We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ragged Acre
Nearby Hotels
The Torridon(Torridon)
US$610
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$522
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$427
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dunollie Hotel(Broadford)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Broadford Hotel(Broadford)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portree Hotel(Portree)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
85
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

As all the other reviews say, very friendly and comfortable, and excellent breakfast.

There are some downsides. (1) probably about to close. (2) hidden behind a hill so no sea view. (3) quite a way out from Applecross, so you pretty much need to drive for supper.

Room Tip: Only one room, so choose it.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank reluctanttraveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

W have just spent two nights at Ragged Acre where we found Janet to be a welcoming and helpful hostess.Our room was very tastefully decorated and comfortable and the breakfast was both generous and tasty,meaning that lunch was not required! Even if Janet cannot control theweather we would love to return

Room Tip: There is only one room,but if there was a choice we would chose the one we had!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The welcome at Ragged Acre from Janet and Lulu the dog, made my wife and I feel like we had arrived at an old friend's house. Janet has a great empathy with her guests, knowing when to chat and when to allow a little peace and quiet. The cosy croft house has been completely modernised using high quality materials and fittings. The bed is very comfortable and the bedlinen made from natural fibres. The décor is in attractive pastel shades, including the carpets (which is why guests must remove their shoes. Slippers are provided). Breakfasts are ordered the night before from a short, but tasty, menu of locally produced food: fish, home made bread, bacon, black puddings, eggs from chickens that are running free in the fields behind the croft; and cereals, fruit, good coffee and tea. 500 metres from the house is a little headland overlooking the sea and a small harbour where we picnicked overlooking seals, otters, a sea eagle, cormorants - truly idyllic. We stayed for 3 nights but wished for a month by the end.

Room Tip: There is only one room to stay in but it is quiet and relaxing.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

What can I say about Ragged Acre, I stayed there at the beginning of July 2013 when I took part in The Celtman Extreme Scottish Triathlon in nearby Torridon.
As soon as I arrived after a long drive from London, Janet and not forgetting Lulu the dig made me feel so welcome it was like staying at a friends house and not like a business at all.
The room was extremely well furnished and after 16 hours of swimming, cycling and running on Saturday 6th July I sank into the very comfy bed after a long soak in the hot shower.
If I pluck up courage and enter The Celtman in 2014 I will definitely be making a booking at Ragged Acre with Janet and Lulu.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
Thank Darren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at Ragged Acre for 3 nights and had a very enjoyable time. Janet was very welcoming and made an excellent cooked breakfast together with fresh fruit salad each morning. The room with en suite bathroom was really clean and well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. My wife is from the Philippines and as well as the dramatic scenery particularly enjoyed the fresh local seafood. We look forward to our next visit, hopefully we will be a bit luckier with the weather!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewDClaridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews