We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sublime Summer Isles”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Gables Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Achiltibuie, Ross and Cromarty, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

charlesbT...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sublime Summer Isles”
Reviewed 3 September 2019 for a stay in August 2019

A very comfortable cottage, generously furnished and equipped. We had a fantastic time despite wet and windy weather. Linda was a wonderful host. We will be back!

Date of stay: August 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Date of stay: September 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Nov 2018
Thanks for your review, I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay! It would be lovely to have you to stay again at the Gables. Thanks again, Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
H1841KJki...
Pencaitland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Getawat”
Reviewed 11 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most amazing 4 nights at the Gables. When we arrived we were blown away by the location. As others mention, the conservatory is perfect for sitting gazing out at the gorgeous views of the Summer Isles..and it’s heated so even when the suns not out it’s lovely and toasty! The house is lovely- super comfy beds and very clean and tidy. This is literally the best dog friendly place we’ve stayed in. Apart from friendly touches like the dog bowls, you wouldn’t know dogs had been there, it’s that tidy!!

Linda had left some delicious home made jam and shortbread and the worlds best Easter Brownies - which were perfect energy replacements on the local walks!

The location is about 10 min walk from Auchiltibuie, Where there is a Shop and a nice hotel for food. For lunches in the piping cafe are great and again very dog friendly.

The cottage has everything you would need in the kitchen, soap, big fluffy towels and great views from all rooms!

Nearby behind the cottage is a lovely walk up Fairie hill, and we really enjoyed Inverkirkcaig waterfalls and the fantastic Stac Pollaidh.

All in All a great holiday! Thanks Linda- we’ll be back!!

Date of stay: April 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2018
Thank you Kim, it was really nice to have you and your family to stay at the Gables, and its lovely to hear that you enjoyed your holiday. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, much appreciated. Thanks also for leaving the Gables so clean - also very much appreciated! Hope to see you all again, Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cquirie
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Parents loved it!”
Reviewed 11 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

My parents had a long weekend here, and absolutely loved it! House was very comfortable and location ideal. Fantastic views from the house! Very kind and helpful hosts - took many extra steps to ensure my parents had a fantastic long weekend - thank you!

Date of stay: April 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2018
Thanks Catriona, it was a pleasure to have your parents stay they were lovely, and ideal guests. Hope to see them at the Gables again soon.All the best, Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
discernin...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed 29 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Gables Cottage is warm welcoming and well equiped with comfortable beds and good quality bedding. The views are amazing (maybe cut back the willows?) and we were lucky to have beautiful weather and amazing sunsets. Linda was most welcoming with treats left for us and the table set. I was recommended Gables Cottage by a friend who had stayed previously and was not disappointed. A lovely cottage in a splendid location.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2017
Thanks for your kind review, it was great to have you to stay and I'm glad you enjoyed some good weather! It would be lovely to see you again, all the best, Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guywd
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfy well appointed cottage with fantastic views over the Summer Isles”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We love the Achiltibuie/Polbain area (our second visit) with such amazing scenery. We are outdoors people so spent our time exploring the area. It has everything beaches, walks, fishing ,mountains and a few great local restaurants with local seafood. Or you can cook yourself after buying from the weekly fish van. The cottage is very cosy and well appointed. Beds comfortable, decent bath and separate shower. The kitchen has everything you need and Linda had even left the table made (with proper napkins - that's a first) and a gift of jam. The weather was warm (although lots of rain) and we spent most of our time when we were at the cottage in the conservatory which has stunning views over the Summer Isles. When the weather was nice we used the garden which was also enclosed (meaning our dog could roam around).

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
Thanks Guy for your lovely review and for taking the time to write it, I'm glad you liked the cottage and enjoyed the area. It was a real pleasure to have you to stay, and I hope you can come again. All the best, Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay_Young
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Retreat. Noun: a place of refuge, seclusion, or privacy”
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The Gables was everything we hoped for, and more. Much more. We arrived in the dark, to a warm & cosy house, with lights on, fire set, and a lovely welcoming note from Linda. The cottage is beautifully appointed, tastefully furnished; and we found the extra touches (roses, candles...) really contributed to our overall 5* experience. The cottage is set in a secluded garden, in a fine setting, with stunning sea views. We ate both nights in Am Fuaran; and as always received a warm welcome, and enjoyed delicious fresh sea food. We'll be back staying in The Gables for a week in April; and we are looking forward to that already! Thank you, Linda.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
Thank you Kay, for this really lovely review, it was a pleasure to have you both to stay. I really appreciated how immaculate you left the cottage too, and look forward to seeing you again in April. I'm glad the Gables exceeded your expectations, that's nice to hear! All the best, Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.