We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of my trip so far”
Review of Applecross Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Applecross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Applecross Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Applecross B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Wow! What wonderful service, food and atmosphere!

We stayed in Applecross for two nights. Since the Inn was fully booked when I inquired a couple of weeks before, the lovely Inn owner Judith emailed me with other accommodation options.

We stayed at a fabulous B&B called Eagle Rock with our lovely host Cath and ate our dinners at the Applecross Inn.

The food at the Inn was sensational. My travel companion and I are both vegetarian so were a little concerned that a predominantly seafood based restaurant might not cut it. Mind you, we were almost converted to meat eating after looking at the incredible local seafood meals.

We chose the vege curry on night 1 and were absolutely blown away. Well and truly the best meal I've had in the UK. Fresh and flavoursome and absolutely HUGE!

We spent all day on Day 2 thinking about the delicious curry we were going to attack again that night. It certainly didn't disappoint.

We ended up staying at the inn all evening as the atmosphere was great, people were friendly, the music was great and the bar staff kept the ales flowing always with a smile.

A wonderful place to visit.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank SammyPlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed a couple of nights with another couple this June. After exciting drive over the pass from Kishorn, Judith came out to the car to greet us. Had a couple of drinks in the garden and later dined in the pub. Residents are always provided with a pre booked table. Wide choice on the menu - perhaps too wide a choice as too many things I could have eaten. Bar and food staff were extremely friendly and made minor changes to our choices without any hassle. The guy who catches the seafood also works there has excellent customer service skills and should be given a pay rise!
Rooms a bit small with no wardrobe but who cares. Breakfast good with local produce.
Well worth a visit but book well ahead, it gets full.

Room Tip: All rooms are overlooking sea and quite small so just take pot luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterhlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Having decided to stay at the Applecross Inn, based on the many excellent reviews on trip advisor, we had expected more. We stayed Mon 23rd & Tue 24th June 2014.

We have given this a 3 rating, based on the trip advisor rating of 3 as average. This is what we would rate the Inn as, nothing wrong with average but definitely not excellent in our view. It did not stand out from the crowd in its accommodation or food.

We ate 1 lunch and 2 dinners (plus breakfasts). The portion sizes shrunk by about 25% on our second dinner, perhaps stocks were running low.

The room we stayed in was fine. Nothing to complain about but nothing to rave about hence the average rating.

The ride over the Applecross Pass was amazing and well worth the trip.

If we were to visit Applecross again would we choose to stay at the Inn again, probably not. We would continue up the coast road towards Shieldaig to open up more choices.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Honesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I had heard of this place through word of mouth and had the great opportunity to try with 7 friends. We booked in advance and was so good we ate here for all three nights from the local caravan sites. The variety of the food on the menu was fantastic, although very busy the service was first class!! We had wide and varied choices at our table and every choice got ten out of ten. I enjoy watching the service given under pressure by the staff and congratulate them how they accomodated every one but have to say we had good weather so all outside tables were utilised too! One young lady waitress (turned out to be the owners niece) was chaffed and challenged by me on my second night to be asked for something for my next nights pudding, not on the menu ( a trifle),not expecting to get it she went off to ask chef and gleefully returned within minutes to say it will be done. Next night,our third and last night I also asked for a prawn cocktail not on the menu and I got it,lovely main meal and finished off with my own wee trifle!! Although the staff were all rushed off their feet they still took the time to ask if we enjoyed, where else do you get such a personal service in this way, a credit to your profession well done and we will all be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shrek6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Beautiful drive. Great food. Good value. Made to feel very welcome. Landed lucky with a pipe band playing outside. What more could you ask for on a sunny day in the west? Well worth the hairpin bends on the Beallach.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

It was a New Year approx 10 years ago the last time we were here. It had a great atmosphere, great food and you were able to get a seat. This time the atmosphere was so different. The place is heaving, you struggle to get a seat and it's practically impossible to get one if you just want a drink. You can't reserve a table for food unless you're in a large party. The food is still very good but it's now a high volume place with a rushed atmosphere which is not what we go to Applecross for. The proprietors are certainly not to blame for the large numbers of people but it's a shame couples can't book a table at anytime.
We found the Potting Shed provides good food and a lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank honestview23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Lucky enough to have had two fabulous suppers here. The shellfish was divine, so fresh, and completely delicious. The langoustines were huge, dripping with garlic butter. We were lucky to get a table as the place was so busy, but, even so, the staff couldn't have done any more for us, and were so jolly! The views are incredibly beautiful, a marvelous place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJandNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Applecross
18.5 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
181 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
632 reviews
20.6 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
160 reviews
22.5 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
299 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applecross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applecross Inn

Address: Shore Street, Applecross IV54 8LR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Applecross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Applecross
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Applecross Hotel Applecross
Applecross Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing