We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Gables Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Achiltibuie, Ross and Cromarty, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
discernin...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed 29 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Gables Cottage is warm welcoming and well equiped with comfortable beds and good quality bedding. The views are amazing (maybe cut back the willows?) and we were lucky to have beautiful weather and amazing sunsets. Linda was most welcoming with treats left for us and the table set. I was recommended Gables Cottage by a friend who had stayed previously and was not disappointed. A lovely cottage in a splendid location.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2017
Thanks for your kind review, it was great to have you to stay and I'm glad you enjoyed some good weather! It would be lovely to see you again, all the best, Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guywd
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfy well appointed cottage with fantastic views over the Summer Isles”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We love the Achiltibuie/Polbain area (our second visit) with such amazing scenery. We are outdoors people so spent our time exploring the area. It has everything beaches, walks, fishing ,mountains and a few great local restaurants with local seafood. Or you can cook yourself after buying from the weekly fish van. The cottage is very cosy and well appointed. Beds comfortable, decent bath and separate shower. The kitchen has everything you need and Linda had even left the table made (with proper napkins - that's a first) and a gift of jam. The weather was warm (although lots of rain) and we spent most of our time when we were at the cottage in the conservatory which has stunning views over the Summer Isles. When the weather was nice we used the garden which was also enclosed (meaning our dog could roam around).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
Thanks Guy for your lovely review and for taking the time to write it, I'm glad you liked the cottage and enjoyed the area. It was a real pleasure to have you to stay, and I hope you can come again. All the best, Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay_Young
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Retreat. Noun: a place of refuge, seclusion, or privacy”
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The Gables was everything we hoped for, and more. Much more. We arrived in the dark, to a warm & cosy house, with lights on, fire set, and a lovely welcoming note from Linda. The cottage is beautifully appointed, tastefully furnished; and we found the extra touches (roses, candles...) really contributed to our overall 5* experience. The cottage is set in a secluded garden, in a fine setting, with stunning sea views. We ate both nights in Am Fuaran; and as always received a warm welcome, and enjoyed delicious fresh sea food. We'll be back staying in The Gables for a week in April; and we are looking forward to that already! Thank you, Linda.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
Thank you Kay, for this really lovely review, it was a pleasure to have you both to stay. I really appreciated how immaculate you left the cottage too, and look forward to seeing you again in April. I'm glad the Gables exceeded your expectations, that's nice to hear! All the best, Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyS21
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highland Hideaway”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Gables is a superb cottage, with stunning views across to the Summer Isles. The Owner, Linda, has equipped this cottage so that everything you need is there and more besides. We stayed for a week, but wish we'd stayed at least two, to better explore what the area has to offer. If you want good walking, stunning scenery, great drives, peace and quiet this is for you. You can buy good, local food in the Achiltibuie store, plus petrol at the same price as Ullapool. The Am Furam bar, a short drive from the cottage, is a lovely little pub/restaurant. Our dog loved the wonderful sandy beach at Achnahaird Bay. It really was a holiday to remember.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and the double rainbow after a storm
Liked least: The distance from the Isle of Wight!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
Thank you, Lesley, for writing such a nice review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and would like to have had longer to explore! You've highlighted some of the great things there are in Achiltibuie and the area. It's really nice to hear it was a holiday to remember for you. Hope to welcome you back another time, Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best holiday cottage in Coigach!!”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Gables Cottage is the best holiday house that we have stayed at in the 30 odd years that we have been coming to this area.The kitchen is particularly well equipped and the sitting room and bedrooms are most comfortable.
The views over the sea to the Summer Isles from the sun room and the garden are breathtaking especially when the sun is going down.
We would recommend the Am Fuaran pub,"Salt," the seafood kitchen and the Piping school cafe for eating out and the Achiltibuie Stores for every other need.
We highly recommend Gables Cottage and we are grateful to Linda, the owner, who has thought of everything to make this holiday cottage perfect. We hope to return.
13 to 27 August 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Thank you! That's really lovely to hear, I'm glad you liked the cottage so much, and thank you for leaving it so nice. Much appreciated, and hope to see you again. All the best, Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
760MARTIN...
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Very cosy cottage, well furnished, very clean and quite, scenic and beautifull sea view. Thanks for the welcome of Linda with some delicious shortbreads and jam. On the opposite of the road, we recommand to place a visit at the artcraft shop and its very kind owner. We recommand this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind review - it was a pleasure to meet you and your family and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. I shall pass on your comments to Aileen at the Craft Shop. Hope to see you again at the Gables! All the best, Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoutness
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, perfect location and great host!”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Gables was a proper home from home. Having been recently renovated throughout, the cottage is super stylish, cosy and comfortable - and has the best shower I think I’ve ever found in the Highlands!

The location is perfect - stunning views across the Isles, a feeling of privacy and seclusion , but with the convenience of a good local store just down the road. There was lots to do in the area - boating, walking and sampling great food were our favourites.

Linda was super helpful and friendly, and did everything to make our stay easy and enjoyable.

Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view is stunning, and the house is incredibly cosy and comfortable.
Liked least: Like everything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing