We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best holiday chalets by the Sea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Beag Chalets

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Achiltibuie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Port Beag Chalets
Angus
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best holiday chalets by the Sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

These chalets are five metres from the sea with stunning views to the Summer Isles. Following a warm welcome from the owner you are left to enjoy peace and quiet and the beauty of this stunning part of Scotland. The chalets are cosy and comfortable and have everything you need. The local pub is within walking distance and serves fantastic meals with local seafood. Highly recommend Port Beag chalets for a holiday or short break.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caspod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Manager at Port Beag Chalets, responded to this review, 27 March 2016
Thanks Caroline for taking the time to write a review, we do appreciate it. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at the chalets, and were able to enjoy the fabulous food at Am Fuaran Bar. Best wishes, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely location on a wide expanse of green with the rocky shore and ocean beyond, and Isle Ristol giving a pleasant vista a little farther out.
We were a party of 10 in two of the 6-berth chalets and were very comfortable.
They are well-equipped and the heating was good, furniture and appliances excellent and the beds confortable. Plenty of pots, pans, crockery, utensils etc.
Linda made us welcome and was always available if needed (she lives nearby) but other than supplying us some lightbulbs and helping to work a heater we did not need to bother her.
We felt the price was reasonable. Be aware that in winter you will need to top up the electricity meter to cover the heating but over the 5 days we were there it was less than £3 a day per chalet, and we were toasty warm.
There are plenty of good walks around although in my opinion you do need a car too to get the best out of the area.
Am Fuan bar is roughly a mile south along the coastal track, it's a clean and warm place for a drink although we did not eat there because we felt it a touch expensive, and with Polbain stores (a further mile or so on) now closed, your nearest provisions are the Achiltibuie stores roughly 4 miles away - they also have petrol/diesel. If driving to Altandhu I'd advise bringing provisions with you (we purchased in Inverness) and then just top up locally.
We loved the place and the surrounding countryside. I've been before and am always so pleased to return. Good outdoor gear is needed for winter months.
None of our various mobile phone operators could provise a signal but a short walk uphill got us a tolerable signal from Orange and Vodaphone. Other networks worked elsewhere but for all of them it's an annoyingly patchy picture.
If you need wifi you have to go to the village hall.
We all definitely wish to return and were very happy. Steve Riches, Northampton, UK.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveRichesRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Manager at Port Beag Chalets, responded to this review, 27 March 2016
Thank you Steve for writing a review, it's much appreciated. We now have wi-fi at the Spruce, Birch, Fir and Cedar chalets so connectivity is a bit easier! Hope to welcome you back to Port Beag again, best wishes, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

My partner and I spent four days of our week long honeymoon in the Port Beag Chalets. We had planned on two, but the location was so stunning, Linda and her family were so wonderful, and everything was so perfect that we just had to stay on longer. We went hiking, diving, and kayaking, we had our first bagpipe lesson, we cooked in the chalet's beautiful kitchen and picnicked on the nearby beach.

The chalet was as comfortable as a home (more comfortable than ours!) and as well equipped. The view is gorgeous, and even when the wind blows the house is warm and cozy looking over the ocean. However, probably the best part was Linda's hospitality. We came in to a bottle of champagne left in the refrigerator to celebrate our wedding. Her niece brought us fresh brownies the next day. She organized our activities because we had no phone service, made us maps and gave us tide information and walking advice. Her partner was just as kind and accommodating as she was, and her family was wonderful to sit and have tea with one afternoon.

We would absolutely recommend this amazing place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Manager at Port Beag Chalets, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
It was a pleasure to have you both with us for your honeymoon, and we're glad you enjoyed our chalets and the area so much - you certainly made the most of your four days! Thanks to Alison and Seonaig at Achiltibuie Bagpipe Specialists for fitting in a bagpipe lesson, glad it was a success! Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

First visit to area and we were lucky to chose Port Beag Chalets. Great accommoation with everything you need in excellent condition. The views were simply stunning and with our weather being terrific we had lovely sunsets.
Advice on all local amenities was imparted with great friendliness by Linda who was always available if required to help.
Wonderful are for walking - either mountain or beach. Make sure you take a boat trip around the Summer Islands.
Hope you enjoy seafood as there is lots around - scallops and langoustines were superb.
For an overall relaxing experience get booking!!

Room Tip: All chalets have wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Manager at Port Beag Chalets, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Your kind comments are very much appreciated. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Port Beag and enjoyed so many of the things Achiltibuie has to offer! Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

I have have stayed at Port Beag agood number of times over the last 10 years. I have never failed to return home refreshed and renewed. The drive to Altandhu is beautiful and well worth the overnight drive from London. The walking and wildlife are also great. The chalets have been refitted and the bathroom and kitchens are really well equipped. Linda who runs the chalets is really welcoming and always has time to recommend things to see or do and always ensures rather chalets are welcoming. It,s great to have pub with great food nearby and also lots of space to lie in the grass and watch the stars! Am booked again for 2013 and will be welcoming some friends too to experience this wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Manager at Port Beag Chalets, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
We really appreciate your kind comments, thank you. Achiltibuie is indeed a very special place, and we're very happy that our chalets add to your enjoyment of your holiday. Its good to hear that you go home refreshed, even after such a long drive! Look forward to seeing you again later this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invergarry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

Our family booked and stayed at Port Beag Chalets for the week of 21st to 27th September 2012
as we wanted a base for visiting relatives and friends AND of course to attend my nephews' wedding Our stay at Port Beag was our best EVER chalet accommodation .They are definitely five star . Absolutely everything imagineable Linda has thought of for your comfort and such a welcome ,fresh flowers on the dining table amongst all the other lovely touches too numerous to mention
They are spotlessly clean and warm and of course the views and peacefulness make it the perfect holiday location.Linda and Tricia are the perfect team at Port Beag and I can't wait to be back there again Sent by Isabel Service Invergarry Inverness shire

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Manager at Port Beag Chalets, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thanks so much for your lovely comments - Tricia is the reason the chalets are so well-equipped and clean, she thinks of everything. Many of the touches that you commented on are those Mum did for years so we've learned from the best! Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you're back in Altandhu before long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

Amazing views from these great chalets. FULLY furnished kitchen and open plan lounge.

Large double bedroom , fair size twin and single that we used as a walk in wardrobe for our stay.

Digital TV and plenty of heaters for those cold nights.

5 min drive to shop and 5 min walk to local pub. - just bring a torch if your planning on having a few and want to walk back. You'll also get a great view of the night sky since there is no light pollution. Aurora is also easily spotted from here, however we didn't get to see it.

Very clean and well up kept.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CashMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Manager at Port Beag Chalets, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for such a great review :-) Hope to see you both back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Achiltibuie
0.0 mi away
Summer Isles Hotel
Summer Isles Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achiltibuie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lochinver Holiday Lodges
Lochinver Holiday Lodges
#2 of 5 in Lochinver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tigh Uisdean B&B
Tigh Uisdean B&B
#1 of 2 in Achiltibuie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Acheninver Hostel
Acheninver Hostel
#3 of 3 in Achiltibuie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Port Beag Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Beag Chalets

Property: Port Beag Chalets
Address: Altandhu, Achiltibuie IV26 2YR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Achiltibuie
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Achiltibuie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Beag Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the magnificent North-West Highlands of Scotland, Port Beag Chalets in Altandhu, Achiltibuie, offer recently refurbished well-equipped self-catering accommodation in a stunning location with a warm welcome, overlooking the beautiful Summer Isles on the Coigach peninsula. Perfect for family and friends getting together or for a quiet break to escape, we have four chalets which accommodate up to 6 people, and one chalet which accommodates up to 4. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Port Beag Chalets Achiltibuie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing