2008

As a seasoned traveller who has worked all around Scotland and the World, I found this hotel a pleasant place to stay during my recent 2 week project in Scotland.

The owners were extremely helpful and despite the fact that their kitchen closed at 20:00 and some of my working days were finishing at 22:30, they always provided a meal on for me on my return.

The rooms were clean, albeit a touch outdated, the food was good with plenty of choice and the staff and owners, very pleasant.

My only complaint, no biscuits in the rooms.

  • Liked — Internet access and food
  • Disliked — no mobile phone access
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kotapanjang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2008

I am amazed what people have written about this hotel as I dont believe for one second this place got as dirty it is now within a couple of weeks. I grant it that the owners are really friendly and nice, and the location is fabulous but the place is outdated and absolutely filthy.

We were greeted by hundred of dead flies in the reception area and the general odour of the place hit you as you entered the hotel which was rather unpleasant. The bar had dirty white wet towels under the radiators that obviously had been leaking and looked like they had been there for some time. There were more dead flies on the window sills plus cobwebs. The tables were sticky tables and the glasses were dirty. The room was outdated and I couldnt bear to look any further.
We booked over a year ago and were so looking forward to our stay that disappointing is an understatement. We check in and sadly walked out after 10 minutes and stayed elsewhere. I accept places are outdated but dirt is unacceptable.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Outdated and dirty
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Littlemurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2008

Found this lovely wee place whilst looking for B&B accommodation around Loch Ness. It has a beautiful setting amongst heather and mountain with a family of long haired goats in the next field. Plenty of car parking. On arrival the greeting was very friendly and chatty. Shown to our family room which was immaculate (including the bathroom). Great views! Ate in the hotel bar which had a wide selection of food for all tastes including some rather hot looking curries! Slept like a log in a really comfy bed. The room also had thick curtains to keep out the summer light. Breakfast was cereal, juice, tea or coffee and full Scottish (incl haggis) and was very tasty. My wife made a request for porridge which was no trouble to the excellent friendly staff. 10 out of 10 Whitebridge Hotel!

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank elricslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2007

We stayed at the Whitebridge Hotel for 5 nights and had a wonderful time. We received a warm and friendly welcome from the owners Sarah and David on arrival. Our room was very clean and comfortable with fabulous views over the mountains. At night the only sound to be heard was the nearby river.

The hotel has a main dining room and comfortable lounge but we spent most our time in the warm bar area in the evenings. This was ideal for us after spending a day out walking, it was great just to be able to relax and unwind with a drink - talking of which the hotel has just been recommended in the Good Beer Guide for 2008 for its beer. With the Rugby world cup on and the matches shown on the TV screen in the bar there was a good friendly atmosphere with the locals who would come into the bar.

The hotel is located in a very tranquil and peaceful area. The only places that could be seen were a few holiday lodges. Although the hotel is not actually by Loch Ness, Foyers waterfall is nearby and within a reasonable walk from the hotel. The falls are definitely worth a visit. We were hoping to see some of the red squirrels that live in the woods. There is café aptly named Red Squirrel, the owner was not exactly the most welcoming but did tell us the best chance of seeing the squirrels was to get there early in the morning. True to his word we did get there early, before breakfast and there they were. We were lucky enough to get very close to them.

The hotel offers a range of excellent home cooked food. In the mornings the cooked breakfast, which included the option of cooked haggis, was great and more than enough to keep us fuelled for the day and was especially needed on the day we climbed Ben Nevis. We were provided with a packed lunch on this day, which was really appreciated. In the evenings there was a choice of meals, which included venison pie and chicken stuffed with haggis (what else would you expect) and served with a wonderful whisky sauce. We have to mention the home cooked pizzas too, my wife enjoys a pizza on holiday and she said the pizza she had was one of the best.

We just loved the hotel, the location of the hotel and the level of service that was provided. The hotel is ideally easy reach of not only of Loch Ness, but nearby Fort Augustus, Fort William and Inverness and all surrounded by wonderful scenery. We enjoyed the challenge of climbing Ben Nevis, which is a hard days walk. We were really fortunate that the weather was clear and made the effort worth even more worthwhile.

Sarah and David go out of the way to make you feel most welcome. We would definitely recommend staying at this hotel and will definitely return to enjoy more of the good food and wonderful highland scenery. If you go then don’t forget to say hello to their two posh Jacob sheep, Gladys and Tania!

  • Liked — Food, drink, freindly service and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giantcards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitebridge
7.8 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
7.3 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
4.3 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
12.0 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
13.8 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitebridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitebridge Hotel

Property: Whitebridge Hotel
Address: Whitebridge IV2 6UN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Whitebridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitebridge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Whitebridge Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing