We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very busy, nice staff, great food”
Review of Applecross Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Applecross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Applecross Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Applecross B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013

A very busy restaurant, we were asked if we minded sharing a table which we didn't and ended up sitting with a nice couple. Menu was on a blackboard near the door and had a good choice of locally sourced produce. We went for the langoustines and fish pie. A very nice meal.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dratsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

Well, we happened by the Applecross Inn on a warm sunny afternoon. What a lovely place to find. A warm welcome from pleasant staff. Allowed my two deerhounds to rest on the bar floor. Great ale available and plenty of friendly customers. Food seemed to be very popular also.

Will certainly visit again when in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arrachogaidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This Inn was recommended to us by friends and it didn't disappoint. Only locals can reserve a table so you just turn up and wait and they have a pretty efficient 'flag' system that means we didn't wait long. We also got to enjoy a beer outside whilst admiring the Estonian flag. I had dressed crab and the others had scallops, fish and chips and steak. All of it was expertly cooked with really nice touches such as real tartare sauce for the F and C. It was so delicious we went back the next night and ordered the same all over again.
Our trip was made more interesting by the presence of the Help for Heroes guy and his two cats on leads. I'm guessing he's not a permanent feature but there are plenty of interesing people to chat to anyway. Nice, friendly staff too. We'll certainly be back.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank spagirlsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Eating here is a must. The food is fantastic and the scenery magnificent we came over the pass and enjoyed every minute, despite the fog and rain! When we got to Applecross the sun was out and we enjoyed our lunch outside. Huge fish and chips! Service great. Went back the long way for a spectacular coastal drive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank jjapLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at the campsite, ate here and had some afternoon beer stops outside the pub which must have the best views you can imagine. Would definately recommend the seafood, homemade ice cream, great choice of malt whiskeys and atmosphere! Only critisism was that we felt a little rushed and couldn't stay at our table to have drinks after our meal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minxy2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

As you drive from Loch Carron to Applecross it's hard to believe the scenery never mind arriving in such a remote location and finding a watering hole like the Applecross Inn. I can only echo the comments of all of the visitors who have given it ***** it has the atmosphere, food, views, service, more food, more views and even more food, the menu is excellent even if the portions are a touch large...... Don't drive on through take yourself INN.....!

Stayed: August 2013
Thank LORNA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Inn with my Mum and sister. We had both been before but it was the first time I had stayed. What an amazing place! We came over the Bealach nam Bo in bright sunshine which was a good omen! We stayed in room 6 with 3 single beds and it was very comfortable and pretty. All the rooms have a sea view and you can sit on the bed and look at Rassay and Skye and listen to the water lapping gently.
The weather was great and we spent the afternoon sitting outside with a glass of wine. It is the most tranquil, beautiful place I have ever been. You can just sit and look at the view or if you are feeling energetic you can walk or even take a kayak.
The food is amazing and very reasonably priced. The staff are very friendly and will do everything they can to make your stay great.
Can't wait to go back and will stay longer next time. Thank you, Judy and the team

Room Tip: Room 1 and 2 are quieter but room 7 has a big bath and is very romantic. All the rooms have sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teacherlady0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Applecross
12.6 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
620 reviews
18.5 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
174 reviews
20.6 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
22.5 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
294 reviews
20.0 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applecross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applecross Inn

Address: Shore Street, Applecross IV54 8LR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Applecross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Applecross
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Applecross Hotel Applecross
Applecross Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing