We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding attention to customer satisfaction.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coul House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coul House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Contin
Certificate of Excellence
banchory
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding attention to customer satisfaction.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

An excellent stay, beautiful building and setting. The staff are excellent, with a strong focus on customer satisfaction. Cuisine is oustandingly good, and reasonably priced. Each year, the owner writes a report on the progress of the business, cataloging the ongoing renovation since 2003. These reports are provided in each bedroom, and give some insight to this labour of love. Couple of downsides to remark on, one being the low pressure to the shower head, notwithstanding strong pressure at the bath taps. The owner advised that this is the next step in the renovation of the building. The other being that the 1/4 mile entrance drive is compacted aggregate, not tarmac. However, these are very minor points. Coul House a real gem of a hotel, and we left with a feeling of the investment being made by the staff and the owner in their guests, and in the continued development of a great property.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevethompson00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    80
    17
    9
    1
See reviews for
145
397
24
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

The hotel is in a beautiful country house set in lovely grounds with views of the Highland mountains. It is expertly run with a very friendly and attentive staff, with the added charm that the owners also help out in the bar and the restaurant. The rooms are lovely, well-appointed, and the foyer, lounge and bar beautiful, but the lovelieist room is the octagonal dining room, looking over the lawn and the mountains in the background. The food at breakfast and dinner was also of a very high standard. An excellent choice for anyone wanting to get away from it all and explore the remarkable Highlands. (Contin is actually very well-placed to explore the beautiful region in all directions, north to John o'Groats, west to the Islands, east to the Grampians and Speyside, and south to Loch Ness. And in Dingwall, just a few minutes away, there is a small but well-served town, with its own Tesco's superstore!) I enjoyed my ramble to Robie Falls as well, although the hiking paths could be better marked. All in all, a truly excellent couple of days.

Room Tip: I booked through Coul House's own website, which meant I got a room when the other sites were sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenBeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

I stayed a coiuple of nights while on business in the area.
The welome was warm, and the food in the restaurant was very good, if slightly expensive.
The owner was helpful and was happy to have a chat and made you fell at home.
The Black Isle lager on tap is excellent

The rooms are well maintained and the bed was very comfortable

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanSmith57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Beautiful setting off the main road, quiet peaceful setting with wonderful grounds.
Staff were courteous and very professional.
Food was excellent, room was nice and very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigStewartyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Enjoyed our stay so much. We definitely return and repeat the experience. Superbly run hotel, the breakfast experience was just perfect as was the accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnboy12311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shetland Isles
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We had a lovely time, all too short. Lovely hotel, excellent service, great food.The weather was perfect. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds, with spectacular views. Huge trees, and mountains in the background. The gardens are wonderfully well kept, and the main rooms in the hotel have the lovely view. The hotel is in excellent timeless decor.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank southerlygale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed at Coul House for 3 nights and we really couldn't have wished for anything else. From the welcome to the day we left everything was virtually perfect, from the amazing breakfasts of fresh fruit salads and yoghurt to Gilly's and Laird's breakfasts to mention only 2, everything is home cooked and even smoked on site, all cooked to order and that doesn't mean a long wait either. Dinners are fantastic, I have certain diet restrictions and that wasn't a problem at all, the chef modified my meals to accommodate and they were amazing.

All the staff are really friendly and are obviously happy in their jobs working for Stuart and Susannah, this is a lovely country house hotel and it was really interesting to look at the photograph album with the history dating back to 1820's and the changes that have happened to the house in that time. They have taken on a hard task in updating the house3 but are doing a fantastic job. Our bedroom was lovely and spacious with beautiful mountain views, however the bathroom was a little small, although manageable.

The public rooms are all refurbished to a very high standard and extremely comfortable, however there are a few areas of the hotel that have still to be brought up to the standard (but not many) the owners would like, but with costs involved its understandable it all takes time. We felt that this hotel represented excellent value for money and we will be returning again to take on some more fantastic walks.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view and a large bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biker80Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Contin
17.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
13.8 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
11.8 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#6 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coul House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coul House Hotel

Property: Coul House Hotel
Address: Contin, Contin IV14 9ES, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Contin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Contin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coul House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian house built 1821 loving restored to create a warm and comfortable country house hotel. Log fires in each of the public rooms, stunning mountain views and lots of natural light. A unique octagonal shaped restaurant that offers an extensive a la carte menu including several vegetarian options however, it is the service that the staff provide that is the most memorable aspect of ones visit to Coul House genuinely warm, friendly and relaxed. Even your four legged friend is made welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coul House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coul Hotel Strathpeffer
Coul House Hotel Contin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing