We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight at superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Achiltibuie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed two nights, one of them in Mathews cottage: a dream! Absoluteley great. We must come again. The dinner, a great menue, was perfect. The staff was warmhearted and friendly, a pleasure to be here! Very nice other rooms like the lounge with a real burning openfire (not an electric one), the bar, where we had a good dinner the second evening. And all this far away from traffic and noise.

Room Tip: Mathews cottage is a dream!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gunther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
There are newer reviews for The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just stayed at the Summer Isles Hotel for two nights. It is quite a distance from Ullapool but well worth the trip. The staff were most attentive from arrival to departure. If possible it is nicer staying in a room in the hotel and not in one of the additional rooms outside. We switched and paid only £20 extra for the deluxe room on the first floor which had a fantastic view and much more space. We had the tasting menu both nights. The food was good and not too much of it. Our only complaints were the plates were not hot so the food was not hot and the porridge was too runny! Other than that, we had a fantastic stay. Lots of fantastic walking and hiking for all ages. We were lucky and had wall to walk sunshine and no midges. We would go there again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Molly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed two nights here. Matthew cottage has three bedrooms, a kitchen with fridge-freezer, oven, dishwasher and microwave.

Lovely cottage just a few metres behind the Summer Isles Hotel, up on a hill. Liked the views. Peaceful. It's great to be given a huge amount of skimmed milk as requested.

Extremely wonderful to have a sauna as well as a spa bath.

It was raining most of the first day but the owner of the cottage left us with indoor board games when the weather was not favourable. When this happens, the views disappeared completely.

Make sure you have enough food if you are not eating at the restaurant, as there are no other grocery shops opened on a Sunday. Although we had a cottage, we chose to dine at the hotel.

Staff looked immaculate in their clean uniform. Pre-dinner drinks and canapés were served in the Drawing Room. We chose the tasting menu for dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aster_palms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Our third visit over the past 10 years or so. There’s something special about this place which is more than the sum of its parts – outstanding views, remoteness (oh is it remote!), warmth not only heat-wise but from the staff and very friendly locals, a dash of eccentricity, beautiful dinner, amazing drives to the far north through almost “alien” country until you find something as eccentric as a memorial to John Lennon (of The Beatles, who loved coming to this part of the world with his wife Yoko and who can blame him?) – it’s indefinable. We’ve stayed before in Matthew’s Cottage, which has everything you could want including unsurpassable views particularly during early evening, and the Log Cabin which is arguably even more delightful later on. Both have TVs, but I’ve no idea how good reception is – as if we’ve come all this way to watch TV!

The weather can be variable – on our last visit I noticed in the morning that the wind was travelling in one direction at ground level but the clouds were travelling in the opposite direction – in other words, a cyclone! And so it proved to be – torrential! But that’s all part of the sum of the parts. The weather makes up for it later.

It’s a lovely local area too. There’s a pub along the (only!) road which is probably the most welcoming and charismatic you’ll find anywhere, drop dead gorgeous in early evening and serving up delicious fish n chips and real ale if you’ve mistimed things and got led astray before 7.30pm! It’s easier than you might think to do this. You can’t zip along these roads at 70mph.

It’s amazing how the hotelier and chef do it, in such a remote location. It’s not like you can pop out for a light bulb if one has gone! Run out of pepper? Tough.

Lovely place.

Room Tip: Definitely pay more for Matthew's Cottage (especially) or the Log Cabin
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Ged S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay in this lovely hotel. If you want somewhere to relax and chill out this is the place to come. We stayed in the annexe which was very comfortable. There was no TV in the room which was not a problem for us but I can understand if some guests are not too happy regarding this especially if they are not told beforehand. We had the taster menu each night which we both enjoyed. This was served in the very welcoming dining room overlooking the water.
The staff were fantastic . They just couldn't do enough for us. A special thank you to Anna. Her lovely smile and chat each day really made our day. Thank you all so much for a great stay. Good luck to all the staff heading of to university. Enjoy your time in Scotland.
It would be great if this hotel was opened over Christmas and New Year. It's exactly the kind of place I would choose over the festive season.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Went for Sunday lunch in the bar with my hubbie. Third time we have been here and always assured of excellent food - we were not disappointed! The welcome was warm and we were given the lunch menu and also the sandwich menu. Hubbie had the seafood platter which was tasty and full of great seafood (langoustines, smoked salmon - hot and cold - oysters, smoked mackerel and more!) while I had soup (potato and spinach) with a sandwich. All served together and with a smile. Thank you also for introducing me to Jeremiah Weed and their glasses - and making Sunday lunch a good event

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank mags h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

But I can't give it five stars because it falls short in a number of other areas. The gardens haven't been looked after in months, overgrown and scruffy, which tends to let the whole hotel down. The wines are overpriced...they must be making margins well in excess of 80%. The staff whilst attentive and exceptionally good, are not wine experts, so shouldn't be tasked with describing the wine. A glass of average Pinot Noir (at £12!!) was described as full bodied, mellow...and red! The organic Chardonnay at £30 was dire. The wine flight narrative we overheard (difficult not to) was so contrived and Basil Fawltylike it was almost funny.

We asked for a Kir Royale as an aperitif and the young girl went away to ask and came back saying they didn't have one. My gin and tonic came with the tonic fully poured so I had no choice as to how much tonic I could add. Not a problem but a tiny detail that can irritate.

But the food. Oh, the food!
Simply brilliant, outstanding, superb, beautifully presented...even better than the Midsummer House in Cambridge which has two Michelin stars. And at £59 a head outstanding value

And the location...simply awesome!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Achiltibuie
9.9 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
391 reviews
13.0 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
198 reviews
15.2 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
631 reviews
24.1 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
337 reviews
19.9 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Main Street | Achiltibuie, Achiltibuie IV26 2YG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Achiltibuie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Achiltibuie
Price Range: £92 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originating in the 19th century as a fishing inn and crofters' bar, the hotel has been developed over the last 4 decades into an oasis of civilisation in one of the most remote and beautiful parts of Britain. Renowned for its fine food and wine, it is a destination for foodies as well as those who enjoy walking, climbing and exploring in exotic landscapes. There are 13 letting units ranging from simple log cabin rooms to a sophisticated cottage with 3 en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Isles Achiltibuie
Hotel Summer Isles
The Summer Isles Hotel And Restaurant Achiltibuie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing